We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal a SXM.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Ti Provencal

Le Ti Provencal
158 Boulevard de Grand Case, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
590 590 87 02 31
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 57 Restaurants in Grand Case
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best meal a SXM.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Went here by recommendation. Best meal we had during our visit to SXM. Wew did visit 3 other high rated restaurant in Grand Case, but noone came even close.
We were seated on the terrace with lovely view of the Grand Case. Ordered some drinks, specials of the evening was explaned, and we went for some snapper and triggerfish. First we had a mix of different apetizers all very lovely, which we happely shared round the table. Then we had the fish, which was some of the best fish i ahve ever had, outstanding. My son is not so fond of foreign food but the kitchen made him a very tasty risotto, which he enjoyed. My daughter had spaghetti with schrimps, which she also enjoyed. We had some lovely bottles of Sancerre.
Service is very kind and helpful, didnt wait long for the food to arrive.
Can only recommend, would love to come back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sxmsaintmartin, Responsable relations publiques at Le Ti Provencal, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
and one of our best review! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    46
    23
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food was Fantastic but the service very poor and scatterbrained”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The restaurant was not full, they appeared to be adequately staffed as well but no one greeted us and we had to flag someone to get seated. The waitresses seemed to work hard and handle their tables ok. We on the other hand had a male waiter/bartender that was the worst service we have ever seen and we dine out all over the world regularly. We had to flag him to order, he kept forgetting our drinks, had to flag again, he then poured them but forgot to bring them. He seemed hyper just bouncing up and down but never really accomplishing anything. We really wanted to try dessert because the food was spectacular but after a 2 hour ordeal to just get drinks and food, it wasnt worth giving up another hour to wait for him to do his job. Such a shame, the chef and kitchen staff cranked it out and the food truly spectacular but if this poor service continues it will kill this restaurant. Other tables were upset too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sxmsaintmartin, Responsable relations publiques at Le Ti Provencal, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We are really sorry to hear this and just wanted to let you know that the staff has been changed. give us another try next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“For a very nice dinner, friendly staff and beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The staff was very friendly. We had a large group of 8 with 4 children. They were very accommodating with meals for the kids. The food was great especially to fish dishes. After the meal, the chef came out to say hello. He was very nice and wanted to chat for a while. I would recommend this restaurant keep in mind , it is pretty expensive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fresh, fresh fish and a happy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The assortment of fish and the preparation was marvelous. The several varieties of local fish was not on the menus at the other places we ate. Great upbeat atmosphere and staff. Not as formal as other places, but so good that we would have gone back for a second meal if we had another day. Do not miss this restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Too bad this restaurant cannot live up to it's beautiful setting on the water in Grand Case. We arrived for our 8:30 dinner reservation on time and were ushered to some nice couches to wait for our table. No problem with that at all, but after 15 minutes we had to hail a server to get a drink. We asked for a drink menu, but were given just a rushed verbal of wines available and they were uneducated about the limited selection (when asked where the pinot noir was from, our server didn't know). Once we were seated, 30 minutes past our reservation, it took an hour to start getting our food. The first bite of food served to us was cold, tasteless slices of bread served with butter in little disposable plastic containers. Bad start to the meal. However, once the food FINALLY arrived, it was well presented and very good, but the long wait and un-attentive service made the whole experience a bust. As we were led to a table for four in the corner, we asked about another table that was being cleared and said we would wait for that, if possible. We were told that it was booked already and not available. No one was seated at that table for the rest of the evening. We left at 11:30 very disappointed overall. There are so many other very good restaurants on the island to choose from, so I suggest you steer clear of this one.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Ti Provencal also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Ti Provencal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Ti Provencal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.