We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Restaurant

La Villa Restaurant
93 Boulevard de Grand Case, Grand Case 97150 , St. Maarten-St. Martin
+590590523659
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Located in the heart of Grand Case, and well worth a visit. Florence and Christophe have created a terrific dining experience that should be a part of any vacationer's agenda. French onion soup was outstanding, crab stuffed fish a delight and the three ice cream dessert topped it off beautifully. The four of us ordered four different meals, and all were exceptional.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,165
    183
    64
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

There is a reason why La Villa is one of the top if not the top rated restaurant in Grand Case. The service is excellent and the food is generally as well. Would have given them 5 stars if not for a slight mistep with the Mahi Mahi Tartar. It is garnished (quite liberaly) with pink peppercorns which at first add to the dish but after a few bites become over powering and really takes away from the wonderful fresh flavors of the fish . The rest of the meal was excellent. My girl had the special which was rolled red snapper filet with asparagus and lobster in a light fennel sauce. I had the rack of lamb with a wonderful honey sauce. Both were really great. Desserts were also excellent. 49$ for the Pri Fix was a really good price (anywhere) for a meal of this quality.
As mentioned by other reviewers La Villa is not located on the bay side of the street but the ambiance more then makes up for that.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best restaurant on the island. Quality every time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Always a treat. The ultimate in fine dining on st. Martin. Consistent quality. My daughter thinks that the seared tuna is the best meal of her life. I love the duck. My wife loved the veal. Everyone loved the deserts.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherry hill,nj
Level Contributor
198 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“excellent again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Christophe and Florence have a lovely restaurant. Food is excellent, service is outstanding, and the atmosphere is very chic. The prix fix menu du jour is 49 euros for 3 courses...a bargain.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service for a good price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We go to St Martin annually and usually eat mostly at Sol. E Luna as our favorite but now it's La Villa. It's more affordable and their lava cake was the best on the island. It's not reheated in a microwave. It's baked and its obvious to me a chocolate aficionado. We went back twice during our stay. You can't go wrong here with the euro to dollar equal price. Enjoy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa Restaurant also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to La Villa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.