We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Serene Setting by the Water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean 82

Ocean 82
Main Street, Grand Case, St Maarten-St Martin
0590529812
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 58 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Food and Serene Setting by the Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We enjoyed an evening meal outdoors on balcony next to the beach. Both the food and the setting were excellent.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    150
    46
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
former NYr
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pure class. Exceptional Style, Taste, Service, & Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is a must visit restaurant in Grand Case, St Martin. The view of the water, well lit for your viewing pleasure, and the lapping of the waves make for a wonderful backdrop to a beautiful gourmet experience. Lobster (the caribbean version), is all priced about the same on the island. So the differentiator was the service and preparation. Ocean 82, in my opinion, is the most well prepared lobster on the island. For the record, I enjoyed lobster at least once a day, sometimes twice, over my eight day stay.
My wife had a delicate ravioli and a double decker macaroon for dessert. She's still euphoric about the experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

There's just nothing bad to say about this restaurant. We were seated at a beautiful table right on the edge of the porch where we were treated to the most incredible sunset. The entire staff was friendly, helpful and accomodating, every bite of food was incredible from the bread to the seafood. The wine was wonderful, the dessert was delicious. It was a very casual atmosphere, despite its formal appearance, and we shared the porch with families and other couples. One of our favorite things about dining in St. Martin was the great conversations we had with couples at neighboring tables, and this meal was no exception. This restaurant also earned the title of best complimentary rum shot after dinner. Definitely worth a visit if you're looking for a great dinner in Grand Case!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“White fish in beurre blanc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I took too long to come write this review. We were here for a large group event, and this meal was a standout for sure. I can't recall what type of fish I had, but it was cooked to perfection despite the size of our group, and the beurre blanc was outstanding. Others raved about the lamb entree. We had a limited menu to choose from because we filled the entire restaurant, but they clearly chose two outstanding options to serve us. My only critique was that the service was a bit slow, and we were chastised a bit for wanting to pour our own wine, which we wouldn't have had to do if the servers weren't so busy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Flat out increadable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Wow! Ocean 82 was just amazing! The food was fabulous, the staff was so friendly and accommodating. I ordered the hamburger and it was so juicy, it was cooked to perfection, and was so delicious. The view is breathtaking- the restaurant is sitting on the beach and you get a lovely view of the ocean. The theme is kind of a modern beach house and they do a great job of it. It is stunning and also pretty clean! I would recommend Ocean 82 to anyone vacationing in St. MArtin looking for a great place to eat!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean 82 also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Ocean 82? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean 82, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.