We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved LOVE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LOVE

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added LOVE to your Saves list
LOVE
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Blvd de Grand Case, Grand Case 97058, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Chez Martine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Vienna, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We loved LOVE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

After checking out some of the much more expensive options, and being wary that some of the small places right on the beach might be, well, kind of crummy, I crossed my fingers and went with LOVE. My wife and I stayed here for a week (7 days) and had a wonderful time. As simple as the rooms are (no TV or phone), it absolutely met our needs. The place is charming, our hosts William and Muriel were incredibly nice and very helpful, and if you're on the second level, there are practically no mosquitoes - unlike the first-floor room in another place the last time we visited Grand Case. We were in room 6, which has a side-view of the beach and water. It was also quiet, and there's a very nice terrace where we ate outside for breakfast and just looked at the waves. The low-key bar downstairs is also great, easy to grab a beer, sit on the beach and just relax. I literally couldn't have asked for more! Bottom line, we'd go back any time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top level likely have less mosquitoes; and have a view of the water via the side terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    36
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
81
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Markdale, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very nice little hotel in a great location in GC. Walked to all the great restaurants and beautiful view of the beach. Short drive to Merigot and Orient Beach. Would recommend 2nd floor and RM#7 if you can swing it, little pricey but 2 bedroom with a wonderful balcony overlooking the ocean. Room was very clean and staff very nice. Parking is on the street but was not an issue and felt safe in the area. Did not eat here but had drinks very good and food we soon looked good as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just got back from a seven night vacation at the Love and we could not be happier with the experience. The room is very simple, but very comfortable. We were in room 4, so we were fortunate to have a terrace to enjoy morning coffee and the spectacular view of the water. The beach out front is small, but it was never crowded, always buzzing (at least after 11 am). We had at least four lunches at Love and they were all delicious.

The real magic at love is the people. The staff is nothing but friendly. William and Muriel (the owners) are absolutely full of life and they never failed to greet us with a smile.

Absolutely only complaint about the accommodations is that the water in the room went out a couple of times during the afternoon, but this is certainly out of the Love's control. Fortunately, as William pointed out there is a whole sea at your disposal only a few steps away.

Room Tip: If you're going to have a problem with noise and you will be going to sleep early, don't sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We found the Love Hotel to be an attractive, convenient and, for St. Martin, economical hotel that is within walking distance of the Caribbean's best French restaurants and is close to a number of first-rate beaches as well. Our room, number 7, has a panoramic view of the Grand Case beach that would cost many times more in other hotels. Although the bedroom is above a barroom, the management succeeded in completely sealing off number 7 from the smoke and conviviality of the drinking room below. Even the outdoor deck, where we watched the sun set each evening, was undisturbed. The waves generate a pleasing din in any case. There is no TV in the room, but we brought some DVDs and watched on our laptop after dinner. We found the owners to be helpful, pleasant and comfortable speaking English. Unfortunately, the French do not go in for breakfast. We found, however, that the nearby Loterie Farm serves what could be regarded as brunch beginning at 11:30 a.m.; we had a large plate of tropical fruits and another plate with a fine selection of cheeses each day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our first stay, after researching a LOT. I wanted a small place, as close to the beach as possible, on a pretty beach, for a reasonable amount of money, that had a bar and restaurant, and that was devoid of the feeling of a big, generic resort. THIS IS THE PLACE. Aside from all of that (And the room is spotless, btw) was the added and wonderful element of the FRENCHNESS of this place. My boyfriend and I loved being in a small french boutique hotel, with fabulous coffee on the water each morning, great drinks on the beach, and lovely, kind, fun people as guests and best of all, the owners William and Muriel. All at amazing rates. I hope this special place stays intimate and the best kept secret on St. Martin. If you are looking for huge glitz or lots of Americans this is not your place. If you are looking for a small, wonderful slice of heaven, this is it. It is now OUR PLACE. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms. We stayed in Room 4 and it was great, outside view of the water. Next time we will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The rooms are very spacious, have air-conditioning, comfortable beds, and are kept very clean. The man who owns it is always gracious and charming but his wife seems to view the guests as her enemies, determined to cause her trouble and cost her money. She scowls and turns away when you ask something outrageous like, "Is there any chance I will have running water in my bathroom anytime today?: or, "Is there an ETA of when electricity might be restored?" I still think it's a great deal but we won't eat or drink in the hotel because we don't want to give anymore money to the b----.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor face the main corridor so it is quite noisy. Try to get a room upstairs if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia / Guyana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Renovated in the last couple of years the Love Hotel is a little gem on the beautiful shores of Grand Case.

Accommodation is now a lot pricier than it used to be as the Love Hotel has gone upmarket with current owners. However, the service & quality of food,& coffee in the restaurant was fantastic and the location on the beach front is even better. The photos speak for themselves!

The owners of the property are very helpful and friendly, seeming to treat the hotel as a lifestyle rather than a business. Unusually in Grand Case, the owner's wife speaks a little english. She's also disturbingly keen to hang around in the bar with the customers after a midnight swim in nothing but a very skimpy g-string but she's in good shape for someone in her mid 50's - kinda disturbing but very amusing nonetheless!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LOVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOVE

Address: 140 Blvd de Grand Case, Grand Case 97058, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Chez Martine)
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — LOVE 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your LOVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Martine Grand Case
Chez Martine Hotel Grand Case

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LOVE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.