We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent drinks, decent prices, pretty good food...and what a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BananaKeet Cafe

BananaKeet Cafe
Windy Hill Carrot Bay, VG1130, Tortola
+1 284-494-5842
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 121 Restaurants in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casual fine dining with exceptional foods, friendly service & spectacular sunset views!! Open daily for Sunset Happy Hour: 4-6pm $1 off all cocktails. FREE 'Sundowner' at Sunset! ALa carte poolside dining 5:30-9:30. Live legendary music Fridays from 6pm CAFE SEASONAL CLOSING: September 15- REOPENS October 15 Closed for ALL Public Holidays
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent drinks, decent prices, pretty good food...and what a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

All in all BannanaKeet is definitely worth visiting. The appetizer selection is a bit thin, but very tasty. The tuna wontons are good, but nothing else really impressed. The entrées were better. My coconut shrimp was pretty tasty, and the rack of lamb was sensational and drew rave reviews. My favorite thing about the the place is the bar menu. They make really good blended drinks, and their prices are reasonable. Plus, if you like bourbon, this is one of the few bars on Tortola that actually has a half- decent Bourbon – Knob Creek.

The view is still the best part. Make a reservation and get there for sunset.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    125
    21
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After a week of sailing in the BVI, we wanted the perfect finale to end the vacation. We had 12 for dinner and every one of us would rate this as a magical end to the week. Get there in time for the sunset, because it is spectacular! Get reservations because it is not large. Bananakeet does not just rely on the view to bring in patrons, the food was top tier. Very interesting pork special, tenderloin that was some of the best I have had...we were all sharing bites around the table, as everyone thought they had a wonderful dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great food, great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had another great meal at Bananakeet this week. All our entrees were great, we enjoyed the steak, the seafood pasta and jerk pork loin. The service was attentive and it is a great atmosphere. The view from the restaurant is magnificant, at night you can see the lights of St Thomas in the distance, contrasted by the scattered lights of Jost Van Dyke. Reservations suggested, particularly when they have live music.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Absolutely yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a great meal at BananaKeet. We didn't catch the sunset but the restaurant has a great laid back vibe. We were greeted promptly and seated at a bar table until our table was ready. There was a gentleman playing the acoustic guitar singing blues and some reggae tunes - very nice. After waiting a few minutes, we were escorted to our table overlooking the pool on one side and the bay/city lights below. Our server, Ninga was a delight and very knowledgeable about the menu, recommendation, and drinks. We had the crab fritters, coconut rum shrimp, and key lime pie. The whole meal was one of our best meals on Tortola. Also after our dinner was done, Ninga called our taxi driver and he was waiting for us. A wonderful dinner and night at BananaKeet! Highly recommend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We loved Bananakeet! This was one of our favorite meals on our trip to the BVI. Bananakeet is up a steep hill and well worth the drive. We arrived before our 5:30 reservation and I HIGHLY recommend that folks arrive between 5-5:30 in order to get a good table with the view you would want. By the time the restaurant filled up around 6:30 and people were anxiously crowding to get a view of the amazing sunset, we were pretty excited that we had the best view :) We were right by edge, with unbelievable views of the rest of the island, the beach down below, the water and the surrounding islands. We loved our view and our meal. The food was rather expensive but that's pretty much on par with the island. We shared the ceviche appetizer which was delicious-albeit a bit small-I had the conch and it was delightful, my husband had the swordfish and loved it. The service was spotty but that's typical for Tortola. There was a fairly long wait which is also typical for the island but with the view we could have waited for hours. For two people without alcohol, 1 app and two entrees we paid about $100. We highly recommend Bananakeet!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BananaKeet Cafe also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to BananaKeet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BananaKeet Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.