We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charmer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Towers at Mullet Bay

Save Saved
You added The Towers at Mullet Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Towers at Mullet Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 2024, Mullet Bay, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mullet Bay
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Charmer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at this property as a Bluegreen owner in May 2012 for a week. Initially I was disappointed with my studio accommodation, which was the only unit available. The unit was clean, spacious and comfortable, but a bit dated and the layout was not ideal. It was a good size for a single person (as I was traveling) or a couple. I just realized that I would have much preferred a 1 bedroom for the separation of space. After a few days though, that didn't even matter because I enjoyed the feel of the place as a whole. The balcony was a nice size and had room enough for two lounge chairs and a bistro table. I had a partial bay view which suited me just fine, but a full bay view would have been real nice. The pool area and outdoor bar overlooking the bay is lovely! As may stay progressed, and I got a feel of the island, I realized that this property was perfect for me. The Towers is a little off the beaten path and is very quiet and peaceful. There is not a lot of activity going on here, and I was not seeking that type of vacation, but the activities coordinator is a wonderful woman who will assist you in any way in this area. The fitness center is located outside near the bar area and has what you need if you want to work out, but it is not state of the art. There is a library in the fitness center with a lot of older paperback books, but the hours of the fitness center are limited. For some reason you must always exit the property from the front to walk around to the back where the pool area is. The staff were helpful and kind. Any issue I had was attended to without delay. I appreciated the green space the golf course on this property provided; the only course on the island. I like the feel of not being "on top" of other properties. Mullet Bay Beach right across the street and is wonderful. It provides you with a nice balance of the crowed umbrellas and lounge chairs on one end, and having the beach to yourself on the other. The Towers is a 10 to 15 minute walk to the nearby town of Maho, where there are a variety of restaurants and a grocery store. In actuality, the airport is close enough to walk to; approx. 30 minutes. The bus is easy to catch in Maho and an inexpensive way to get around. The Towers is not luxurious and could use a face lift, but it had everything I needed to enjoy myself, and had a charm that made me feel comfortable and right at home. I could have spent another week just lounging by the pool looking out over the bay! I will definitely go back to The Towers on my next visit.

Room Tip: If you can request of full bay view do. It overlooks the pool area, but this area was not heavily p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    34
    13
    15
    5
See reviews for
23
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Towers at Mullet Bay for 8 days in mid-June 2012. This was our first trip to St. Maarten, and we were so happy to have stayed at The Towers! Two days before we went to St. Maarten, we got a jolt after reading on TripAdvisor about recent security issues involving the initial time-share resort (not The Towers of Mullet Bay) that we had booked several months ago. After bringing this to RCI's attention, RCI quickly assigned us to The Towers at Mullet Bay, a Gold-Crown RCI resort property. What a gem of a place it is! We were pleased with the trustworthy nature of the employees, who were hard-working, knowledgable, and extremely kind. Almost all of the employees had worked at The Towers for 18-20 years or more. The staff projected a family atmosphere, and took pride in their work. Many of the other families vacationing at The Towers had been coming there for years, and spoke highly of the employees, and the resort as well. Fellow vacationers were a delight to get to know; we felt that we made many new friends during our stay at The Towers! Our room was a one-bedroom overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon and the swimming pool; the view was beautiful. Everything in our condo was immaculate and in good working condition. Daily room towel changes were included, and much appreciated. The swimming pool was large, clean, and in good condition. The surrounding pool deck, adjacent snack/drink bar, and swimming towel counter were always tidy and attended by pleasant staff members. While the surrounding property and resort are not as splashy as some other resorts in the area, the important things at The Towers that made us feel comfortable where we stayed were ALL THERE! We might add that the snorkeling and swimming in Mullet Bay were fabulous! Mullet Bay is a short walk across the street and golf course from the resort; the beach is beautiful and well kept. Snorkeling on Mullet Bay favorably compared to other sites we snorkeled (like Creole Rock and Baie Rouge, and Cupecoy Bay). Here's a word about shopping: Being exercise-oriented folk, we walked an easy 1/2 mile to Maho Bay to get our groceries, which we did during the day-time. We were cautioned not to walk to Maho Bay after dark. This was no problem, because buses run until at least 10 PM, and bus service starts at least by 6:30 AM. Here's a plug for the bus-system: Riding the bus system was easy, safe, and inexpensive. The mini-van buses were clean, accessible, fast, and often not crowded. Even though they don't run on a published schedule, they're still very accessible, and got us quickly to our destinations. One day we went from Mullet Bay up to Grand Case on the bus system , and got there in 45 minutes--even with 3 bus transfers! This was our first trip around the island using the bus, and fellow bus riders (St. Maarten residents) and the bus drivers went out of their way to make sure we boarded the three right buses to get up to Grand Case. Later in the day, our return bus trip from Grand Case to Mullet Bay was amazingly expedicious. After interacting the Sint Maarten/St. Martin residents who rode the bus, we can see why St. Maarten is called "The Friendly Island"! For those not interested in the bus, there's always a taxi or a rental car for hire.

