We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to go before or after charter at The Moorings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dove Restaurant & Wine Bar

Dove Restaurant & Wine Bar
67 Main Street, Road Town, Tortola
284-494-0313
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Road Town
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bettendrof, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to go before or after charter at The Moorings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We completed a one week charter with The Mooring. On our first night we dined at Charlie's in the harbor so when we returned one week later we were looking for something new. The champagne happy hour is well worth making an early trip. I have steak and it was delicious, and I'm from Iowa where we have no shortage of good beef. We were a table of 4 and everyone had a different meal and no one was displeased.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    23
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tops in Tortola”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Several people we met in Tortola told us about Dove, so we had to try it. We weren't disappointed. We had one of the all time best meals we've had, and we do like excellent food. Tasty from start to finish. Unusual, even surprising combos of spices and sauces that make use of the tropical island fare and spicy Caribbean flair.
This place tops some of the finest restaurants in the world at much more moderate prices than NYC or LA.
Best wine list on the island. Don't miss it if you're in Tortola.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Kinda hard to find. Although it's right off the main street you have to go around the back of the building to get in. I went to the door and had to ask if this was the Dove restaurant. We didn't have reservations so we had to sit and eat at the bar. Nice atmosphere and ambiance. The food was surprisingly good. The prices were fair. Overall very good dining experience for Raod Town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Don't miss it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

It has been said by other. Don't miss it - friendly service outstanding food! You can't go wrong. Pricy but worth every penny. We paid more at two other recommended restaurants and were not happy.

Sadly closed on Sunday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Buzzy little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Six of us had finished our yacht charter around BVI and booked The Dove after reading TA reviews. I'm so glad we went as the experience was fantastic. Not just the food, which was excellent, but also the whole ambience of the place. The owners seem to have got it just right. Our party fairly represented the menu from fish to duck to fillet steak and no one was disappointed. Remarkably reasonably priced wines for the quality in my opinion so there isn't much not to recommend

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dove Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Dove Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dove Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.