We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing could be finer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Esplanade

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel L'Esplanade
On the Hill of Grand Case, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Pay 5, Get 2 FREE!
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Grand Case
Cape Cod, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Nothing could be finer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It's quite apparent that the management of L'Esplanade and their sister hotel, Le Petit have secured their discerning clientele for life. They've left NO stone unturned, giving you exactly the hotel experience they would desire themselves. It's better than fabulous and everyone I met had been a guest before.
Why is it, even with a nonstop flight, travel seems to take all day? Meals are missed...most people reach their destination feeling tired, thirsty and hungry. They're yearning for a refreshing shower. In my world, first impressions are everything. I entered the open air lobby to an inviting clear decanter of chilled spring water delightfully infused with grapefruit and orange slices. There was a coffee/espresso machine and lovely imported tea offerings. The air conditioned, oversized loft was spacious, immaculate and welcoming. The decor was upscale and attractive. Everything oozed quality. There was a basket of delicious goodies, a French baguette and a liter of complimentary Fiji water. With my thirst and hunger satisfied, I headed to the shower. It was a rain shower, enclosed on three sides with natural stone, wide open to the massive bathroom on the fourth side. I opened the window within the enclosure and listened to the palm fronds rustling in the breeze while I lathered up with the imported, fragrant olive oil soap. This hotel passed the bar from the get go...AND THEN SOME. I was sold...I knew I'd be compelled to return again and again. If you're in search of a unique and bliss filled oasis, enhanced by spectacular sea views and sunsets...where you get far more than what you pay for...and all your needs are met before you anticipate having them, come to Hotel L'Esplanade. The entire experience is a delicious and contagious stress reliever.

Room Tip: Every room is a suite, and they all are extraordinary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    439
    67
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
39
339
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at L'Esplanade, for two nights, in May, as a stop over before joining our chartered yacht in the B.V.I. We wanted to chill and recover from our flight from Paris CDG.

If you want to stay at a hotel with all inclusive facilities, a beautiful beach and amazing food with doting staff don't stay here. Stay at La Samanna, and pay for it!

If you want to stay in a hotel which exemplifies 'laid back' Caribbean style this IS the place for you, let me explain.....

We loved Grand Case. Fantastic "Lo Lo" restaurants, excellent speciality restaurants, and a really nice beach, interesting shops, but L'Esplanade is sited on a hill about a 5 - 10 minute walk from the "main strip" at Grand Case. It's a really nice walk down to the strip. We felt safe, despite the security guard discretely station half way along the route, and during the day, whilst driving our hire care we witnessed a guy dealing drugs in a side street!

We had an amazing meal at "Tastevin" which was recommended to us by friends who crew a yacht in the B.V.I. We didn't have breakfast at L'Esplanade simply because one had to order it the night before and the individual items were expensive. Instead we hired a car and drove off to Orient Bay for breakfast, amazing. The second morning we drove to Anse Marcel and had breakfast on the beach, near the Radisson Blu, Wow!

There is no dining room at this hotel, to eat you have to walk down to Grand Case or, during the day, eat at the pool bar which provides basic pool snacks, there are no dining facilities at night, you have to walk down to 'the strip' or hire a car.

Our room at L'Esplanade, was a "deluxe ocean view room". Nice. The views of the bay were superb and the sunset stunning. It was clean. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom facilities adequate although they suffered from the lack of an extractor fan. The towels were small and not luxurious, the toiletries were French, "Damana", but quite frankly a small piece of soap and no shower gel won't do! There was no bath. The hotel provided a very small piece of "hand soap", hair shampoo & conditioner and body lotion. I had to spend $18 on a pump container of shower gel from the small, hotel "subterranean" shop, so that I didn't smell like a "quarterback's" under pants! There was air con and a ceiling fan.

I read another review of L'Esplanade which commented on the absence of staff at reception...well it doesn't test the IQ of anyone with an IQ over 80 to realise that the staff are down stairs in the office, if they aren't actually physically present at reception. It's air con'ed in the office! Surely 20 stairs are not beyond the the capacity of most people to negotiate, even Americans! The set-up at reception can be described as "open-plan". There is free wi fi connectivity.

The pool is small but adequate. There is a swim up bar. The bartender spent most of his time chatting with friends and by no stretch of the Imagination was his service attentive! He was, however, a nice chap, and he did fashion some interesting cocktails! We didn't sample his food.

