We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistrot Caraibes

Bistrot Caraibes
81,boulevard de Grand Case, Grand Case, St Maarten-St Martin
590 29 08 29
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 58 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have been visiting St. Martin for almost 10 years and I am so sorry that I've only just tried Bistrot Caraibes. What a wonderful restaurant. Great service and beautiful ambience. The staff are friendly and efficient. And clearly those in the kitchen know what they're doing--every dish was excellent. I'm a very critical diner and at one time I reviewed restaurants for a living, but I found nothing to complain about and everything to praise. I know there are many restaurants in Grand Case, and most are fine, but none is up to the standard set by BC. C'est tres bien!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,057
    165
    60
    19
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best in Grand Case”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

For the past 15 years or so whenever we have visited St. Martin we always have had dinner at Bistrot Caraibes. Many times, we have dinner at Bistrot Caraibes twice during our stay. After our first dinner, we already know what we will order the next time! There are so many good choices! We are very familiar with most of the fine restaurants in Grand Case and Bistrot Caraibes is, by far, THE BEST in Grand Case. The appetizers, dinners and deserts are all superb; their house-made smoked salmon is magnificent. The wine list is also very fine with many choices at reasonable prices. And the service is utterly charming!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Scrumptious Food, Birthday Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a great place! I drove over to Grand Case one morning to explore and take pictures while my wife lazed in the sun on Orient Beach. They weren't open yet but their menus were out and everything looked good. Drove back that night. (Hint: the streets of Grand Case are about as wide as your driveway and as level as your washboard abs.) We were welcomed in -- a classy but friendly and casual place. Thibeault, one of the owners (two brothers) was there. When I asked, he suggested a great wine to complement the grilled swordfish I ordered and my wife's rack of lamb. The food was delicious. The staff was attentive, low-key, and good-humored (we laughed a lot with them). For dessert I requested a "hot chocolate cake with hazelnut ice cream and coffee sauce" -- a cupcake-sized lava cake. To my surprise it came with an extra -- a sparkling piece of fireworks on top! It was my birthday! (Now how did they know that?) And afterward it was all topped off with a complimentary sip of their "homemade, blended, marinated, and bottled rum." Confession: they left the bottle on the table. I had more than one! Such a great meal, such a great night. Looking forward to going back -- surprise fireworks or not!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, Ca
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

It's a typical French restaurant with island influence. First time we were offered a house cocktail outside of France. The appetizers and main courses were excellent. There's a pool outside the restaurant for choosing your lobster if that's what you are having. Wine list is small but very very good with of course mainly French wines. We'd definitely go back if we ever return to the island.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“1st trip to St-Martin, 1st trip to Bistrot Caraibes - Absolutely Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent all day at the Grande Case Beach, waiting for the last Carnival street party and we overheard a lady making a recommendation for the Bistrot Caraibes restaurant. After looking at a bunch of menus, we decided on the Bistrot Caraibes for dinner. We were a little under dressed, but the staff didn't mind and we had a fantastic dinner and outstanding service. We started out with an escargot in creamy mushroom sauce appetizer - to die for, accompanied by 2 glasses of white wine and their house champagne (we were thirsty!). For the main dishes my wife had the beef tenderloin which was cooked to perfection; I had the Veal scallopini which was fantastic. We were too full for dessert, but as a finale, we got served 2 small glasses of a liquor similar to rum jumbie, which was excellent. Highly, highly recommend this place. We will be back!!! Gabe and Eileen, San Diego, California.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Caraibes also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Bistrot Caraibes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistrot Caraibes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.