We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Esplanade

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel L'Esplanade
Save
You added Hotel L'Esplanade to your Saves list
On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off rate, Jan 5-31!
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
A TripAdvisor Member
“Lots to love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2006

I have never written a review before, but our trip to St. Martin so was such a perfect experience, I thought the hotel(s) and staff deserved mention. My husband and I planned a last minute trip to the island before the holidays and arranged to stay at both L' Esplanade and Le Petit Hotel around a visit to one of the surrounding islands. Our first destination was L'Esplanade, the larger of the two properties up on the hill overlooking Grande Case. From the moment we arrived, we were able to shed our bags and plans and just relax. Kristin and Marc showed us our room, pointed out the path to the beach from L'Esplanade, the walk to "restaurant row" and encouraged us to just relax and have a good time.
They have thought of everything here. I travel a lot for business, so I am particular about a lot of things. The bed, the linens on the bed, the towels, the choices of bath products- all the little things that make you feel like you are being taken care of- have been meticulously thought out here. Our bed was large and plush, not two twin beds pushed together to make a king, it was a real king size mattress with breezy white linens. The bathroom featured local, french bath products and freshly clipped flowers. From our deck we had a beautiful view of the beach below. We could have stayed here for the whole trip. But we planned to pack in a few destinations on this trip.
When we returned to St.Martin, we stayed at Le Petit. Our boat got in late, but Stefanie had prepared for our late arrival and made sure we were taken care of. I LOVE this hotel. It feels like home, that is if I could have a beach house in the Caribbean. The room we stayed in had a porch which led directly onto the beach, which simply can not be beat. The room has been designed to feel like you are in Bali or Tahiti with heavy teak stained wood and crisp, clean cushions. Again the bed was incredibly comfortable. We lazed around our porch in the mornings over delicious pastries, fresh squeezed juice and Real coffee.
They have truly designed a place where you feel at ease. There are no wicker pieces or other usual tropical trappings, Le Petit and L'Esplanade are classy, comfortable and cool properties. They give their guests enough information to be self sufficient (even have little kitchens for your own food) but are incredibly kind and helpful if you should ever need their help or advice. We had the best trip and recommend it highly to anyone who is planning a trip to the Caribbean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    72
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
42
362
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2006

We've just returned from St. Martin and absolutely loved the hotel l'esplanade in Grand Case. The hotel is beautiful-set atop the hill overlooking the sea.

The staff couldn't be nicer-they couldn't do enough for you. Our room was an efficiency with a full kitchen, except microwave, and had a balcony overlooking the sea. The room was immaculate with luxury linens and daily maid service.

The pool bar is wonderful as is the bartender-Alan. He makes a great lunch.

The location is perfect as you can walk to the main street in Grand Case. Also, you can use the beach at Grand Case beach Club.

Karan

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2006

The best hotel value this side of the moon!
I was astounded by the extraordinary beauty of this magnificent, intimate property. As well as the incredible cleanliness and unrivaled attention to detail. Never have I been more pleased with every aspect of a hotel experience. Never have I felt more well tended to. There aren't words to explain this most perfect setting. Sweeping panoramic vistas of a crescent bay. A handful of motor yachts and sleek sailing vessels bobbed at anchor on the tranquil, azure sea. Breathtaking sunsets from a private, (and I mean really private) balcony. The architecture and quality of materials used in constructing this hidden gem is truly a feast for the eyes. The abundant gardens dripped with multi colored bougainvillea and hibiscus blossoms. The uncrowded oasis pool is sheer paradise, dressed to kill with a mahogany swim up bar, imported tile and crystal clear water. Who could ask for more? Did I mention Petit Plage? We found it to be a gorgeous and special little beach only barefoot steps away. The management of this fine family run boutique hotel could teach the 5 star hotels of this world a thing or two about customer service. The ever present, cheerful, professional staff can't do enough for you. By the end of the first day, I felt like a family member. To say they treasure their guests is an understatement. Shhhh, let's keep this one quiet, everyone returns year, after year, after year and...if the word really gets out none of us will be able to get back in. If you want a sure fire winner...run don't walk. L'Esplanade will spoil you for anything else.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2006

My fiance and I traveled to St. Martin in November 2005 and I have not had a chance to write a review, but after reading the previous negative review, I felt compelled to write. Hotel L'Esplanade went above and beyond our expectations in terms of rooms, service and value. We stayed in an oversized deluxe loft and I must say that we have never stayed in a room as beautiful or with such breathtaking views (see attached pics). When we first stepped into the room we were just blown away at the size and the loveliness of the room. The grounds were perfectly maintained and the flowers and greenery gorgeous. Every amenity imaginable was available and when we asked for a voltage converter, it was immediately delivered to us. The staff booked our restaurant reservations prior to our arrival and helped us revise them when our plans changed during our stay.

Location - L'Esplanade is located on a hillside, not directly on a beach, but this was not a problem as we rented a car and traveled to the different beaches on the island. We actually prefer the variety and seeing the differnt sights, but if you do not rent a car you can walk to Petit Plage at the base of the hill, which is small, but pretty and uncrowded. You could also try the beach at the sister hotel Le Petit. Many of the restaurants in Grand Case offer use of their beach chairs if you eat at their establishments-La California and Los Calmos being two of them. Orient Beach has a nice strip of beach and many water activities,(along with nudists), but we found it to be overcrowded and not as relaxing. If you want large, crowded beaches stay on the Dutch side or Orient Beach. If you prefer a low-key environment, privacy and relaxation try Grand Case and the other beaches on the island not surrounded by resorts.

