We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly folks/terrible food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of MYETT'S

MYETT'S
town, Tortola
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 121 Restaurants in Tortola
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
nyc ny
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“friendly folks/terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

While chartering a bareboat in the BVI , we stopped in cane garden bay for dinner. We went to myetts hotel on the beach. The crowd was friendly, if not a little on the senior citizen side(long of tooth) . They had an old geezer playing the guitar who had them jumping at happy hour. We enjoyed watching. the show. Then came dinner. I know most Island food is not usually rated high up in the culinary chain, but this particular restaurant was barely edible. I would not recommend eating here, stopping there for drinks is fine.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go for the sunset happy hour, stay for dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Should we be ashamed to say we ate at Myett's for three out of the five nights of our vacation? The main reason was because they had a surprisingly wide variety of vegetarian options, but the island ambiance is so nice, with loud (and often live) music. The service, we have to tell you, was a bit slow, and the live music doesn't really encourage dinnertime conversation. Maybe it was because we chose time-consuming dishes (the vegetable lasagne kinda rocks) but one night we were there for three hours. And we don't drink! The next night our meal took two hours. But the food, by Tortola standards, was pretty good, and the deck dining can't really be beat.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is just a bar, go to BananaKeet instead”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

We recently went to Tortola and stayed at Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas. On our last night, we decided to check out Cane Garden and Myett's only to be totally disappointed. The food was bland and their large portions seemed to try and make up for the lack of quality. The pictures you will find in the travel brochures are very misleading as the view is limited.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Tx.
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
“Few direct views of the beach, but nice atmosphere...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

Stopped here for lunch on a day when we were driving the north coastal road looking for good snorkeling & swimming beaches & came here because it was widely advertised in BVI magazines as being 1 of the best. It's actually located at Cane Garden Bay, many miles from Road Town. There was no one eating when we arrived at noon, only 1 guy at the bar, so we inquired if they were even open for lunch. The waitress said yes, so we asked for a table with a nice view of the beach & were ushered to one of 3 tables fitting that description. View was limited as it was framed by tall, bushy palms, but still very nice. There were no crowds at the beach since there were no cruise ships in Road Town that day, but we also stopped by on a day when 2 ships were in port, & the place was pretty full so we went to another beach for lunch that day. Had an appetizer portion of their special ribs which were excellent along with a side salad, also quite good for a beachside place. Had a decent Pinot Grigio as their "by the glass" white. The waitress was very nice, friendly & gave us some good hints about other activities on the island. It was a very pleasant time, service was very good, but very few came for lunch while we were there, so the 1 waitress had few people to keep track of. When it came time to get the bill, she disappeared, but when finally found, it was correct. Most places on the island add a "service charge" or "tax" of about 10%-17% (which is actually the tip), so anywhere on the island you need to check your bill for any additions to the food & beverage portions since there is no tax on the island. Regardless of what the extra charge might be called, it is the tip as Americans know it. Since it was the same amount we would've tipped, we paid the final total and left no extra. Recommend coming on a day when there are no large cruise ships in Road Town. Didn't come for dinner only because the drive back to our resort would've been too long in the dark, otherwise we would've tried dinner here.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Rowan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Happy Hour with Kapeye....not to be missed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Jan 31-Feb 20, 2009
My husband and myself spent three glorious weeks in Cane Garden Bay this past Feb. We made it part of our routine three nights a week for happy hour with live music by Kapeye....Tortola's version of Jimmy Buffet. It was a great party atmosphere as the crowd participated in the International Rhythm Section. The food was so so, but the music and people were amazing!

    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MYETT'S also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to MYETT'S? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MYETT'S, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.