We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sugar Mill Restaurant

The Sugar Mill Restaurant
Little Apple Bay, Tortola
(284) 495-4355 /(284) 495-4696
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 114 Restaurants in Tortola
Price range: $26 - $35
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife an I spent a week at the Sugarmill and were amazed each morning and evening at the fantastic meals. Each evening, the meal was better than the last. The ambiance is great and the food spectacular - but both are surpassed by the staff and service which were beyond superlatives. Do NOT miss this place. As my wife said during our first dinner there ... this will go down as one of the best meals we have ever had.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    51
    21
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“sweet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife and I docked at road town, about 9:00am received our rented car and drove westerly route around the island towards our Hotel. We arrived at the Sugar Mill there after. Lonna order the Apple Walnut French toast for breakfast. It was as delicious as it was 8 years ago. Thats says a lot. The servers were engaging and delightful. The speed of the servers well its island time. We stopped twice there after and the breakfast was outstanding.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best meal on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Had dinner there with my husband & 3 kids (7,8,10) they were great with the kids- very friendly & offered kid friendly choices. Had the lobster and it was delicious- menu changes nightly. There was live music and we enjoyed that- we were seated in the bar area- which we didn't mind at all- overall best meal while we were there.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great romantic evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The atmosphere is beautiful, the food is great and service impeccable. The owner/manager checked in with every guest to ensure all was well with them. I loved the place. Expect about $100 per person with wine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The food and the service were excellent. We had a special order that the did perfectly. They accommodated us even though we did not have reservations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sugar Mill Restaurant also viewed

 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Sugar Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sugar Mill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.