We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Tortola” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Mill Hotel to your Saves list
Sugar Mill Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Apple Bay, Tortola   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Escape $1055
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A gem in Tortola”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

When we booked this hotel we thought is was expensive, but since it had such good reviews we decided to try it. I'm very glad we did. The property is small (20 or so rooms), but the rooms are delightful. All have great views, are nicely furnished, have comfortable beds and are well maintained. They have a small beach - you can snorkel if calm, in fact we saw a huge tarpon and a turtle between the small beach and the reef.
What more can I say - great staff, great food, lovely rooms. We will be back.

Room Tip: Some rooms are up the steep drive so you could ask for a lower one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    59
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
44
274
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhinebeck, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I recently returned from our 4th visit to the Sugar Mill over the last 5 years. Having read several reviews with negative comments I thought I would address them. #1. The cottage-our second stay in the cottage,reviewers have complained about noise,etc from parking lot-this is grossly overstated as both times we have not had any such issues.#2. The beach-complaints that it is across the street and small............a Very brief walk and the beach is Very nice with great and and calm waters for snorkeling etc.........#3. Lunch at the beach-complaints-"it is too "expensive"-...........OK,not cheap but portions are large,you are eating overlooking Apple Bay and it is the BVI..........also help is "surly"..........not that I have ever experienced.........#5. Bugs?..........not that I have seen other then TINY,TINY something,I think a total of 3............#6.Rooms "dated"............go to a Hilton.................they are stylish BVI and kept very clean...#7..somebody had beach towel problems- we had more than we knew what to do with.............changing gears.........the dining experience is superb,great choices,menu changes daily,wines reasonable..........waitstaff excellent and remember you.............Patrick the Manager does a superb job,the front desk meets one's every needs arranging taxis,daytrips etc.......if you want a day sail try the Aristocrat

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is wonderful small hotel on the north shore of Tortola. The staff are friendly and could not be more helpful or accommodating. The place has a wonderful ambiance. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. It is very quiet and not at all ostentatious. The restaurant is probably the best on the island!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

From both aesthetic and natural point-of-view Sugar Mill is beautiful. We were last minute guests and in the least expensive rooms (I think). It was lovely: calm decor, a balcony from which we could see the ocean. ANd quite comfortable.

The renovated ruin is so beautifully done and has the dining and breakfast rooms has well as patios with more intimate seating and a reception area. Lovely. Inviting.

Food was good-- expensive (but I don't know what other places on Tortola are charging….

Staff was helpful, caring, friendly.

We left happy--and would happily return.

Room Tip: Being on second floor affords better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Great boutique hotel with some 23 rooms. Small and informal with helpful staff and fine relaxed atmosphere. The pool area has 15 loungers but OK. There is also a beach right outside the hotel (across the road) which had a resident turtle when we were there and a number of pelicans diving for fish. Spectacular and absorbing. There is a beach restaurant serving lunch, very relaxed, great food with one surly waitress, and evening meals are served in the old mill a splendid location with fantastic staff. Rooms light and airy, very clean, as usual for this area no baths.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I spent a week in Tortola in February. It was our first trip to Tortola and we were a little concerned not really knowing anything about the island or the property. We lucked into the Sugar Mill. While Tortola was wonderful, the vacation would not have been as good had we not stayed at the Sugar Mill. We loved it. It is a very small and quiet boutique hotel. Great place for couples, a beautiful property with fantastic views. Great location, great views, very comfortable and very clean rooms. And the food there is spectacular - you have to eat there! You cannot beat this place. And, the best part, from the moment you check in, you can't help but feel like family - the staff are all FANTASTIC ... if you are going to Tortola, Sugar Mill is THE place to say. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We returned to the Sugar Mill Hotel after an absence of 26 years, to find to our joy that nothing much had changed and that standards were still as high as ever. The same owners, manager and many other members of the first class staff were still there and as obliging as ever. No better advertisement.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room in the highest part of the hotel, which we loved. But it would not be sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Address: Apple Bay, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Mill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small hotel for a few special people. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. With a sand terrace and restaurant, our beach is protected by a natural reef, providing interesting viewing for snorkelers. Our fresh water swimming pool, nestled among swaying palm trees is a refreshing alternative. Candlelit dinners, with a menu that changes nightly, are served in the dining room which has been restored from the ruins of a 370 year old sugar mill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Mill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.