We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!! And not just the food.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tastevin

Le Tastevin
86 Boulevard de Grand Case, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 57 Restaurants in Grand Case
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Ouvert midi et soir tous les jours, bord de mer .Wifi
Downers Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
“Amazing!!! And not just the food.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

No doubt the food is amazing....We had the special that night, veal, which was cooked to perfection with pepper. My partner enjoyed the chicken, which seems ordinary, but nothing is ordinary with Le Tastevin. Dessert included crepes suzette...although the breeze extinguished the presentation sooner than planned, still brilliant! And the creme brulee hits you with a surprise in your mouth....Chocolate pop rocks! This is a definite must place to be when visiting! Be sure to make reservations as it can be hard to get into on a busy night. And ask your host to take your picture along the most beautiful backdrop St. Maarten offers, the beautiful ocean with the crashing waves. I promise you, you will not forget this experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    105
    21
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great view,great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Went to Le Tastevin last night in Grand Case as it was mardi gras night. Got there at 6;00pm and had choice of any table-took table in corner overlooking the water. great choice and quiet with great ocean view. i Hadad the tuna tartar appetizer with coconut cream mousse topping-fabulous.
Followed that a a fois gois pate appetizer- perfect sized appetizers. My friend ordered the scallop and shrimp dish which she loved as well. We shared the profiteroles which were fantastic. Good thing we shared as them as there were 3 large balls with choclate sauce and sliced almonds. Service was great. Also enjoyed the mardi gras parade and street vendors after dinner. Worth going every Tuesday night in January

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Its not wonder this is #3 on the restaurant list. Not only is the food amazing, but its right on the water, you can hear the waves crashing on the beach and if you come during the day you see pristine blue waters, and creamy fine sand. My husband and I shared a half bottle of pinot noir to get one glass each and it was totally reasonable in price. The desert was pistachio mousse with chocolate and nut praline and it was very exceptional.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great view, service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We didn't have a reservation, so we didn't get seated right at the waterfront , but you could see the water from all the seats, lovely restaurant, good variety of items on the menu, great desserts! We would go back, but there are so many restaurants in Grand Case to try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at Lunchtime overlooking the turquoise waves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

One of the only restaurants open both for lunch and dinner 7 days a week is the Tastevin, overlooking the silver strand of Grand Case. It’s been in business since 1983 and the gracious leadership of the lady owner was apparent as she came over to our table and conversed with us in French (she also conversed perfectly in English as well).
It’s in a sturdy wooden structure perched over the sand, with white tablecloths, blue undercloths, fine silver and glassware. Its location let the breezes cool us on this windy day (finally!)
We ordered a tomato-based lobster bisque with chunks of lobster mixed with vegetable strands in the salty broth. My husband's choice was a pork tenderloin, worthy of its name, with a rich spicy Andean sauce, turnips preserved in acacia honey and vegetables. My sister wisely chose the duck breast, in a Merlot and chocolate sauce, with an artful cake of christophine squash (?)crumble with raisins. I ordered the local daurade (mahi-mahi) in a coconut lemongrass sauce over green asparagus. All were perfectly executed. The wine: Rioja 2006 Marques de Riscal Reserva. Excellent attentive service over the two hours we spent here.
For dessert, three sorbets from the Alps: passionfruit, lemon, and raspberry, followed by expresso coffee. The lady came around with little glasses of Grand Marnier, limoncello and Martinique rum. We’ll remember this as our best meal and a very enjoyable day in Saint Martin.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tastevin also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Tastevin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tastevin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.