We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation dining at its best ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sugar Mill Restaurant

The Sugar Mill Restaurant
Little Apple Bay, Tortola
(284) 495-4355 /(284) 495-4696
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 121 Restaurants in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $26 - $35
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
South Portland, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Vacation dining at its best ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

During our recent vacation to Tortola we had the opportunity to have a number of breakfasts, lunches and dinners prepared and provided by the Sugar Mill Restaurant. All the meals were so satisfying and delicious !! Breakfast is served on a covered porch area overlooking the beach & Apple Bay. The menu is broad and they offered daily breakfast specials during our stay. Such a great way to start your day! Lunch is served at a covered patio called the Islands Beach Bar which is next to the beach and offers excellent entertainment provided by diving pelicans!. The main restaurant offers a very romantic Caribbean dining experience in a beautiful open & simple historic setting. The varied dinner menu was always very appealing offering tantalizing appetizers, salads, main entries & desserts. An exciting element was that the menu changed daily. The service and atmosphere was very relaxed, friendly, polite and professional. A visit to the Sugar Mill Restaurant is a 'must do' when visiting Tortola. We bet you will go back a number of times during your visit to Tortola!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    61
    25
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing meal with superior service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had dinner one night at the Sugar Mill Hotel Restaurant. One of the best meals we had on Tortola. You can tell right away that this is a up scale establishment. The dinning room had an old school charm with all the elegance of a 5 star modern restaurant. We started with two appetizers, egg plant with smoked mozzarella and Mahi Mahi Tartar (melts in your mouth). For entrees we had Grouper and lamb shank. The service was second to none. We happened to arrive a little early and I even caught the head server checking all the table to make sure everything was set up perfectly. We were very happy with our meal and would recommend the Sugar Mill very highly.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Impeccable service incredible food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My wife and I ate at the Sugar Mill 3 times while staying on Tortola March 17-24. The experience was wonderful. Every course was better than the last. This is an absolute must if you love comfortable fine dinning and great service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent setting, service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

After dining in 2 local restaurants, we decided to try Sugar Mill. We weren't disappointed. Hard to compare Sugar Mill to D'Coal Pot and Palms Delight as the cuisines are entirely different. The atmosphere and food were wonderful. The menu changes each night and tonight there was a selection of 4 appetizers, 2 salads and 6 or 7 entrees. My son had the filet mignon, my husband the lobster, shrimp, scallop pasta in red pepper sauce and I had the sweet potato gnocchi. All were wonderful. But the best were the desserts. WOW! The key lime pie was amazing and the white chocolate cake equally amazing. This is a very nice place, caters to mostly couples but we didn't feel out of place with the three of us.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You're going to need a reservation and you're going to love it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Everything was over the top delicious. You can't go wrong with any dish. They were kind enough to let us in on a Sunday night without reservations, but make sure to call ahead.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sugar Mill Restaurant also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Sugar Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sugar Mill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.