We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time on the hill above the rest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Esplanade

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel L'Esplanade
Save
You added Hotel L'Esplanade to your Saves list
On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic time on the hill above the rest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

I couldn't have been MORE thrilled by my stay at Hotel L'Esplanade. From arrival to our sad departure, our stay could not have been more memorable, relaxing and wonderful!

The moment we drove up the hill to the hotel, we were ensconsed by the gorgeous flora and fauna of the island! (The landscaping around the hotel was so lovely!) When we pulled up to the reception entry way, we were happily greeted by one of the many pleasant and accomodating employees of the hotel.

Lead to our room, the door opened to a lovely and cool room...my boyfriend and I felt like kids at Christmas. The rooms are gorgeous AND functional!! Each room has a kitchen - so, eating out for every meal is not neccessary - although, the hotel did provide us with the option of having breakfast delivered to our rooms in the morning. AND - the pool bar makes some delicious drinks and tasty bites!

We weren't sure how we would feel about overlooking the ocean vs. staying on the beach, BUT - on St. Martin/St. Maarten - THIS IS NOT AN ISSUE!!! We loved our sunset views! AND, on the island, being on the beach is not essential because there are so many to see AND visit.

This couldn't have been the more perfect hotel to call our home away from home! We will definitely be returning as soon as possible!!!!

  • Liked — The central location - but with enough privacy you felt like you were tucked away in a very special place!
  • Disliked — I surprisingly can't think of ONE thing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    73
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
48
382
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York city
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

I agree with all the other positive reviews. This hotel is very well maintained, staff very helpful without being intrusive. My suite was spotless, roomy and very restful.

This hotel will definitely get my repeat business.

Monica

  • Liked — room was very large, clean and very comfortable
  • Disliked — no restaurant on-site
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2007

We honeymooned on St. Martin for a week after getting married on St. John last June. We cannot say enough about how great L'Esplanade was. Car rental (handled through the hotel) was flawless after flying in. The room was excellent and after they had heard that we we recently married (we didn't mention beforehand that we were honeymooning) they immediately brought a bottle of chilled champagne to our room - a nice welcome to say the least. This hotel is also in a great location as the view is great, the secluded pool is fantastic, and it is within walking distance to the large collection of gourmet restaurants in Grande Case. The only potential negatives that I can mention include the small nearby airport that was visible from our room (but was not a bother at all to us, possibly an eyesore to some) and the shower that was not so good at containing all of the water. Regardless, this is the best hotel that we have ever stayed at and needless to say, we would highly recommend L'Esplanade!

  • Liked — Proximity to great restaurants
  • Disliked — Shower unable to contain water
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

Our family of 5 stayed at this beautiful hotel at the end of March. We had already stayed at the Westin (nice, typical US resort)for 5 nights and decided to move to the French side of the island. Many travel websites raved about LeEsplanade and we had high expectations. The folks at the hotel DID NOT disappoint us - it was a wonderful experience....we felt like we were family from the check-in! They were so helpful in guiding us to the right restaurants and when our car got broken into (at a beach 15 min away), they assisted us with the language barriers. We would definitely go back!

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

Six day stay was superb.
The grounds and accomodations were exceptional. New feature was a Friday free appetizer and open bar reception around the pool hosted by Christine (she and her husband own the resort).
The resort is just high enough above sea level to get a great evening breeze. The daily ritual of chosing a Grand Case restaurant and then walking the restaurant strip was a terrific vacation interlude. For restaurants our top votes go to Spiga and Hibiscus--the Cafe Calamois serves cold beer and not too spicy fried jalapenos right on the sand beach. The best beaches are Ile Pinel and Orient--both different and both attractive. Resort staff were very accomodating. The view of the sunsets was inspiring--attached picture may not do it justice.
This recommendation is made without any hesitation or reservation.

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Disliked — Wished we could have stayed longer
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2007

My wife and I recently returned from a five day "romantic getaway" type vacation. We selected Hotel L'Eplanade based on other TripAdvisor reviews. Originally, I had planned to stay at La Samana but changed my plan due to the very uneven reviews about the resort.

The glowing comments about L'Esplanade proved to be 100% correct. The facility itself is in superb condition and we had a beautiful room (number 5) with a terrific view of the Crand Case harbor. The staff are extremely accomodating and the service is excellent. They made reservations for us at restaurants each evening and we always seemed to get very nice tables at each place.

The hotel is very conveniently located to the Grand Case restaurant row, just a five minute walk down a picturesque path. We dined at Le Tastevin, Le Pressoir (twice) and L'Escapade and they were all excellent (and expensive). Some of the restaurants will take cash dollars on a par basis with Euros (although not Le Pressoir or Le Tastevin).

Other reviewers have recommended renting a car and I would agree (we rented one through the hotel which included airport pickup and drop-off. This is definitely the way to go). Having a car gives you a lot more flexibility and freedom to roam the island.

We found Orient Beach to be the best and the most entertaining, with the best choices for beachside restaurants and amenities. I strongly recommend it. We did not go to the Grand Case beach but did check out a beach located a short drive south of Grand Case which did not appeal to us at all.

The only negative with Hotel L'Esplanade, and it is a minor one, is its proximity to the Grand Case airport, a half mile or so away. Beginning at about 8:30 AM, inter-island turbo prop planes start landing and taking off which can cause a bit of a racket. However, this is a minor inconvenience and the fact is that we would return to the Hotel L'Esplanade without any hesitation. I highly recomment it.

  • Liked — Great location; excellent condition; oustanding service and sttaff.
  • Disliked — Minor noise from nearby airport.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarkston michigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2007

My wife and I have stayed at many nice hotels and resorts in the past seven years. We both agree that L'Esplanade is one of the best. Everything from the grounds, to the pool, to the rooms is gorgeous. If you are looking for a first class experience and incredible food Hotel L'Esplanade in Grand Case is the place for you!
Curt and Erin

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esplanade

Address: On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid lush tropical gardens, affording its visitors privacy without sacrificing its panoramic ocean views. Spacious interiors blend harmoniously with the Mediterranean architecture. Magical sunsets come to you on your private terrace to touch your soul. A delightful footpath leads you on a journey of discovery. We invite you to find your own rhythm, knowing that our staff is there to ensure that your every day is a perfect day, knowing that your comfort is our excellence and with us, you are home. For those who appreciate privacy, enjoy an uncrowded atmosphere, gracious hospitality and seek relaxation in exclusive, blissful surroundings...Welcome to Hotel L'Esplanade. Introducing our new Ti Spa for all of your beauty and relaxation needs! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.