We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talk of the Town

Talk of the Town
Boulevard de Grand Case, Grand Case, St Maarten-St Martin
590/590-29-63-89
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 57 Restaurants in Grand Case
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“On the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excellent BBQ right on the beach! Such an amazing value we had ribs, 2 crab backs, fries, corn and rice for $27!
The service was amazing, we really enjoyed our lolos stop!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    106
    39
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washougal, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“cheap and filling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

For the price, you cant go wrong. much better than fast food and a great casual dining experience. johnny cakes are great!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good local creole food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very good, well priced local creole and BBQ. Definitely worth giving a try if you are in Grand Case and looking for something more local and cheaper than the french cuisine in the area (which is very good as well!). Very nice view as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice and simple meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We ordered conch and bbq ribs, and they both were really tasty
Price is cheap and the staff friendly

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly, fun and the best Painkiller ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having been to St. Martin a few times, I can say that the food in Grand Case is some of the best food in the world. The restaurants are fantastic. Sometimes, you just want "regular" food. Not so fussy, or perhaps you need to give the wallet a rest after night after night of $$$ fare.
Talk of the Town is simply wonderful.

A group of us walked up to this beachside lolo and we were immediately greeted by Ann, who is one of the excellent cooks there. The atmosphere is very casual, with wooden tables and benches. Food is cooked on open grills near the diners. We started with drinks, and soon found out that Talk of the Town has the best Painkiller ever! (Order one - you'll agree). We all ordered a variety of foods - ribs, fish and chicken, with wonderful fried plaintains on the side.

This isn't the place to go if you are in a hurry. Some say the service is slow. I say that the service is relaxed. Take your time. Drink your painkiller. Enjoy the evening breezes. Chat with people. Whatever you do, don't miss this St. Martin gem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talk of the Town also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Talk of the Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talk of the Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.