We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Restaurant!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Restaurant

La Villa Restaurant
93 Boulevard de Grand Case, Grand Case 97150 , St Maarten-St Martin
+590590523659
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 58 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a Great Restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

It was surely one of the greatest dining experiences in my life! My husband found the place for celebrating my birthday and he did an excellent job! I would definitely recommend their seafood dishes, especially the grilled chilean sea bass. I also would write about the staff, too. Every one of them was friendly and pleasant, and they served each dish at a right time even when it became crowded. At the end, they serve you a whole bottle of rum liqueur (milk strawberry flavor). I must warn you to not drink too much. It's too good!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,056
    170
    61
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Suburb and special dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

This is our annual special restaurant. The food is superb. The Euro and Dollar are equal here! We decided to go with their 3 course offering. For $49 each, we got to choose 3 courses off the menu. First, on the house, we were served a small portion of this incredible cold soup. Then I started with citrus crusted sea scallops that melted in my mouth. My husband chose the dozen escargot which also melted in your mouth. For our entree, we each got the rack of lamb, medium rare. Cooked perfectly. I got the rack on special and my husband got the rack listed on the menu. It came with mashed sweet potato,a scallion/vegetable pancake and sautéed spinach with slices of garlic. The spinach was so good, that I asked for more. No problem and no extra charge. Dessert was equally outstanding. My husband got the molten chocolate lava cake with vanilla ice cream, and I got a lemon custard topped with raspberry purée and whipped cream, served with a small scoop of raspberry sorbet. Our dinner ended with different rum liqueurs, which was on the house. Can't wait to return again next year!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Palma, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner with a group of 7. The service was awesome, our waiter was so helpful. The filet was one of the best I've ever had. Best place on the island.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellisville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Expected a little more given the reviews...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The Service: The host was accomodating and wonderful to everyone. Our server was nice, but I wouldn't say this establishment had 5 star service.

The Food: I was there with my husband. I got the Prix Fixe meal. The escargot was delicious and in a garlic pesto butter. The Seafood Combo with Lobster had perfectly cooked lobster. The scallops and shrimp were good, but nothing memorable. The dollop of potatoes was delicious and the remaining sides on my plate...well, I can't remember which says much. The risotto was too rich, too buttery. I couldn't eat it and I do like risotto. My dessert was the upside down pear tartin. I didn't care for it. The caramel ice was good and the pear consomme was piney, maybe they used gin in it. I like gin, but I didn't care for the pear consomme. I tasted my husband's dessert which was a custard. We both thought it was gritty in texture. The homemade after dinner drink that was complimentary tasted a bit like a harsh pina colada.

The Verdict: I had leftovers from my entree and I gave them to a stray dog that was rummaging through a pile of garbage. I was expecting a food experience like at Le Pressoir. I don't plan on returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, KY
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Treat yourself to the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

In a town known for its restaurant scene La Villa stands out. From the greeting by Florence to the "au revoir" from Christophe what happens in between is culinary magic. Get the fixed price option which at $49 is a bargain, especially with the $=€ policy. The wine is likewise well-priced. My wife never raves about our meals out, but this one she declared the best she has ever had. I have to agree. La Villa is easily worth the drive from anywhere on the island and by itself might justify a flight from Cincinnati.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa Restaurant also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to La Villa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.