We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This resort offers it all!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Scrub Island, VG1120, Tortola   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 2 Nights Free
Ranked #4 of 28 hotels in Tortola
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This resort offers it all!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

First I'd like to say that when we vacation, we can be quite picky about the particular resort we visit whether it be the room, service, food, cleanliness, and overall attitude of the staff. I can honestly say that this resort rates 5 stars in every category. You want for nothing here. The staff were the most attentive I have ever encountered. The food was magnificent, the room/suite was 1000 square feet of pure luxury including a kitchen with sub zero fridge and wolf gas stove, granite countertops incredible master bath, etc. From management to wait and bar staff...superb attitudes and get it done nature in all we met...special note to Sandie and Brenda, Stacie, Rosie, and Jennifer out at the pool and in the restaurant Caravella..just amazing people!! We traveled as a couple. I'm not sure you'd want to bring kids, though there were quite a few and they seemed to be loving it as well. Don't go here and try to pinch pennies..It's not cheap but the old saying "you get what you pay for" holds true . I felt I got extreme value for my money.We would also like to note that the island employees had a certain calmness about them which we drew energy from...not to sound spiritual, but in a way it was. I could go on and on but there's really no point. It's simply just paradise in every way. Hats off to all the management and staff for creating such a memorable environment for our 10 day stay. We most certainly will return. P.S.-make sure you go to the pig roast on Wednesday night-best pork I've ever eaten. sides of caviar, fish, shrimp etc. It's fun and delicious!! Alan and Laurie-visited end of May to June 5th

Room Tip: there are only 52 rooms on the property-I don't think there could be a bad one. We got 1711 whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and for all your comments about your stay on Scrub Island. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience and that our staff made you feel welcome. We will pass along your wonderful comments to our staff and hope that we will see you back on our lovely island sometime in the future. Thanks for your feedback on our pig roast - we think it is a fun evening and we are glad you feel the same. Safe travels to you!

Sincerely,
Martin Smith, Managing Director, Scrub Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    96
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
85
257
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We recently spent five nights at Scrub Island Resort. I simply can't say enough about the property, the service, the food, or the room. This is definitely a place for people who want to truly get away. If you require a lot of stimulation, it may not be for you (it is the opposite of a vacation to St. Thomas, for example with all the shopping, etc.). But we were ready to hang by the beautiful pool and read a book, relax....and we were not disappointed.

When we arrived via the resort's ferry boat (nice boat, very clean, etc.) we were greeted with a tropical drink at the boat dock and addressed by our names (almost reminded me of the opening scene in Fantsay Island).

Our room was immaculate and very spacious. A/C worked great, tub and shower were large and high end. The kitchen was equiped with premium appliances (Wolf and Sub Zero). From what I could tell, every room had an incredible view of the marina, the open water area with Marina Cay, etc.

There was a casual and a slightly more formal option for dining. The food in both restaurants was very good. Service could be a little slow, but that is just a fact of life in the BVI, period. Staff did a great job of keeping the drinks coming. Throughout our visit we found the staff always willing to converse (most were from other parts of the Caribbean) and we always enjoy that part.

The dive operation on site also offered several different excursions. We chose the one that went to Norman Island and the indians for snorkeling plus White Bay for a happy hour. It was a great time and the staff was very good.

I used the finess room every day. It was spacious and equipped with new Life Fitness cardio equipment (ellipticals, tread mills and bike) as well as full complement of weight equipment. Everything worked well and was in great condition. Had a bit of a view of the marina from there, so that was nice. Never crowded.

Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room from what we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for mentioning all the great amenities that we offer. We also appreciate that you provided good reviews for Dive BVI - they are one of our favorite partners and give our guests a great selection of dive adventures in BVI.

We do hope that you will visit us again in the future, but til then, please keep in touch on social media (twitter, facebook, etc). Safe travels and best wishes

Sincerely,
Martin Smith, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We docked our 65 foot sailboat at Scrub for 2 nights. We enjoyed the resort's restaurant and pool and we did some paddle boarding. The staff are so friendly and go out of their way to be of assistance. This is our 3rd year in a row of docking there and I'm sure we will make it a part of our trip again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for stopping by Scrub Island and docking in our marina. We are pleased that you had a good experience with your stay with us and that our dock-master was able to attend to all your need. We are grateful that you have been with us on several trips and hope that you will keep us in your itinerary in the future. Safe travels and please keep in touch with us on Twitter or Facebook until your next stop on our lovely island.

Sincerely
Martin Smith, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We just got back from spending a week at Scrub Island, and I must say this place is OUTSTANDING!!! This is the second year in a row we have visited and we haven't been disappointed once. This island is so close to other islands, it makes day-trips a breeze. Or if you are want even more relaxed situation, they can do that as well. Nothing like spending a day on the north side of the island lounging on the beach just listening to ocean and soaking up the sun. And if you get hungry or thirsty, Kern will take very good care of you. In fact, every single person we encountered was wonderful to deal with. It is obvious this hospitality starts at the top. The resort manager Binny is unlike any other resort manager I've ever dealt with. He is always out and about making sure everyone is happy and enjoying themselves. Great person to deal with! Normally, when you encounter a resort manager it means something is wrong. That is far from the case here. My wife and I hope to make this place an annual place to stop. We LOVE it here!

Room Tip: If you plan on getting a suite, bring in (or pick up at the market) food. The kitchen is top-notch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for the stellar review about your 2nd trip to our lovely Scrub Island. I am so happy that you came back to visit again and are pleased that our island hospitality was exceptional. I will pass along your comments to Binny, Kern and the rest of our staff. I also appreciate you mentioning how easy it is to enjoy a full BVI vacation... our location does make island hopping very easy. I hope you will come back again next year... in the meantime, safe travels and please join us on Facebook or Twitter to keep in touch now that you are part of our family.

