We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictures look great... but hoped for a bit more that it was.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Tamarind Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Tamarind Club to your Saves list
The Tamarind Club
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Josiah's Bay | East End, Tortola   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Tortola
Eagle River, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pictures look great... but hoped for a bit more that it was.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Ok, your right, good bar, nice being met with a drink when you arrive, food was good, but the place was sooo run down. Basic upkeep and maintenance would have and would do wonders for the place. What a jewel these folks have, the location and buildings are lovely but the absolute lack of some basic house keeping and maintenance have left the place a bit dumpy and ramshackle. Folks were plenty nice and we love Josiahs Bay. We're all for "funky" and not looking for resort, but feel sorry because the place could be so delightful. I've heard it was once very beautiful...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    31
    5
    11
    11
See reviews for
13
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed at the Tamarind Club for 4 nights before joining up with a friend who has kept a sailboat in the Caribbean for the last 3 years. We plan on coming back next year to go sailing AND stay at Tamarind Club. I have read many of the reviews on Trip Advisor and some comment on the rooms being "dark". This is true. But in the heat of the Caribbean sun, "dark" also means "cool"! This is not a 5 star resort, this is not in the heart of Road Town, this is not a casino, this is not a nightclub. It is a small, comfortable, quiet spot to spend a few days and relax. You are welcomed as one of the family and very quickly feel like you have come home. In fact, there is little reason to leave! The restaurant serves very good food, the prices are reasonable. The bar seems to stay open so long as there are people to be served. The pool never closes and we found most of our days ending with a midnight swim under the stars. Our room consisted of a queen size bed, nightstands, closet, bureau, bar fridge, coffee maker and washroom with toilet, sink and shower. No TV (yes!). No phone (yes!) It was basic, but perfect. All you need. There is a TV in the bar area and free WiFi throughout. If you need to make a local call, just help yourself to the phone behind the bar. No worries. You can walk to Josiah's Bay, the surfer's beach, in under an hour. While we were there the surf was most definitely up and we spent time enjoying lunch at the beach bar and watching the surfers being tossed around. You will need to rent a car to get out and see the island as taxis are expensive but your new "family" at Tamarind Club is quite happy to set you up and the car rental company will pick you up at Tamarind Club and deliver you back. In our case, they dropped us off at Trellis Bay, by the airport, where we were meeting our friend and his boat. No extra charge. Don't be intimidated by the left hand drive (if you are from North America!) or the crazy roads. Just take your time and you will figure it out very quickly. We found both the people of Tortola and the staff and owners of Tamarind Club to be very friendly and welcoming. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST SUSSEX, UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

The Tamarind Club is different. It is essentially an excellent bar which caters primarily for the island's residents. It offers a good selection of inexpensive food plus an excellent breakfast - the all-in omlette will keep you going all day - and also provides limited accommodation. Whilst the rooms and the facilities are basic the beds are comfortable which is always a plus. The Club's location is at the East End of the Island and is particularly convenient for the airport, especially for evening arrivals or early morning departures. We have used it as a base on two previous occassions prior to joining yacht charters and afterwards prior to leaving the island.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

I visited the Tamarind a while ago when I married in the BVI's. I came back to the website because I want to return and was a little shocked at the negative respose people gave. You really should read and review the places you choose to vacation. This was never advertised as 5 star resort and with common sense you can figure out what the BVI's are all about. It is a more natural relaxing place to be and I went to every island while I stayed there. It is small place a bit more rustic than the resorts you are looking for in the 5 star sense. Just read and review before you stay.
I enjoyed it there, I traveled very far to get there (more than the entire U.S.) and was pleased when I arrived. While I was there I so enjoyed everything. My room was unique and comfortable. Yes it's hot there so you should expect it and the things that go with it. So is Florida. If you want all 5 star luxury then go somewhere that offers it like Mexico (been there done that). This is one of the most pleasant relaxing places I have been. It was a unique experience I will always treasure.

Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

A group of us stayed in the Tamarind club for 3 nights after a sailing holiday. It was very comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only slight drawback was the need to protect from mosquitoes as soon as the sun went down.The Brunch on Sunday when we arrived was great as was the music and the great atmosphere.The local taxi driver, Colin, was very enthusiastic and wanted to show us everything.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

As along as you don't have to spend anytime in your room, you may not be disappointed. The hotel property is old and is in need of renovation. The pool was pretty nice. The beach is about a mile down the road. We had dinner at their resturant, which was good. The bar area was ok. There are 4 property dogs that hang out in the area but they are friendly. The staff was friendly. the owners of the property were around but they do smoke in the area with the no smoking signs posted ?!!
Now for the rooms. Bad. Our bed and pillows were terrible. Bugs in the rooms. The bath towels were mismatched and somewhat sore smelling. You don't receive keys to the rooms. Everything is very outdated and needs replacing. Since we were leaving the island the next day, we only booked an one night stay. If we had booked longer, I would have left.

  • Liked — Friendly waitress
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

This was recommended by our sailing company as a place to stay before and after our week long cruise. We booked the honeymoon suite for both dates six months in advance. We arrived on Friday night approximately 7 pm-went to the bar and were told our room was not available despite confirmation. We were given a poolside garden suite. The rooms do not lock and are steps from the bar area where visitors and locals eat, smoke and drink. The rooms are remnants from the tie dye hippie days with mismatched and broken decor. The TV's do not work-no cable and can only play videos. The towels are like towels we tear up to clean use to clean the car. The shower did not work and there was no hot water. You cannot use the hairdryer "or the whole end of the island may lose electricity". The pool was cold and dirty with broken and dirty cushions and chairs. There are seven dogs that are owned by the staff that lie around the bar area. The windows do not close so the bar area noise is in your room. The air conditioner barely works. The amount of upkeep needed is daunting. We ate at the restaurant and I got food poisoning from the pork. The staff treat you and an imposition. The best part was the free "welcome drinks". The vegetation around the area is attractive -as is the beach 20 minutes away.
We stayed the last night in the honeymoon suite which was marginally better. Do not stay here!!!!

  • Liked — welcom drink
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tamarind Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tamarind Club

Address: Josiah's Bay | East End, Tortola
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tamarind Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside Hotel with views over Josiah's Bay Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Tamarind Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tamarind Club Hotel Tortola
Tamarind Hotel Tortola
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Club Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tamarind Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.