All in all this hotel was perfect for a 2-3 day stop over. Would I want to stay here for 7 - 14 days?.......No I would not! It's too far removed from the beach and lacks restaurant facilities. There was, however, a couple who had stayed here for 28 days, whom we met at the pool bar, they had had a wonderful time, so may be I expect too much for my money, C'est la vie!







Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent a lovely 2 nights here before heading to Anguilla. I am so glad we picked this perfect spot - far away from the tourist areas of St. Maarten and set in the picturesque area of Grand Case. We loved that there were only a few rooms, so the service was top notch. Views were great, pools were quiet and refreshing and great restaurants were just steps away...

Room: We stayed in a studio room - which was large enough by far for the 2 nights we stayed. The room gets very cold (make sure you keep the patio door closed for optimal A/C) and the bed was comfortable with fluffy down pillows and duvet. The bathrooms have been recently renovated (or so it seemed) and the huge walk-in shower was a delight. We had a small kitchen with full-sized fridge, stove and microwave but never used it. The voltage is 220volts but they will provide you with a converter to use so we were able to charge iPads, cameras, phones, etc. The patio area was so comfortable with two padded chaise lounges and a ceramic tile table with two chairs. The view is unbeatable - you see all the way down to the turquoise water below.

Service: From the front desk to security: everyone was very friendly and professional. They made dinner reservations, called taxis, got us beach towels, etc - really anything we needed they quickly provided. Would stay here again just because of the staff. Truly wonderful. Loved the cold cucumber water provided in the reception area: this was welcome in the summer heat.

Food: The hotel doesn't have an on-site restaurant, but some fabulous dining is just steps away. Have to mention Spiga and Le Tastevin - the crayfish at Le Tastevin was amazing. Grand Case Blvd is just down the path from L'Esplanade and there are restaurants lined up waiting for you. Our biggest complain was that we couldn't try them all!

Pool: Just down the steps from the main hotel building is the pool, all nestled in between palm trees and bougainvillea bushes. The pool was a perfect cool temps, and padded loungers are available all around. It was not crowded and at times had the whole place to ourselves. For those who need shade (like me!) there are umbrellas for all the loungers. Alan, the pool bartender was a riot and made the best drinks - including his special "Rum Jumbie" drink (make sure to ask for it when you are there!) He was funny without being over-the-top and was truly one of the nicest people we met there.

You will not go wrong with Hotel L'Esplanade - from the beautiful white linens to the resort cats who walk along the stone paths to the cool blue waters of the pool....you'll feel like it's your own tropical home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

There is so much to praise about this little hotel that I really don't know where to begin. It has so much charm!

There are some things it is not, and doesn't pretend to be. Do you need nightly turndown service?
Really? Well, there's none. And no, there's no on-site restaurant. But aren't the fabulous restaurants a 10 minute walk from the Hotel, one reason you chose to stay in Grand Case? If you want quiet, casual, Caribbean elegance, however, stay here.

My wife and I spent a week in an "Over-sized loft". They are large, air-conditioned, nicely furnished, one-bedroom suites. The bedroom upstairs has a cozy porch, an incredibly comfortable king-size bed, and a really sexy bathroom adjoining it. Unless your libido's on life support, once you see the shower, you're going to want company!

We had breakfast delivered to the room several times - quiche, croissants, coffee etc. We also enjoyed eating at the nice little bakery, a short walk from the Hotel. We also made our usual pilgrimage, when in St. Martin, to Sarafina"s - an incredible bakery in Marigot. The full-size, in-suite, kitchen comes in handy for stocking up, and serving bakery goodies. It's also good for reheating the pizza the Hotel will order, and have delivered to your room!

The pool area, a short walk down some stairs - I'm 71, and going up and down them posed no problem for me - and along a lovely garden path is a nicely landscaped, cozy, spot. Alan, who mans the poolside bar while serving up fast food, makes you feel special.

The staff at a hotel has a lot to do with determining the quality of a guest's experience. Here, they clearly enjoy being of service. From the husband and wife managers, to the ladies in housekeeping, they are genuinely happy helping you. When we mentioned in passing to someone who we assumed was head of maintenance, that the WiFi in our room was temperamental, he jumped on the problem immediately. It turned out to be Marc, of the husband and wife management team. The enthusiasm in this place is contagious!

