We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfsong Villa Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tortola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surfsong Villa Resort
Save
You added Surfsong Villa Resort to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Well Bay | Beef Island, VG1120, Tortola   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Tortola
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Our second stay at Surfsong in the same year - and even better this time. We took the Seashell Villa, where the bedroom is about 5 meters from the sea. That soundtrack is extreeeemely conducive to sleep. We stayed in 2nd week of December, intentionally to get away from the Christmas madness in Dallas. Was that ever a good call!

Cate, Simon, and Marina will do anything to make your stay better - they know everything about everything in the BVI (and USVI). One day our Plan A fell through, Plan B, even Plan C - so Cate whipped up a Plan D - better than any of our three plans... a half-day motorboating through the BVIs with a Captain. That turned into lunch/beer on Cooper Island, snorkeling just off Salt Island (HMS Rhone site), snorkeling at the Indians just off Norman Island, a quick stop at Sandy Spit (where all the Corona ads were filmed), then drinks at Foxy's on Jost van Dyke. Not bad for a Plan D...

You need a rental car - it's delivered. You want to go hiking - they can tell you where. You want groceries - they'll shop and deliver. You want to visit Virgin Gorda? They know everybody over there as well.

Chef Suzanne served us dinner in our room three nights. Her ability to blend flavors and textures is amazing. Every night I had to ask, "How did you do this?"

Finally - what can I say about Dougie? He provides transportation for Surfsong's guests. One trip into Road Town we took the scenic route over the ridge (highest points in the BVI), stopping frequently for photos and getting lots of island wisdom. At some point I realized that Dougie is in fact running Tortola from his car. AA lost one of our bags and Dougie made it his personal mission to find it. You need anything done, he knows how.

On top of all that, the BVIs are insanely gorgeous. Boating across from Jost van Dyke back to Tortola and you are surrounded by about 6 other islands. Just incredible!

Looking back - this was the perfect vacation. The only thing that went wrong is that it ended. We've already booked for next year...

Room Tip: All the villas are fantastic - you can choose on number of bedrooms you need. But we'll always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsongTortola_BVI, Owner at Surfsong Villa Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thanks so much for such a long and entertaining review! We always appreciate the mention of activities as many guests shape their trips accordingly. It is the greatest gift of our work to meet new friends and welcome you back to your “home away from home”. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
67
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Our group wanted a place to celebrate a 50th birthday, and after much searching, decided on Surfsong....totally thrilled with our choice...definitely would return! The property is idyllic...it truly took our breath away everyday. Everything from our pre-trip communications with the staff through their suggestions/arrangements during our stay was fabulous. Thanks Cate, Martina, Simon, and Dougie for your hospitality...until we see you again...Giselle, Duane, Judy, and Sherri

Room Tip: Seascape villa was at the end of the property and therefore very private...also had a great patio fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsongTortola_BVI, Owner at Surfsong Villa Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
We love a celebration! Thanks for choosing Surfsong for such a special occasion – we are always thrilled to hear that guests enjoy our special place. Thank you for taking the time to write a review – we enjoyed meeting you and helping with your activities during your trip to the beautiful BVI. Happy Holidays!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of a two week sailing trip. Surfsong was a great location for the airport (EIS), and really was a great "last night". We elected to have a private dinner (prepared by Suzanne) and it was fantastic! All the staff were great - from checkin to checkout. Massages were great given the number of muscle knots from the sailing (and the massage location is superb!). All in all an awesome place to stay - thoroughly recommended - you feel really spoilt!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsongTortola_BVI, Owner at Surfsong Villa Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Surfsong. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to welcome you back….and spoil you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Our family of three (two adults and one toddler) stayed here for a glorious ten days at the end of October/beginning of November 2011. The villa was awesome (we stayed in Surfside), the staff was helpful and pleasant and the ocean was calm and warm. It's a lovely, intimate, quiet place where you are made to feel special. It's so cozy and comfortable that it's like staying with close friends.This was our second visit to Surfsong (we got married there in 2007) and it was even better than the first for one simple reason: the food.