Restaurants - Grand Case offers a variety of top-notch restaurants. A few that we would try again are Le Pressoir and La California and Marios's Bistro in Sandy Ground. We ate at La California for lunch on the day of our arrival and went back there many times for their delicious food and friendly service. In fact, we traveled on to Anguilla after our stay in St. Martin and took the ferry back to St. Martin for a day because we missed Grand Case and our lunches at La California. On a side note, Anguilla has some of the most beautiful beaches we have seen, soft, powdery white sand, but other than that there is not much to do. Take a day trip there to experience the beaches, but stay in St. Martin for some flavor.

Night Life - Grand Case does not have much of a night life and therein lies the beauty of St. Martin. Just drive over to the Dutch side for casinos and shows and drive back to the French side for peace and quiet. Los Calmos Cafe in Grand Case is open late and you can have late-night drinks on the beach which is a nice touch.

For us Grand Case felt like a cultural experience as well as a vacation. Usually when traveling to Caribbean islands, you get the beautiful weather and beaches, but everything is commercialized and the experience becomes generic. In Grand Case, the locals mix with the tourists and you get the true feel of the island - not your cookie cutter experience behind resort gates. All in all, St. Martin has something for everyone. If you prefer big resorts stay on the Dutch side. If you prefer privacy and tranquility, stay at L'Esplanade for unparalleled service, accomodations and ambiance. You won't be disappointed. We plan on returning to L'Esplanade for a longer stay in May and we can't wait! Hope this was helpful. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2006

I read all the reviews about this hotel and it's location before we booked a week there the end of Jan. Everyone of the reviews was so glowing. But to my stunned amazement the reality turned out much differently. What view there is is somewhat less than spectacular. And Grand Case? The "Grand" part is somewhat of a misnomer. The town seems depressed and depressing, as does the rest of the island. What beach at the end of the short path down the hill is everyone talking about-the pathetic strip of sand to the right known as Petit Plage which is abutted by concrete walls? My girlfriend likened it to Soviet Russia. We did have a problem with the airline breaking the main latch on one of our bags, and the women that attended us at the hotel was extremely accomadating-I think here name was Fanny-couldn't have been nicer, making arrangements with the airline etc. We booked out of there after one night-took the plane over to St. Barth and had a wonderful rest of our vacation. Please please PLEASE know I am not a complainer, but this was a mind blower.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner/Manager at Hotel L'Esplanade, responded to this review, February 9, 2006
In response to our recent guest from Fairfield, CT., St. Martin is obviously not for him and I feel he took out his dismay with the island on our hotel. He came through a travel agent so perhaps the agent mislead him? Often times people that love St. Martin, dislike St. Barths and visa versa...this is why we own a property on St. Barths as well! I think it is clear from all of our other reviews, as well as out TripAdvisor award that we strive to give our guests the best customer service possible. We are a small, family run business and we bend over backwards for our guests. If anyone has any questions or concerns as to whether or not L'Esplanade is for you, please feel free to email me. Thank you.
-Kristin Petrelluzzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2006

This pretty, well maintained hotel is a delight. The staff is attentive, cordial and helpful. The room was spacious and the view of the ocean from the patio framed in hibiscus and other local flowers was a perfect place to rest in between our forays into St Martin.

We found that the location, next to the restaurant row of Grand Case within walking distance of the water and some of the finest eating outside of New York was a find that happily seems to have been overlooked by most of the people we met. We will absolutely return.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2006

We stayed here after I read all the reviews on this site and were very glad we did. We brought our 6 month old son and they were very gracious in accomadating all of us. Our room was immaculate and the "oversized loft" was a nice size for the 3 of us. All the staff were great and very helpful. The pool was nice and we enjoyed the pool bar (apparently not always open). It was an easy walk into town for all the wonderful restaraunts of Grand Case, though coming back up the hill was an effort. This is not the place to stay if you don't do steps well. We really enjoyed the location and being able to walk to such great restaraunts at night and not have to drive. The $1=1euro deal that many offered if you pay cash was great. We ate at Spiga twice, Rainbow, and Le Cottage and had wonderful meals at all of them. We would highly recommend L'Esplanade. We booked a package that included car and airport transfers and had a brand new car and reliable transfers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esplanade

Address: On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid lush tropical gardens, affording its visitors privacy without sacrificing its panoramic ocean views. Spacious interiors blend harmoniously with the Mediterranean architecture. Magical sunsets come to you on your private terrace to touch your soul. A delightful footpath leads you on a journey of discovery. We invite you to find your own rhythm, knowing that our staff is there to ensure that your every day is a perfect day, knowing that your comfort is our excellence and with us, you are home. For those who appreciate privacy, enjoy an uncrowded atmosphere, gracious hospitality and seek relaxation in exclusive, blissful surroundings...Welcome to Hotel L'Esplanade. Introducing our new Ti Spa for all of your beauty and relaxation needs! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.