We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agape Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agape Cottages
Save
You added Agape Cottages to your Saves list
Cane Garden Bay, Tortola   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Perfect Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

After reading reviews here, my wife and I booked Agape Cottages for our Tortola vacation.

Let me first say that we absolutely love Tortola. Everyone is so nice all over the island. People are friendly and laid back. Sure, occassionally you deal with island time when it comes to service at a bar or restaurant, but when you go to Tortola, you should really just be there to relax.

Agape Cottages (we stayed in J1) was perfect for us. When my wife and I travel, we are not necessarily looking for 5-star accomodations, but moreso, we are looking for a place where we can be comfortable and ideally has a great view. While the view higher up the hill is nicer, we had a great view from our unit and beautiful sunsets.

The unit was well equipped in so many ways. We had a full kitchen with pretty much everything you would need to make a full meal. Who wants to cook on vacation, but it was nice to make blueberry and banana pancakes or french toast for breakfast before heading out for the day. We would eat our breakfast on the spacious private patio off of the unit. I think the porch was my favorite part of the unit. In the morning for breakfast and at sunset we'd make a blended rum drink and watch the sun go down before heading out for dinner. Later, from the patio, we could hear the live music playing into the night.

As for the location, I think staying in Cane Garden Bay is probably your best option. For being such a small island, Tortola seems so huge when it comes to driving around. But, Cane Garden Bay is close enough to everything. You can get out to Josiah's Bay and Brewer's without too much trouble; you can get to Road Town, and you can get to West End. If you stayed on the west end or the east end, you'd really have a tough time really seeing the entire island.

Plus, Cane Garden Bay has so much to offer by itself. Now, granted, we usually headed out as the hordes of cruise people invaded CGB, but the beach is very nice and there are a lot of bars there. But, Cane Garden Bay is great at night. Make sure to see Quito play on T and Th and get the Myett's wings. Cane Garden Bay also has a small grocery store to get you stocked up on pretty much everything you need including rum and beer.

The bad: We truly fell in love with Cane Garden Bay, Tortola, and Agape Cottages. But, there are a couple negatives. First is those damn chickens and dogs. I was ok falling asleep to music pumping in from the beach below, but in the middle of the night, pretty much all night and pretty much every night the dogs and the roosters do not stop. I have no idea what is going on down there at 3:00 in the morning, but God help you if you wake up and then try to get back to sleep. I did try to run over all the stray dogs and chickens that I could while driving around, but with no success; I missed them all (just kidding). Also, there are mosquitos. The unit is equipped with bug spray so that if you're sitting on the patio, you're going to be ok, but those suckers found their way into the unit every night and every morning we would both wake up with bites. It's not like there are hundreds of mosquitos, just a handful of very thirsty ones. A couple things about the unit is that the power went out three or four times while we were there, which really wasn't a huge deal since it was at night, but could have been a problem if it went out the night of our early morning day sail. And, while we loved so much about the unit, it really could use just a little freshening up. It could probably use a little paint, new cushions for the patio furniture, etc. Again, not a five-star property, but not worth getting nervous about.

Oh, and one more thing: Donna was great in helping us plan out some of our Tortola stay. She has a nice detailed map of some places to see and things to do. She spent an hour with us helping us plan our weekly itinerary which mainly consisted of going to a beach all day and then dinner, and then maybe down to the bars of Cane Garden Bay for a couple drinks.

Other pluses from our stay: Aristocat. Denzil Clyne. Sugar Mill. Brandywine. Josiah's Bay. Brewer's Bay. the other Long Bay. Jost. drinks and an appetizer at Tamarind Club. sunset cocktail at Bananakeet.

All in all, a great stay on Tortola and Agape Cottages.

  • Liked — Patio and views of Cane Garden Bay
  • Disliked — friggin dogs and chickens from the properties down below
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    23
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
64
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

My wife and I had an enjoyable weeks' stay with Donna. The reviews are accurate. The room was clean, well-stocked kitchen, A/C, and separate bedroom. Donna was very helpful on activities and really takes an interest with her guests.

The hill to the beach and store is steep; a rental car is a must on the island. (Jerry's was $330 total for one week plus gas; this includes pick-up at the West End ferry and the car was left at the airport on our return.)

Cane Garden Bay is very nice and about 20 min. to town. All-in-all a very reasonable and well-maintained accomodation and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

We made the excellent choice of Agape Cottages for our seven day stay on Tortola. We chose J2 (which has two bedrooms) and it has beautiful views across Cane Garden Bay. Donna and Dave were perfect hosts, Dave kept popping in with home grown bananas and Donna supplied any information we needed, including details of the easy and good snorkelling sites just off the beach. Restaurants were nearby and good, although we shopped at the small supermarket and used the well equipped kitchen and BBQ to cook some of our meals. The cottages are situated up a short but steep hill. We made a good choice because some other accomodations we walked past were at sea level, with no view at all. The Saturday BBQ under a tree in the village was good as was the lively service in the small Methodist Church. We were made very welcome.
We had a very relaxing stay and cannot wait to return.

  • Liked — Relaxing, good views
  • Disliked — We are in our 60's and the hill was a little speep, but manageable
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

Feb. 13-27, 2008

Agape Cottages is a great centrally located accommodation in Cane Garden Bay. Not more than about a 5 minute stroll down the elevated hill and through a parking lot to the beach, the cottages are close enough to the beach, bars and restaurants, and an adequately stocked grocery store to make it close enough to fully enjoy, yet far enough to make it easy on the pocketbook.

