We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sky's the Limit

Sky's the Limit
Boulevard de Grand Case, Grand Case, St Maarten-St Martin
690-356-784
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 58 Restaurants in Grand Case
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Me and my fiance' ate there for lunch recently and thought the food was definitely A+. It was a great way to experience the local island cuisine and take a break from the fine french dining in the Grand Case area.

My only complaint is that one of the servers accidentally spilled sauce down my fiance's back staining her blouse and t-shirt. They did apologize, but I felt they should have done a little more. Maybe I am expecting too much, but saying sorry, handing us a couple of napkins and then basically pretending this did not happen afterwards did not make us feel great. Back home, this would have at the very least got my fiance a free meal.

If I was on the island, I would go back, as the food was great, but I just wish they were a little more accommodating about the incident.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    190
    50
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were stayed in Grand Case for 6 nights and I think we ate at this Lolo 4 times for lunch or dinner. The staff is extremely friendly and welcoming. We would immediately order a Presidente while looking over the large menu selection. We would try a new dish each time we went back. Some of our favorites were the shrimp plate and the dry rub ribs. Oh the ribs were wonderful. We had to order those a few times they were so good. They offer a 1:1 ratio on US dollars to Euros if you use cash. Thank you for $1 Presidentes! This place is an easy choice for authentic food at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Be a "local" while on vacation in paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

You will get a lot of very tasty local food for very little money. Ice cold beer for only a dollar. The restaurant is right on the street in beautiful Grand Case. You will feel like you belong here instantly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“True, Traditional Island Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

When the concierge said we really should visit the "LoLos" we had no idea what she was talking about. She explained the "LoLos" were traditional island cooking, prepared in the traditional way. We still didn't understand exactly what she was talking about... Then for dinner we stumbled across "Sky's the Limit." Certainly not like the other restaurants we visited, it is really just a pavilion. All the food is cooked in large grills you can see. The shrimp were very good, my wife loved the mac and cheese (I did too). The plate comes with the meat and a variety of different sides. Each part is very good, but at the end all the different flavors joined.. That was the best.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“What a great place--wish it was local to us at home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The saltfish cakes were incredible and the homemade mac and cheese a terrific compliment to the rib plate. I loved having 5 or so sides along with my ribs--just a few bites of each, almost like a holiday dinner! :) The price of everything, from the food to alcohol is very reasonable and the service was terrific too! Make sure not to miss out on this place!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sky's the Limit also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Sky's the Limit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky's the Limit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.