We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sky's the Limit

Sky's the Limit
Boulevard de Grand Case, Grand Case, St Maarten-St Martin
690-356-784
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 57 Restaurants in Grand Case
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were stayed in Grand Case for 6 nights and I think we ate at this Lolo 4 times for lunch or dinner. The staff is extremely friendly and welcoming. We would immediately order a Presidente while looking over the large menu selection. We would try a new dish each time we went back. Some of our favorites were the shrimp plate and the dry rub ribs. Oh the ribs were wonderful. We had to order those a few times they were so good. They offer a 1:1 ratio on US dollars to Euros if you use cash. Thank you for $1 Presidentes! This place is an easy choice for authentic food at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    155
    35
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Be a "local" while on vacation in paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

You will get a lot of very tasty local food for very little money. Ice cold beer for only a dollar. The restaurant is right on the street in beautiful Grand Case. You will feel like you belong here instantly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“True, Traditional Island Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

When the concierge said we really should visit the "LoLos" we had no idea what she was talking about. She explained the "LoLos" were traditional island cooking, prepared in the traditional way. We still didn't understand exactly what she was talking about... Then for dinner we stumbled across "Sky's the Limit." Certainly not like the other restaurants we visited, it is really just a pavilion. All the food is cooked in large grills you can see. The shrimp were very good, my wife loved the mac and cheese (I did too). The plate comes with the meat and a variety of different sides. Each part is very good, but at the end all the different flavors joined.. That was the best.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“What a great place--wish it was local to us at home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The saltfish cakes were incredible and the homemade mac and cheese a terrific compliment to the rib plate. I loved having 5 or so sides along with my ribs--just a few bites of each, almost like a holiday dinner! :) The price of everything, from the food to alcohol is very reasonable and the service was terrific too! Make sure not to miss out on this place!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a great little place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Don't shy away from this spot as they come out into the street to lure you in! It is quite actually worth it. The wait staff are very friendly and hard workers. The owner came up to the table to chat.
The restaurant is an open air style eatery with simple decor, no frills, nothing fancy. The food is very very good. I had grilled shrimp and ribs and my husband that grilled chicken and ribs. The portions are more then ample. You get local style fried rice, pasta, potato salad, and green salad with you meal. The shrimp had a great spicy sauce. There were a variety of sauces for the BBQ at the table. They also had a grilled/fried fish on the menu that looked great.

We thoroughly enjoyed this little spot and would definitely return there next time. It is a nice change from the numerous expensive restaurants in Grand Case.
Just of note, they don't take credit cards. We had just enough cash to pay for the meal ( I think we were one dollar short actually) and had no money for tip left, we were very embarrassed. We had two large meals and 2 beers each for $42.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sky's the Limit also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Sky's the Limit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky's the Limit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.