The accommodations themselves are tastefully done and more than sufficiently equipped (from beach chairs and towels to board games) to meet the needs of the guests; the sorts of guests that are more inclined towards self sufficiency. The large kitchen is adequately stocked with glasses, flatware, pots and pans, spatulas, can openers, and the necessary dish towels. The refrigerator features an automatic ice maker which is a blessing if not a perfect companion to the blender! There’s also an assortment of spices and other provisions which Donna leaves for newly arriving guests to get them on their feet for the first day.

Having stayed in Cottage A2, we were quite pleased with the layout. The open air area which separates the kitchen from the two bedrooms was a unique touch and a great way to spend a quiet evening having drinks or a morning outside while shielded from the rain. Though it can leave one susceptible to mosquitoes, running the ceiling fan while burning a mosquito coil usually keeps them at bay. The large deck with accompanying grill was equally enjoyable as was the clothes washing machine.

The bedrooms have sufficient closet and drawer space as well as a ceiling fan and air-conditioner to keep the room at a comfortable temperature for sleeping. If nothing else, closing the window slats and running the air-conditioner helps drown out the roosters who are a little more motivated at the 4:00 hour than is your average traveler. A small hand sink with mirror in each helps minimize bathroom traffic to get you out of the room and out on the beach.

But really, what brings the accommodations full circle is the knowledge and friendliness of Tom, Donna, and Dave. Just knowing the daily schedule of the cruise ships in and of itself is a pure joy (we recommend a jaunt to Josiah's Bay on the really busy cruise ship days). Having that extra first hand knowledge is like traveling with a friend who knows where to go, when to go, and the best way to get there all the while giving you the best bang for your buck. That is the sort thing which travelers value as truly priceless.

  • Liked — The fully equipped kitchen. The ability to eat in on occasion.
  • Disliked — Nothing. Okay...so it wasn't directly ON the beach.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

Loved the BVI - We wanted beach and sun and, we always wanted to see more of the Virgin Islands. Tortola became home after I read a few guide books. We found Cane Garden Bay from the guide books and decided it would be home. The search was on for where to stay and I found Agape on Trip Advisor back in September. We were lucky to get into J1 when there was a cancellation. The cottage had a great view of Jost and was a quick walk to the beach. The cottages were simple, clean and included all we needed. Except we could have used a TV or internet connection - our only wish. Donna helped us out with a great homemade map of Tortola and we found Smugglers Cove, Sage Mountain, & Brewers Bay. We caught sun, drank Red Stripe beer and snorkeled or climbed them all. The map lead to all the out of way places and excellent restaurants too. Our trip was greatly enhanced by her knowledge.
The roads were crazy steep at times. You need 4D when it rains and getting into the Cottage driveway. But driving was actually a little fun - thanks Jerry's Car Rentals.
The cottage was surrounded by bananas and papayas growing close by and other fruits I don't remember. The sounds of CGB came up the hill, so we awoke to roosters, dogs, children going to school and went to bed to live music from one of the beach bars. We ran CGB with the dogs (including Brindle) to burn off some the food and beer, but not the hills on either side.
A day trip to Anageda was an adventure. Flamingos, crabs, fresh lobster, another rental car and an endless beach facing the Atlantic all day. Great snorkeling again.
Another day trip to the Baths on Virgin Gorda was scenically the best. Great snorkeling among the granite boulders. Beast beach - Cane Garden Bay, Best Snorkeling - Brewers Bay, Best Meal - Banakeet shrimp & jerk pork, Best drink - Banakeet Sip o Sunset
Recommend escaping from CGB when the cruise ships are at the busiest. Donna knows the schedule.

  • Liked — Cane Garden Bay view and access
  • Disliked — No TV or internet
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

Hard to describe Paradise...but in a few words...Agape Cottages! The hosts are friendly, accessable, and better than a guide book. The cottages are clean, comfortable, and cozy. Cane Garden Bay is beautiful, but if you have the option of renting a vehicle, do so. The cruise ships have also discovered this beach. It's best to tour the island and find your own quiet spot when they're docked in Road Town. Don't forget to try the ackee fruit! Ask Donna to find a tarantula for you.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

We spent 5 relaxing days at Agape Cottages, which truly lived up to its name. Donna is a very welcoming and helpful hostess who goes out of her way to give you insider advice about everything from car rentals to restaurants. She even has her own highlighted tourist map. We felt as if we were staying with our favorite family members on our vacation! Be sure to spend some time talking to Donna's father, Doc, who was the original owner of the cottages.

Each of the cottages is a little different in floor plan. They are simple, airy, Caribbean-style efficiencies. Ours had a pleasant screened sitting porch. The cottages are located on a hill -- walking up to the highest cottage is great exercise! -- with a great view of Cane Garden Bay below. There is a convenient small market just down the hill as well as casual restaurants along the beach.

You will need a car to travel across the island to Road Town or to other beach areas.

We would return to Agape Cottages because of the warm personal attention we received.

  • Liked — Friendly personal attention
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agape Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agape Cottages

Address: Cane Garden Bay, Tortola
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agapé Cottages is a family-owned vacation rental business where hospitality makes the difference. We take pride in offering you a family-oriented, Christian-centered atmosphere where you can relax and feel completely at home. Choose from one of our six fully furnished units; all you need is your swimsuit and sunscreen! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agape Cottages Hotel Tortola
Agape Cottages Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agape Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.