We didn't rent a car, as finding a parking space at the places we like on the Island can be challenging. Taxis arranged through the Hotel, suited us perfectly.

My wife and I know St. Martin/St. Maarten well. We live on St. Thomas, Virgin Islands, which is close-by. St. Martin - so convenient to get to - was our first choice when deciding where to celebrate my 71st birthday. However, we were quite firm! If we couldn't get reservations at L'Esplanade, so much for St. Martin, we were heading to Quebec, Canada for the week.

The rave reviews of this property on TripAdvisor . . . they're very much deserved!

Room Tip: Live well, reserve an over-sized loft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Spent 7 nights in room 16 and were cant wait to get back. The hotel is very much what you read here. The rooms are spacious , clean, and private. The staff could teach a course in hospitality. They wil accommodate any reasonable request. We had no issues with any of the amenities. The only little drawback was the walk down and back to town. The trail is fine but lots of steps back to the room.

Room Tip: Room 16 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place is truly wonderful, and every bit as perfect as described on their website, and trip advisor reviews. We selected this place carefully, as this was the place we were to spend the second half of our honeymoon, and we couldn't have been more delighted. Immaculate, peaceful and beautiful, the rooms were very well appointed with homely furniture, and THE most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. We had the oversized loft, which was laid out over 2 floors, with two balcony/terraces that looked over the peaceful Grand Case bay.

The 'wecome' pack we were greeted with as we arrived at 10:30pm included a freshly baked french baguette, and jam, which we were really grateful for the next morning before we had a chance to go out in search of breakfast.

All the staff here were exceptionally good, and a welcome relief from the slightly cold, fake, over-the-top customer service that we'd received in Key West for the first part of our trip. They were genuinely interested in our trip, gave warm congratulations on our recent wedding, and sent a complimentary bottle of champagne to our room to celebrate.

We did rent a car while we were here, which is pretty vital if you are an explorer and want to get around. There are plenty of beaches nearby, or you can head over the slightly busier and noisier 'Dutch side' if you want to spend the evening in a lively bar, or to watch the jets come in at Maho Beach (you MUST see this!).

There are many high quality restaurants within walking distance, on Grand Case bay - you could eat at a different one every night of your trip and not be anything less than delighted with your choices. However, in May, we found some of them to be closed as it's low season and fairly quiet in the evenings. Still plenty to choose from though.

Thank you so much for helping to make our trip so special! :)

Darren & Sam x

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We chose this spot based on all the wonderful reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed. We had not been to St. Maarten in about 34 years and were so happy we chose the French side. We honeymooned on the Dutch side and were so disappointed when we saw how commercial it had become.
The French side is much more rustic and no large high rise hotels, beaches are great.
The hotel was perfect in every way, and yes the views are amazing, definitely one of the highlights of the trip was sitiing, any time of day on our balcony and taking in the view.
Rooms are beutiful, comfortable, loved the small kitchen, and bathrooms are great.
We loved making coffee every morning and having breakfast on the patio, we even picked up goodies and enjoyed a lovely dinner on the terrace a few evenings along with a great bottle of wine.
Location is great, within a short walk to all the restaurants.
Lovely pool area with charming swim up bar, never have to worry about reserving a char, not that kind of place!
We enjoyed using the sister hotel Le Petite, and used their beach many times, After checking out all beacheds n the area, we loved the small beach there , almost always quiet , and at times was the only one in the water!
Staff was very helpful and informative, always there to answer a question or give directions.
We rented a car through the hotel and it was stress free, included transfers to and from hotel.
We recommend renting a car to check out all the interesting spots on the island.
Would not hesitate to come back to this wonderful boutique hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esplanade

Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade
l Esplanade Hotel
Address: On the Hill of Grand Case, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid lush tropical gardens, affording its visitors privacy without sacrificing its panoramic ocean views. Spacious interiors blend harmoniously with the Mediterranean architecture. Magical sunsets come to you on your private terrace to touch your soul. A delightful footpath leads you on a journey of discovery. We invite you to find your own rhythm, knowing that our staff is there to ensure that your every day is a perfect day, knowing that your comfort is our excellence and with us, you are home. For those who appreciate privacy, enjoy an uncrowded atmosphere, gracious hospitality and seek relaxation in exclusive, blissful surroundings... welcome to Hotel L'Esplanade. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel L'Esplanade to your Saves list