On this trip, we opted for the five night meal package, supplemented by a few groceries and a couple of restaurant meals. The food was nothing short of phenomenal. Suzanne, the chef, met with us early in the visit and custom designed a menu for our whole stay. We got to pick from a wide variety of choices and she tailored everything to fit our needs. My wife is a vegetarian and I am not so when I had fish or steak, she was having tofu or shiitake. Meat or no meat, it was delicious. We had all kinds of different cuisines: Thai, West Indian, Italian, Steakhouse and all of it was amazing. Suzanne is a fantastic cook and I can't recommend her food highly enough. These were some of the best meals we've ever had. Our little joke is that she has ruined regular food for us now and pretty much every meal we've had since getting back has included the phrase "Yeah, this is pretty good....but it's not Suzanne good!"

If you are on the fence about going, just do it. Surfsong is a wonderfully laid back resort and the people are fantastic. And definitely get the food....you won't regret it!

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsongTortola_BVI, Owner at Surfsong Villa Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
What a joy it was for all of us at Surfsong to meet your daughter – it is so lovely that she has seen where you were married and we so often reflect on your beautiful wedding day. We are thrilled to have Chef Suzanne with us – thank you very much for sharing your experience. I am now using “…it’s Suzanne good” as a way to describe delicious meals! Many thanks also for your comments about our dedicated staff. They truly want everyone to have their ideal vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

The most fabulous, comfortable and hidden treasure in Tortola. We were there from 9-14 to
9-18-2011, and truly didn't want to leave. After arriving from a late flight, arrived to dinner including a bottle of wine. The A/C and ceiling fans had been turned on to make our home away completely comfortable. The staff is most concerned with your comfort and privacy and goes above and beyond to make your stay the BEST! Small private beach villas with lots of room, comfortable beds, top housekeeping and management that checks in with you to ensure you have everything you need. We are smitten with SurfSong! Definitely will bring the family back.

Room Tip: All of the villas are superior -equipped and comfortable. This is our 5th time staying here- and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsongTortola_BVI, Owner at Surfsong Villa Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to Surfsong! Thank you for noting that we have different designs of our villas and while each is beautiful they do have different features – we are always happy to help find the perfect fit and are absolutely thrilled that you have enjoyed your stays at Surfsong. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We spent 2 nights at Surfsong with our family of 5 adults and had a wonderful time. It was incredibly beautiful and relaxing. We will well taken care of and pampered while there! We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsongTortola_BVI, Owner at Surfsong Villa Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Surfsong and the beautiful BVI in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaspé, Québec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I was at Surfsong Villa Resort last March for a three day stay. We were four couples, rented three villas. My sister-in-law / brother-in-law renewed their wedding vows on the beachfront of the resort. All the preparations were coordinated by the owners including a gourmet meal after the ceremony. We truly fell in love with the place. Both on-site owners were great hosts and evenings in the oceanfront gazebo area was a supeb place to spend our evenings listening to the silent surroundings. Days on the private beach were also very pleasant and quiet. We had access to swim boards, kayays etc. We appreciated the proximity to the airport for our lateday arrival after a long flight from Canada. Overall, I'd rate the place as "excellent." We all hope to return some day.

Room Tip: Ask for the villas near the waterfront and lobby / garden area. Closer to grab a quick drink / snack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsongTortola_BVI, Owner at Surfsong Villa Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
We truly love a romantic celebration and are thrilled that you enjoyed Surfsong’s guest facilities and Chef Services. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfsong Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsong Villa Resort

Address: Well Bay | Beef Island, VG1120, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Surfsong Villa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded beachfront resort offering seven extraordinary villas. Luxuriously appointed with plush king beds, fully equipped kitchens, a/c, sat.tv, dvd, room safes, high speed internet, beach lounge, full concierge services, massage pavilion and tranquil courtyard. Surfsong offers a perfect blend of Caribbean charm and romantic modern style in a relaxed resort. Perfect for weddings, honeymoons and private celebrations! Rent the entire resort for your group of up to 30 guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfsong Villa Hotel Tortola
Surfsong Hotel Tortola
Surfsong Villa Resort Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfsong Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.