Sincerely,

Martin Smith, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at Scrub Island on points for 5 nights in May and had a great time. Getting there is the worst part, as many people have said. We flew into St Thomas and took Smiths ferry to Tortola, then a cab to Trellis Bay and the Marriott ferry to the resort. If I had to do it again, I would try to fly into Beef Island, even if it costs a little more.

The first night we stayed in a standard room, which is a little small. Not much room to lay out two full size suitcases. No microwave but there is small fridge. The patio is small with two chairs, no table and no overhead on the top floor room. The next night we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite, which is huge. Very nice kitchen, bath, living room and patio with shade, table and chairs. The resort is all by itself and is pretty quiet, although the guy using the leafblower on the beach at 0645 every morning was annoying. It's difficult to enjoy a quiet morning with your coffee when there's 20 minutes of that going on. The doors that connect rooms are very thin. We could hear everything next door which also forced us to try to be very quiet in the mornings. I usually try to keep from making excessive noise but you really have to walk on eggshells if you don't want your neighbors to hate you.

We ate at the casual restaurant a couple of times, once being a buffet, which was quite good. Breakfast was also very good. Of course, it's a bit expensive but all hotel restaurants are. The deli/store does have a good selection that is not unreasonable considering. Deli meats are very reasonably priced. A loaf of bread is $11 but you can get a lot of sandwiches with that. Dozen eggs was like $8, so overall, not too bad if you want to make a couple of meals in your room.

There is a small beach by the pool with a trampoline in the water. 3 kayaks are available which we used several times. Right across from the resort is Diamond Reef. This was the highlight of the resort. Very nice snorkeling, lots of fish and corals, lobsters. I also did a scuba dive on the reef which was nice. A little further paddle is Cam Bay across on Great Camanoe. There is a nice, secluded beach with rocks and some corals. The beach on the north side of Scrub is also quiet with a swimming pool and bar where you can get some food. The walk around the island is nice, mostly paved with nice views.

I used Dive BVI for a two tank dive, but was a little disappointed when they just went right by the resort to Diamond Reef and another spot in front of the resort. Both could be shore dives, so it was pointless to get a boat. There were 3 other divers on the boat from Virgin Gorda so maybe that's why, but Dive BVI had told me we would go to one of the other small islands.

We were going to take the island hopper excursion but opted to pay more and charter a boat for the day with TRC Charters. Taiwo was a great captain and took us to some great spots. First was the baths on Virgin Gorda. Cool to see, but a pain when lots of people are trying to get through the one-way crevases. We didn't spend much time there and continued on to do some snorkeling, with the Indians as the best spot by far. Amazing corals and fish. Swam all the way around, probably spent 2 hours there. Had lunch on Normans Island. All in all, it was a little expensive, but well worth doing what you want. If you can get another couple to go in, then even better.

Mosquitos and no-see-ums are an annoyance, but there is Off bug spray in the room and the servers always have some at the restaurants. The Caravela restaurant requires long pants on men and collared shirts. We had an issue with the clothes dryer in the room and called the
desk. They said someone would be right up, but it took 50 minutes, even after calling again. I realize a lot of the locals run on island time, but please just tell me it will be 50 minutes and I'll be happy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Scrub Island Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and am happy that you enjoyed your dive trip with Dive BVI. We appreciate all your comments, especially the details about your trip and which rooms are recommended. Please come to visit us again.

Sincerely,
Martin Smith, Managing Director, Scrub Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed one night wife after yacht charter in May, 2013. Service was outstanding starting right as we boarded the water taxi, greeted with a cold drink on the dock and escorted to check in, upgraded to a suite, escorted us to the room. Asked to go to north beach and marina manager drove us there so we would not have to wait for the van driver. Dinner was fabulous at restaurant and our server was amazing. Dinner was 60 dollars pp for a 4 course dinner with much variety. We were blown away with the quality and service. Every where we went, staff said hello and asked if we needed anything. Would go here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stop-over on Scrub Island following your yacht charter. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and the we were able to provide you with excellent service and a fine meal. Please come and visit us again.... stay a little longer next time.. perhaps rent one of our villa homes if you really want an over-the-top experience. Til then, have safe travels
Sincerely,
Martin Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We docked our catamaran at Scrub Island in Feb of 2012. Staff had not yet settled in and everything seemed disorganized. NOT NOW! Sexy pools, great views, service was attentive and the food in the restaurant was delish, plus a good wine menu. In looking at the restaurant, one might think prices would be sky high, not so, no more than a nice dinner in a major city. They had a prix fix at $60!

They also offer excursions and well stocked deli/market. But do be ready for sticker shock in this place. But really, it is the price you pay to get things brought into an island - just go to the restaurant instead and bring plenty of SPF so you don't have to buy it there

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, General Manager at Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review - we are so happy to hear about your before and after experiences on Scrub Island. We have been working hard to make our resort excellent and we are glad you found it so. We will also pass along your compliments on your meal to our chef. We do hope you will visit us again in the future. Til then, safe travels

Sincerely,
Martin Smith, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection

Address: Scrub Island, VG1120, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tortola
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina is a luxury private island resort located one mile offshore from Tortola's Beef Island Airport. The resort features 50 guest rooms, one and two bedroom suites, 2 restaurants, 3 bars, 2 swimming pools, resort spa, 55 slip marina, gourmet market & cafe, boutique, onsite dive shop and 3 pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scrub Island Resort, Spa And Marina
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina Hotel Tortola
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.