We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tastevin

Le Tastevin
86 Boulevard de Grand Case, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 57 Restaurants in Grand Case
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Ouvert midi et soir tous les jours, bord de mer .Wifi
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Jose and Christine continue to provide an amazing dining experience. The setting on the water is perfect and the food to die for. There were four of us dining that night and every course was fabulous. Between the four of us, we had Caesar salad, the duck ravioli special, seared foie gras, filet, snapper and rack of lamb. Julian looked after us so well, very attentive service! Kudos to Le Tastevin. Don't miss an opportunity to dine there!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    113
    23
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Deserves a Michelin star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Had a wonderful dinner here during our stay at Grand Case Beach Club. Only 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel.
Lovely setting at a table overlooking the beach. The food was superb and service excellent. Not particularly cheap, we had a main and a dessert with a bottle of wine which came to around 55 euros a head, and you could easily end up higher. However, the high standards are definitely worth it.
In Europe this place would be nudging a Michelin star. It seems there are no Michelin starred restaurants here simply because the guide doesn't cover the carribean...
Our view... Give it a try if you're in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A diet deal-breaker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Service, setting and most of all - the food! Nothing left behind! Beautifully presented french deliciousness!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superior Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was one (two) of the best meals yet ever. We went back. I get around and love my food. It was only a 35 minute drive from Cole Bay on my 5th attempt, I got lost quite a bit. It was worth the effort. The restaurant may have been the most romantic spot I have been for a meal. The food was excellent. The service was superb.

The first visit we asked if it would be alright just to have dessert and coffee. They were very accommodating. Once we were seated and had a spectacular view out over the bay, with white linens, attractive flatware and stemware, we decided to try an appetizer or two first. I had the tempura escargot which was ample, unique, and delicious. My date had the mint wrapped shrimp in vermicelli which was hot, perfectly prepared and presented, and unbelievably good.

They offered to split an entrée for us, and we selected the red snapper, served with a sauce and mushrooms, it will always be my favorite fish and it was perfectly prepared and served. Even though it was a split entrée, we noticed the other table had a similar portion to what each of us had. I cannot guarantee that this will happen to you. We only asked because we had honestly already eaten.

For dessert, I had the pistachio mousse while my friend had the pineapple mousse. I was already selecting my next entrée for my next visit before we left. I did this again the second time too, but ran out of time, or I would have gone again. I had the creamy cold cucumber soup which was a joy and the grouper with mint Moroccan sauce the second time which was fantastic. I had the crunchy banana roll with vanilla ice cream which was noteworthy and exceptional, recommended by the female server. Both servers were absolute professionals. My date had the cream brulee, which was the lightest version I have encountered, like the pineapple mousse, it could float away!

There was a sudden rain storm during our second visit and the manager/owner drew the cotton curtain to shield us from the wind blown rain. As I have said, this was perhaps the most romantic place I have been, which is what I told my date at the time.

I am not certain if I will return to Sint Maarten again, but if I do I will definitely return to Le Tastevin. The drive was a bit over the edge, but it was well worth it, probably an $80 cab fare from the Westin. I have a new standard, however, as a result, to measure all future dining experiences.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“just top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

we had a table on the terase directly on the beach. Lobster soup was fantastic and mean course was even better. I would definetly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tastevin also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Tastevin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tastevin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.