We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AS ALWAYS.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The William Thornton

The William Thornton
496-8603
Improve this listing
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Portland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AS ALWAYS.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

A raucous good time! Don't bring your kids, but bring a fun...and adult....attitude! ;-). This was our second time here and we really hadn't planned on stopping by...but we did and met some great people...one from Kentucky....and enjoyed their "camaraderie"? The attitude is fun.....the drinks are strong....there is always something happeneing....and their food is even ok.....This is a great gathering place for people from all over!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    13
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good fun, goof food. Very alternative.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I'd heard a lot about the Willie T before we went there but we must have gone on a tame night. There were some very alternative people round the bar but most of the people we spoke to came to eat at the wooden benches in the "restaurant" and then went back to their own boats. So we didn't see anything out of the ordinary although some conversations were extreme to say the least.

Food was good. Enjoyed the curry roti. Good price and very tasty. The open seating was good to speak to people from other boats and hear their stories of their trips. Good chance to meet people from very different parts of the world. Probably not a place for the prudish or those who expect to stay dry. When the skies opened with gusting winds it was quite hard to keep in the dry but it all added to the experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cant miss if in the BVI!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and I have been vacationing in the Virgin Islands for yrs! We stopped in again the week before Thanksgiving 2013 and were pleasantly surprised again. We are always thrilled with the specials or off the menu!!! If you are in the BVI stop by and dont forget to jump off the 2nd floor into the wonderful crystal clear waters!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Interesting, adults only, must see, fun to people watch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a must see/experience if you are in the BVI - IF you are an adult. Please people, do not take your children there!!! This is an anything goes, floating bar. People get very drunk and the shots flow freely. Some of the reviews say it's okay to take kids during the day - what???? The bar has two TVs above it that run NONSTOP pictures streaming of naked women doing crazy stuff that would embarrass most people, shock everyone, and scar children for life. As adults we had fun people watching but I was sad for the people that had their children there. We didn't eat there but heard the food was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must mooring for your trip to the BVI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

A trip to the Willie T is a must if you are looking to tick all the boxes on your BVI trip, if you are sailing then you will have plenty of time for sunsets and serenity, the Willie T is your guaranteed fun party night, when you will feel no pain - you know what I mean!!
makes for an interesting trip back to your mooring in the dark, ha ha! Great Place, make sure you visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The William Thornton also viewed

British Virgin Islands, Caribbean
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to The William Thornton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The William Thornton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.