We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what is there not to love?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Esplanade

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel L'Esplanade
Save
You added Hotel L'Esplanade to your Saves list
On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off rate, Jan 5-31!
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“what is there not to love?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I had the chance to stay for two nights. Most guests are couples, perhaps honeymooners, but I didn't feel out of place as a single traveller.

L'Esplande is in a wonderful location - walkable to the best of Grand Case, and overlooking the bay.

I stayed in a Studio and the room is HUGE and beautifully decorated. Classy, but not stuffy. The staff couldn't be nicer and more helpful.

One quirk: there are a few 'house cats' who may like to pop by your room and say hi. You don't have to pay attention to these kitties but as an animal lover I found it charming.

Room Tip: all rooms are extremely spacious - I could do cartwheels in my standard Studio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    72
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
42
362
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The staff at Hotel L'Esplanade were extremely good to us both during the reservation process and even more so during our stay. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable, but the best part of this hotel is the view. As many have already said, the hotel is built into a mountain overlooking the sea. This is a double-edged sword in that the view is priceless, but you do need to do a bit of walking (or car) to get anywhere. You are also largely responsible for your own entertainment and sustinance. Don't get me wrong, the staff will assist in whatever you need and were quite nice about it, but this is not the kind of hotel where you just plop down and get waited on hand and foot. We were fine with that, although having some form of nightly entertainment and an on-site restaurant would have been better. The pool is average to small, but is well maintained with plenty of places to sit. Allen at the pool bar is an awesome guy and will keep you smiling the whole time. The welcome basket and the free internet access in the lobby (not sure about wi-fi since we don't use it) were wonderful touches.

As mentioned, the hotel is not really convenient to the beach or to much of anything. Consider a car rental if you are the adventurous type and aren't content just chilling on the balcony or at the pool. Restaurant Row is really nothing more than a narrow side street with an eclectic mix of restaurants, houses, shops and motels. Foodies will surely find plenty of gems tucked away in the mix and makes the French side (and Grand Case in particular) worth staying on, but do not expect a hot/exciting night life. I hear the Dutch side is the place to go for that (and another reason for a car if you are so inclined). The LoLos have some very good food at reasonable prices, but beware of the high pressure sales pitch as you walk by them. The first one, called Sky's the Limit, is particularly annoying in this way. Don't be afraid to keep walking. As a side note, the LoLo called Scooby's is very good.

One last word of advice. If taking a taxi from the airport, don't fall for the story of how they can't get up to the lobby area of the hotel. They can, and there is room to turn around up there if you have any clue how to drive. We were left at the bottom of the hill to drag our bags up to the lobby, and that was with being super nice to the driver the whole way there.

Overall a fantastic choice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at L'Esplanade in June 2013. I cannot imagine having a better experience at any hotel. The hotel is set into the side of the mountain, providing it a spectacular view over both the ocean and some of all the flowers and trees in between the hotel and the ocean. We got the "smallest" room they had, but it felt huge and was beautifully furnished. The hotel is a short walk away from beautiful beaches and "restaurant row", which has so many incredible dining options that there is no need to go anywhere else for meals. Despite the gorgeous view, luxurious accommodations and prime location, what really sets this hotel apart is the service. The staff took care of everything for us, helping us find the best companies for every activity/excursion we went on while on the island and booking our reservations. They were always looking for more ways to make our stay even more relaxing and enjoyable. It was like having our own tour guide free of charge. We plan on going back every time we can. Thank you, Hotel L'Esplanade, for an amazing vacation!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Both L'Esplanade and Le Petit Hotel are beautiful slices if heaven! I live on the island of St. Martin, and visit these tranquil environments whenever I can. They are perfectly blissful havens that should be at the top of every travelers' lists for a truly quaint, French Caribbean experience. I love everything about these exquisite hotels and their amazing, helpful staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at L'Esplanade in mid-December 2012. It was our third trip to L'Esplanade and it is still just as charming and wonderful as ever.
We came her for our anniversary and when we were taken to our room, there was a beautiful arrangement of candles, flower petals and a bottle of champagne awaiting our arrival.

We have stayed in both deluxe studios and deluxe lofts...both are fabulous, but we do prefer the studios. The decor in the rooms is simple, elegant, Bali chic. The beds are very comfortable.

We love to hang by the pool in late afternoon, meet other guests and chat with our favorite bartender in the Caribbean, Alain. He makes some mean cocktails...best pina colada you'll ever have.

There are so many amazing restaurants...you almost can't go wrong. Our favorite this last trip was "Le Pressoir"...unbelievable food and very romantic ambiance. We love to go to Calmos Cafe for beach lounging and lunch and cocktails...their Ocean Salad is delicious!

Don't hesitate booking a stay at L'Esplanade. You will be planning your next stay while you're there, I promise!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I hate to write this because the staff was so very friendly but this is not a luxury resort/hotel. This is a very average property that has clean and modern rooms for a night or two as a weigh station between islands. This is certainly not where I would want to spend a week. Don't consider this a vote for the other properties we saw on St. Martin either...I think the other highly reviewed places looked worse. St. Martin is in need of a large resort set on a beach. It's a nice island with shockingly good restaurants and friendly people but there is just too much interaction with the riff raff-abandoned cars-goats in the road-poverty level-to attempt a nice vacation in one of these small hotels and pass that on the way to dinner and the beach every day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have traveled the world many times "The Hotel L'Esplanade "and "Le Petit Hotel" are on top of the list when it comes to fabulous treatment/;customer care and Island experience.The Hotel management is on top of details...All you have to do is ASK....As travelers we are all different with different tastes and likes...Please enjoy the lifestyle and the fabulous atmosphere...make it your destination spot...We even have a favorite room!!!,,Relax and have a perfect vacation!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esplanade

Address: On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid lush tropical gardens, affording its visitors privacy without sacrificing its panoramic ocean views. Spacious interiors blend harmoniously with the Mediterranean architecture. Magical sunsets come to you on your private terrace to touch your soul. A delightful footpath leads you on a journey of discovery. We invite you to find your own rhythm, knowing that our staff is there to ensure that your every day is a perfect day, knowing that your comfort is our excellence and with us, you are home. For those who appreciate privacy, enjoy an uncrowded atmosphere, gracious hospitality and seek relaxation in exclusive, blissful surroundings...Welcome to Hotel L'Esplanade. Introducing our new Ti Spa for all of your beauty and relaxation needs! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.