We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family dinners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brandywine Estate Restaurant

Brandywine Estate Restaurant
Sir Francis Drake Hwy, Tortola
+1 284-495-2301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 121 Restaurants in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“family dinners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

With only a sort stay in Tortola i managed to get there three times, even though once was just for sunset drink and nibble.
The setting and ambiance will keep me returning when i get back to "Natures' Little Paradise", as for the food well i am missing the Filet Mignon and it is going to be hard to find another like it, absolutely mouth watering as was my Gnocchi.
I did not try the sunday roast yet it had a smile on my Aunties face like i had not seen before!
The service was great and personal with hosts Claudine and Regis keeping things entertaining throughout the night.
Oh and the view is second to none!
Hope you had a great Bday after we left Regis.
Skeg

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    49
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Last night in Tortola”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

After a week on the sailboat, a good elaborate meal onshore was very much on our mind... Well we were not disappointed... the view of Brandywine Bay and the French Country/Caribbean mix style of the building set us at ease right away while we enjoyed our aperitif. The food was sensational... of the highest caliber, and you knew the recipes were tried and true... very artistically presented and absolutely delicious.... a must for any visit to Tortola. Enjoy.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All_over
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of those special days...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We don't often get to Brandywine, but when we do, Regis and Claudine always surprise us. This time, it was their "Two Year Anniversary Hog Roast". Live music (the band was great), chatty, polite and attentive staff and great food. Regis, as always, in the kitchen producing what must rate as the best buffet I've had in a long time; Claudine, front of house, marshalling those fantastic staff and making sure everyone was happy. The thing with Brandywine is that both these people will make you feel like you are VERY welcome. They mingle, chat and even share drinks; passing the time with customers old and new. All the time, the kitchen pushes out fine food that manages to be (possibly, to paraphrase a certain waiter in another local restaurant) the 'best on the island'. A buffet doesn't sound too fancy, but you'd be wrong; from the perfectly cooked slabs of roast pork and slivers of roast lamb, to the asparagus spears, fluffy and crispy roast potatoes and assorted vegetables cooked just right. Rice and peas if you want it, "Signature Paella" if you liked - it was all there. The gravy was rich and unctuous, the apple sauce MUST have been home made, the hints of cinnamon a delightful counterpoint to the richness of the gravy. Even the starter, a combination of salads, dressings and perfectly cooked shrimp, was a delight. Then as you leave the line, your plate piled high with hot, delicious food, you spy the cheeky little Yorkshire Puddings on a plate by the door - nice touch, I bet there were none left at the end of the day!
Finishing the meal, we wandered outside to enjoy the fabulous view from the terrace, watching multi-million-dollar yachts tacking through the cerulean blue Caribbean toward Virgin Gorda, a helicopter swooping low for a better look and the gentle breeze swaying through the bougainvillea. A special day indeed; one I shall remember for a long time....Thanks guys!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent place to have a traditional " roastie"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We loved the old Brandywine with Davide and Cele and were loathe to try to new place..BIG mistake! Finally went there for Sunday lunch and it was terrific. We both had the roast beef with Yorkshire pudding, roast potatoes,loevly fresh vegetables. The service was impeccable and very friendly and the wine selection was excellent and reasonable. We will be returning ofetn..thanks for a great day..and, of course, the view and ambiance is amazing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Food wow. Service slow.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had an 8.30 pm reservation but were not seated until 9.25 pm. They took our orders from the bar but did not get the mesl until 10 pm. GOOD NEWS! Meals were all fantastic. I wish we were nit so starved after a day of sailing. Could have savored the wine more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brandywine Estate Restaurant also viewed

 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Brandywine Estate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brandywine Estate Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.