We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great view, great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm's Delight

Palm's Delight
Carrot Bay, Tortola
495-4863
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 115 restaurants in Tortola
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Surf City, NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great food, great view, great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Local spot on the water which gives you spectacular sunsets over St Thomas. Go for the dish that made the restaurant famous, the ginger wine chicken, but try out the roti selection. Always a great dining experience. No problems with credit cards during our visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    23
    15
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ushuaia, Tierra del Fuego, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“forgetable... at least i hope.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

everything was going well- delicious homemade biscuits, conch fritters were seasoned really nicely, and everyone was satisfied with their entree. service was pretty good, and the beers were cold and always full. we were appreciative, gracious guests, and everyone was enjoying a perfectly nice evening...

sadly, when i went to pay my tab, i was delighted to see they accepted credit cards. when i asked them to put 30 dollars or so on my card, the man looked at me like i was extremely stupid and/or crazy and condescendingly hissed "NORMALLY, AROUND HERE nobody swipes unless they are paying at least 45 dollars." oh, he thought i was a tourist, and not someone who goes and comes from this island 6 months of the year... who was actually dining WITH a local resident as well. that being said, i happen to know otherwise, as other eateries nearby are always happy to accept at least $25 from a debit card. $45 is an unreasonably high amount. anyway, he was very unaccommodating to the point of being rude, and making me feel like i was completely out of line. he didn't apologize for the inconvenience, and gave me the "now fork up the cash and leave" attitude. sad.

if you really want a delicious dinner with a pretty impressive cocktail selection, head up the road to Bananakeet... we had a flawless experience there about a week prior. if not, enjoy the biscuits but make sure you have cash!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food,Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We travel every year to BVI Tortola and always find time eat at Palms. Same owner/waiter for over 10 years. Always solid. Beer cold and wine chilled. Chicken and Shrimp are always fantasic

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Shrimp Roti!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The shrimp roti was sooo good here I ate it two nights in a row! Great casual spot that we literally ran past the day before. Hands down the best roti I had on the island.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_75
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best local cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

must try the ginger wine chicken. don't let the looks of this great restaurant fool you. plus, remember, you're on island time. everything is cooked to order, so don't expect fast service

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm's Delight also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Palm's Delight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm's Delight, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.