We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cadillac in a world of Chevrolets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tastevin

Le Tastevin
86 Boulevard de Grand Case, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
590-590-87-55-45
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 57 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ouvert midi et soir tous les jours, bord de mer .Wifi
Burlington
Level Contributor
159 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A Cadillac in a world of Chevrolets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

After eating mostly at beach bars on the Dutch side of St Maarten we ventured to the french side for lunch at Le Tastevin in Grand Case which is said to be the dining capital of the Caribbean. As noted in the title it was like going from driving a Chevrolet to a Cadillac. Service was truly French and leisurely but attentive and there were real cloth napkins. While we were dining we could see on of the staff ironing the napkins in the back room. The restaurant is right on the beach and there is not a bad seat in the house. It has been around since the 1980's for good reason and has a very good reputation.

The crab and shrimp stuffed cannelloni was superb with just the right amount of moisture and seasoning. My spouse had mahi mahi done to perfection and I had a red snapper fillet which was very tender with, again the right amount of seasoning. When in a French restaurant one must try desert and the coconut pannicotti and chocolate dome were both excellent. The pre dinner bread was slight disappointment for a French restaurant but this was the first time in 4 days we had even been offered bread in a restaurant.

One word of warning is that tips cannot be added to the bill if paying by credit card and can only be paid by "cash on the side" to quote the owner.

Overall a very good experience and worth the 45 minute drive from the Dutch side of the island.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    154
    40
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fine Dining Under The Sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I highly recommend this restaurant, it is a MUST when visiting La Grande Case on the French side of St. Martin.

Appetizers, main courses, deserts, to the staff & the scenery of eating on the beach.. everything is just perfect. In my top 5 restaurants I've ever eaten at.

My pictures speak for themselves...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really solid all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service. Top quality food. Beautiful setting. What else can I say.

Food is quite gourmet with interesting presentation and technique. And I feel it's reasonably priced for this caliber of chef.

Keep it up, Le Tastevin!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Tres Parisien - Restaurant overlooks Grand Case beach, wonderful food, nice waiter, great service and a spectacular view.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“excellent in overall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Service, quality and price, excellent.
We were very well served, international waiters with good energy.
The food was very good, the lobster soup is a must!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tastevin also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Tastevin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tastevin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.