We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stopped in for a drink and stayed all day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LOVE

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added LOVE to your Saves list
LOVE
140 Blvd de Grand Case, Grand Case 97058, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Chez Martine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Grand Case
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“stopped in for a drink and stayed all day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I stopped in to grab a drink since it looked like a cute place. The entire atmosphere was pleasant and welcoming. Great bar set-up, great looking tapas and a great beachfront area to chill. We met the owners William and Muriel...they were working the bar, treating their customers personally. I asked to tour a couple of rooms for future reference and Muriel happily took us on a tour. The rooms are simple, but tasteful and clean and quite pleasant. They were the most gracious hosts and really made us feel welcomed and special. Would love to stay there when I return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    34
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
78
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This place was an amazing little hideaway located on Grand-Case Beach on French side on Saint Martin. While I did not stay here I spent a few days relaxing on their deck chairs in the ocean sipping wine, listening to their chilled music and soaking up the sun! Staff were very friendly and can make some amazing cocktails. Cheese platters were delicious! Highly recommend just popping in for a wine or two if you aren't actually staying

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for just one night (Friday) and wished we stayed longer. This is the cutest hotel! Only 7 rooms. We stayed in room 2 which was on the ground level right by the street but it was still very quiet as the town doesn't have much nightlife. The hotel locks up at night but guests have their own key so we never felt unsafe. We hung out on the beach loungers all day and enjoyed the water, beach, food, and drinks. Beach service was provided. Drinks were larger than average size and very reasonable price. We ordered grilled paninis for lunch and were a bit disappointed as they only had one small slice of meat in them but were still very tasty. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, Ca
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

As we drove from the airport, we were very happy that we had decided to stay at Grand Case - the Dutch side of Saant Marteen seems to be all surface glitlz. We were fascinated to see how the Love Hotel with its somewhat bizarre name would turn out. We could not have been happier. The welcome was very friendly and the room, while not glitzy hade everything one needed with nice views from the side of the hotel over the beach. The bar was very friendly and we were able to wind down from our flight from Amsterdam. We really enjoyed Grand Case with its great choice of restaurants. We would definitely stay again at the Love Hotel. For photos and an additional view see my wife's blog (http://gallivantingisadora.blogspot.fr/2013/03/our-first-night-in-caribbean-grand-case.html)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

After checking out some of the much more expensive options, and being wary that some of the small places right on the beach might be, well, kind of crummy, I crossed my fingers and went with LOVE. My wife and I stayed here for a week (7 days) and had a wonderful time. As simple as the rooms are (no TV or phone), it absolutely met our needs. The place is charming, our hosts William and Muriel were incredibly nice and very helpful, and if you're on the second level, there are practically no mosquitoes - unlike the first-floor room in another place the last time we visited Grand Case. We were in room 6, which has a side-view of the beach and water. It was also quiet, and there's a very nice terrace where we ate outside for breakfast and just looked at the waves. The low-key bar downstairs is also great, easy to grab a beer, sit on the beach and just relax. I literally couldn't have asked for more! Bottom line, we'd go back any time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top level likely have less mosquitoes; and have a view of the water via the side terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markdale, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very nice little hotel in a great location in GC. Walked to all the great restaurants and beautiful view of the beach. Short drive to Merigot and Orient Beach. Would recommend 2nd floor and RM#7 if you can swing it, little pricey but 2 bedroom with a wonderful balcony overlooking the ocean. Room was very clean and staff very nice. Parking is on the street but was not an issue and felt safe in the area. Did not eat here but had drinks very good and food we soon looked good as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just got back from a seven night vacation at the Love and we could not be happier with the experience. The room is very simple, but very comfortable. We were in room 4, so we were fortunate to have a terrace to enjoy morning coffee and the spectacular view of the water. The beach out front is small, but it was never crowded, always buzzing (at least after 11 am). We had at least four lunches at Love and they were all delicious.

The real magic at love is the people. The staff is nothing but friendly. William and Muriel (the owners) are absolutely full of life and they never failed to greet us with a smile.

Absolutely only complaint about the accommodations is that the water in the room went out a couple of times during the afternoon, but this is certainly out of the Love's control. Fortunately, as William pointed out there is a whole sea at your disposal only a few steps away.

Room Tip: If you're going to have a problem with noise and you will be going to sleep early, don't sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LOVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOVE

Address: 140 Blvd de Grand Case, Grand Case 97058, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Chez Martine)
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your LOVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Martine Grand Case
Chez Martine Hotel Grand Case

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LOVE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.