We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still has original owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tastevin

Le Tastevin
86 Boulevard de Grand Case, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 57 Restaurants in Grand Case
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Ouvert midi et soir tous les jours, bord de mer .Wifi
western ma
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“still has original owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The food is always delightful here. The portions are ample and presentation is pleasing. Wine choices are good as well. It's hare to find a restaurant in Grand Case that has been under the same ownership since we've been coning - about 15 years. We hope to come for many more years.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    105
    21
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Perfect, Once Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I'm beginning to feel like a broken record, as I give high marks to the restaurants my husband and I visited in Grand Case. But this was our 3rd trip to Grand Case in 5 years -- and our third visit to Le Tastevin -- so we've learned to pick restaurants. NOt that it's hard to do so in Grand Case.

From the warm welcome, to the amuse bouche of cucumber gazpacho, seafood entrees, and final rum shot, we had a very pleasant seaside dining experience. It's becoming something of a tradition, so I expect we'll return to Le Tastevin when we return to Grand Case.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food, Ambiance, Service - Doesn't get better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stopped here with friends while visiting Grand Cas one evening. Had heard nothing about it. Simply superb. Looked after by 2 brothers and great server staff. Lovely setting. Very romantic. We sat at a table right by the railing over looking the water. With 4 entrees, apps, wine, liquor, etc., the total bill was $440 US (e 370).

Would we go back? Absolutely.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant by the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I went to Le Tastevin on the recommendation of our driver, and it was my birthday dinner. The setting was amazing, right over a beach, with the sound of the waves, and totally open to warm, calm weather. I had the steak, which was a stunning piece of meat, and my friend had a film basket of scallops and prawn, which was in a beautiful sauce..

The whole meal was wonderful, and the service was great... twin brothers served us, which slightly confused us until we realised it was 2 people!

The dessert was also lovely, we had the mango and pineapple crumble, which was fabulous.. I was slightly disappointed that they didn't have a couple of the preferred desserts on that night, but what we had was great.

Happily recommend Le Tastevin to anyone visiting St Maarten - it's worth heading over to Grand Case no matter where you are staying..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“LeTastevin equally as good as LaVilla with better views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to Le Tastevin located in Grand Case based on a recommendation. Outstanding all around experience. View of the ocean was incredible, food was excellent and service was as good as it gets. I had the fillet migon and it was cooked to perfection and tasted even better. My wife had the 3 course meal which included an appetizer, an entree and a desert for $48 Euro which she enjoyed thoroughly. We would highly recommend this restaurant but not a cheap meal even though it is worth every euro. If you liked LaVilla, then you will equally like LeTastevin with a better view. Identical twin brothers run the restaurant and are attentive to your every need.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tastevin also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Tastevin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tastevin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.