We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Club

Tamarind Club
Josiah's Bay, Tortola
495-2477
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 121 Restaurants in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Nebo, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A true gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

This restaurant is at the far end of the island from where we stay and a little bit difficult to find. However, it is well worth the drive. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is great. the club also has rooms and a swimming poll and not far from Road Town.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    19
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Good Lunch and Amazing Dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

The Tamarind Club has a wide variety of vegetarian lunch options, which was great for us. They also have great food, great service and amazing dessert! The atmosphere is casual and friendly, with dogs lumbering around hoping for snacks amid squeals of children jumping into the pool. It's a family-oriented outdoor dining patio, with board games and wifi. We would recommend the hummus and pita and might go so far as to say the mac and cheese pie is unmissable. Our lunch there was a great experience, and this was one of the best meals we had on the island. So we went back the next day!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stayed in a veranda room..had to walk up steep hill with our luggage..the room was large but paint was peeling, rust around toilets and very old interiors. The male owner was very unsociable to us and we noticed to others unless you are a local. Service very slow. Pool was nice, food was good.Electricity went out during nite which is fairly common I guess. Were given a flashlight to find our way back up hill thru the woods to our room.Food was expensive..15 min. walk to a beach. Found tortola itself to be a very depressed area.Next time I go on a catamarand cruise would fly into st thomas stay there and then take ferry to tortola. (about 100 per person rd trip as opposed to 300 rd trip on cape air from san juan to tortola.)

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good local food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Very good food, good choice, mostly local produce & recipes. Typical surroundings frequented by many locals.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brunch has gone to the Dogs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Nice brunch and good service. Everyone shows up with their pooches! Make a reservation.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Club also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Tamarind Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.