We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smuggler's Cove

Smuggler's Cove
Tortola
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 Attractions in Tortola
Type: Beaches, Bodies of Water, Reefs, Outdoors
Activities: Sunbathing, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Tortola cove offers excellent snorkeling opportunities.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My favorite beach in the world. Stunningly gorgeous! There were maybe 10 people on the whole beach. Grab the 4 wheel drive and go take a look. No vendors or other amenities, just beautiful water and an unbelievable view!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    52
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Beautiful Place to Stay on Tortola”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We recently stayed at Casa Luna, a 3BR villa perched above Smuggler's Cove on the West End of Tortola. (http://www.bestofbvi.com/tortola_villas/casa_luna.htm). The villa itself was fantastic, but the view of Jost Van Dyke and other islands was absolutely spectacular.

Since the 3-mile road to Smuggler's Cove isn't paved, the area is somewhat free of cruise ship tourists since taxis won't make the trip, making the beach somewhat exclusive to people staying in the area. For most of the week, the beach was almost deserted with never more than a dozen or so people.

Smuggler's Cove is fairly protected from the winds so it an excellent place for paddle boarding or just lounging in at the water's edge. There are a few reefs in the cove where you'll find small fish and sea turtles.

If you drive to the East along the North Shore of Tortola, you'll find several bays and beaches, each with their own local charm and restaurants, most notably the Bananakeet Cafe and Myett's in Cane Garden Bay.

If you're looking for a beautiful and secluded place to stay on Tortola, Smuggler's Cove will fit the bill.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“A pain to get to, but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Smuggler's Cove is a remote beach. By remote, I mean REMOTE; There's only one road to get there, which is long and 'rugged' to say the least (4x4s only), but it just makes the experience all the more rewarding.

It is by far, the best beach I've visited on Tortola. Overlooking lower Belmont Bay (with Jost Van Dyke straight ahead), there was only a handful of people on the beach. The place was serene, the beach was clean and everybody was content to just chill in the quiet of the evening. After a particularly rainy day, it was nice to just stroll along the beach and watch the sun begin to set...a perfect end to the day, definitely worth the hassle :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Tricky Drive to get there, but worth it. Beautiful beach with views of Jost. Water is beautiful and it was empty when I was there

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best beach on Tortola.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We rented a house in the Belmont area just above smugglers cove beach. After we got settled we drove down to this beach. The road is not paved and is very hilly and full of potholes so go slow. Once we got there it took our breath away. Beautiful clear blue water, draping palms, and soft white sand. The beach never got crowded and there are plenty of places to sit in the shade. My husband and friends went snorkeling and said it was great. There was on out house in the parking lot but no other facilities and no bars.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smuggler's Cove also viewed

Road Town, Tortola
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Smuggler's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smuggler's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.