We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sugar Mill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sugar Mill Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Apple Bay, Tortola   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Escape Package
Ranked #2 of 28 hotels in Tortola
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ultimate Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had never been to Tortola but had heard that it was a lovely island. In looking for a resort I selected the one with the best overall reviews. Sugar Mill not only met but exceeded every one of my expectations. I have never been to a place so beautiful, relaxing, and quiet. The service was impeccable, the food at the restaurant superb, and the views from our balcony unmatched. I can't say enough about the staff that went out of their way to ensure we had a marvelous stay. If you're looking for a place to just lay back and unwind, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    51
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
33
228
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peregian Springs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

A wonderful stay! We took the Anniversary Package which included a hire car for 3 days; a bottle of delicious Sugar Mill rum; an evening meal; a picnic lunch; a bottle of champagne & 2 breakfasts. This was very good value & thoroughly recommended. We also had a room upgrade which was superb as it overlooked the pool. The room was in fact an apartment in that there was a sitting room complete with kitchenette; a beautifully decorated bedroom; twin vanity bathroom & a very novel outside shower. The hotel is situated across the road from the beach & on the beach itself lunches are served complete with drinks rom the beach bar. The main bar was close to the restaurant. The food both at breakfast & dinner was excellent & the staff very friendly. Hopefully we will return to Tortola in the not too distant future & stay without a doubt at The Sugar Mill again.
Jackie & Richard Australia

Room Tip: Reserve your stay at the hotel in plenty of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

What a wonderful place to spend a honeymoon! The food was outrageously good, the beach and pool the perfect places to relax, and everyone who worked there was beyond nice. Can't wait to go back for a 5-year anniversary.

Room Tip: Go for the second floor rooms. The view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We thought this hotel was great in every aspect. It is beautifully situated in a lush green garden overlooking a sandy cove, the rooms were clean and prettily decorated, the pool was cool and inviting with hammocks around it to relax in. The food was excellent, the rum punches were the best in BVI and the staff polite and friendly. What more could you want. If in Tortola again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We recently got back from 4 nights at the Sugar Mill. We stayed in the Cottage, which was large, with a nice deck overlooking the restaurant and a cool outside stone shower. The hotel is small, and everyone was very accomodating. Its a great location to hop on a ferry to Jost Van Dyke for the day, its a quick cab ride to the ferry. The restaurant is reason alone to stay here, great food. We were very happy with our stay and will return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I just left Tortola and the fine people at the Sugar Mill Hotel and have this to say:

If you can go there, get there.

The views are spectacular, the people and staff fantastic, and the food a major step up above the norm for many resorts, especially the all inclusive places. Of all the resorts I've visited in the Caribbean, only Dominica and St. Lucia had staffs and atmosphere on equal and of such a relaxing place to visit. If you are expecting the Hilton or Four Seasons, read on elsewhere but if you want a decently affordable location to enjoy a romantic vacation then this is the place. Thank you again to all of the staff there for a truly enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Get the pool suite if you can. The view from the balcony is outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We reserved a pool suite (which I HIGHLY recommend) and felt it was well worth the price just for the view alone which exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool suite was clean, cozy, and comfortable. They give you a jug of water so you have something cold to drink when you arrive (besides a delicious planters punch!). I loved the outdoor shower, it was like another little room within the room. There are TVs in the pool suites, but you won't get very many channels so not having a TV in the deluxe rooms would not really be a big deal. We spent a good amount of time soaking in the sun and sitting in our balcony overlooking the inviting pool and Jost Van Dyke. When there are beaches we rarely care about pools, but this one was so nice we actually only went to the pool and did not spend any time on the Sugar Mill beach, although we did spend plenty of time on a couple of other beaches in Tortola. Food was for the most part excellent, although I had a couple of things that were a miss. We ate breakfast with the Sugar Mill each morning, which was consistently good and dinner there twice, one night excellent for me, one night was not (main course). My husband was very happy with all of his meals.

Our only regret is that we didn't stay one extra night at Sugar Mill instead of going to St. Thomas.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Address: Apple Bay, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Mill Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small hotel for a few special people. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. With a sand terrace and restaurant, our beach is protected by a natural reef, providing interesting viewing for snorkelers. Our fresh water swimming pool, nestled among swaying palm trees is a refreshing alternative. Candlelit dinners, with a menu that changes nightly, are served in the dining room which has been restored from the ruins of a 370 year old sugar mill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Mill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.