Room Tip: We would recommend that you choose a one, two, or three-bedroom condo over a studio-sized condo. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The Towers is located on Mullet Bay, one of the most beautiful beaches on St Maarten. The snorkeling is really nice, and the addition of Rosie's Beach Bar and Grill really adds to the experience. The Towers is on the bay side of the island, but it is only a short walk to the beach. Rosie's have to die for ribs, fries, plenty of malt beverages to wash everything down. The staff at The Towers could not be more gracious, as exemplified during hurricane Earl, they sent a security guard in his private car to transport us to their hotel, when the Royal Islander La Plage left us stranded without a place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the bay side to watch sailboats dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We just returned from a week at the Towers and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Its not a 5 star hotel but nicer than many we have stayed at in St.. Martin. Sure there are things you can pick apart, like the old dishwasher but it beats hand washing dishes and having to complete the inventory list was a pain, however our housekeeper said no worries! She was a delight! We had a studio overlooking the pool and Simpson Bay lagoon, what a lovely view we had every morning with our coffee and breakfast on the balcony, it was almost hard to pack up and go to the beach. When we returned, we opened a bottle of wine and relaxed before going out to dinner and on our last evening a large yacht was close to the shore. The room was clean, spacious and the bed was firm but comfortable. The front desk staff was very friendly and most helpful, maybe those that had a problem needed an attitude adjustment? Security staff didn't talk much but my husband always tried to joke a little with them and we never encountered any problem with our car. We didn't use the gym at all and there was a book exchange as well... we had a car to drive to various beaches... Mullett, Baie Rouge, Cupecoy and Orient Beach. There are 2 grocery stores close by car... the Maho Market just past the Casino Royale and a new one at Porto Cupecoy with great restaurants at both places.
Also, the old Mullet Bay resort buildings that were destroyed by the hurricane in 95 have finally been totally removed. ......we highly recommend Horizon Car Rental as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This property is showing some wear and tear, but is generally clean and decently equipped. It was most annoying to be required to take inventory of the unit both upon check-in AND check-out; this is a job for staff NOT for guests.

The pool is in urgent need of re-surfacing, and grounds in general require some upkeep. Although not on the beach, the property is a 5 minute walk across the golf course, or a couple of minutes by car, which is a necessity in this location. The beach is spectacular.

My biggest problem with this property was the unfriendly bordering on rude interaction with the desk staff. They were snotty, unhelpful and unaccommodating. Every enquiry seemed to be met with disdain and reluctance to budge, let alone help. I've traveled quite a bit and cannot recall EVER encountering such a negative attitude in the hospitality industry. I'm not sure if it is because this is a timeshare property, but I would not stay here again for this reason.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mullet Bay hotels

New City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

The Good: This is a nice looking hotel from the outside, the front desk personnel were friendly, and housekeeping was good. The BAD: another guest's car was stolen from the premises and then my car was broken into 2 days later, despite the fact that a "security guard" was on duty and the parking lot had a swing gate to enter. Also, the appliances are in terrible disrepair. For instance: the refrigerator would not close properly, the dishwasher made horrible sounds, the toilet had to be flushed twice every time it was used and the phones were broken in that we tried to call other guests at the hotel and the line would not work. The hallway smelled like musty mildew and the umbrellas at the pool had holes in them. Also, there are no real restaurants on premises and you had to travel a far distance to the supermarket.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We own a week here and have been going for about 15 years. We started when our first child was 3 months old. The Towers is a great place to stay as it is extremely convenient to the airport. There are grocery stores close by. The room has a fully equipped kitchen and full cleaning service wednesdays. The rooms need to be updated, but it does not take away too much from the comfort of the facility. There is a pool and a bar with minimal food, so you have to either cook or go out to eat. We travel to different beaches rather than use the one across the street. There is a golf course on the grounds. The view is beautiful, overlooking the Simpson Bay to Marigot. Mullet Bay is still in ruins but the Towers is not. There is a Medical school next door. The towers has its own parking lot and a wonderful crew at the front desk. It is very safe. They have welcome events at the pool and the activities coordinator can set you up with tours. The Towers is in a great location as we go out all day to beaches, shopping and then back before heading out again to dinner. You need a car here but if you are looking to really travel the Island the Towers is a great place to call home base.

Room Tip: rooms in the back over looking the bay are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Towers at Mullet Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towers at Mullet Bay

Address: PO Box 2024, Mullet Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Mullet Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mullet Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Towers at Mullet Bay 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Towers at Mullet Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towers At Mullet Bay Hotel Mullet Bay
Hotel Mullet Bay
Towers Mullet Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Towers at Mullet Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.