We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely excellent food unforgettable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistrot Caraibes

Bistrot Caraibes
81,boulevard de Grand Case, Grand Case, St Maarten-St Martin
590 29 08 29
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 57 Restaurants in Grand Case
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
1 review
“Absolutely excellent food unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I came to st maarten on our honeymoon January 2013. After reading numerous reviews and being referred to specifically by our vacation rental agent, we decided to go here for a nice dinner out. Every expectation I had was exceeded. Lobsters live hand picked in front of you, (with your choice of which one) were the best I have ever tasted. My wife had the salmon dish which was excellent as well. Wine list , dessert , and everything else was perfect. A little pricey but WELL WELL worth it!!!!! A meal I will never forget

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    127
    47
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nokesville, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“OMG! Best food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We loved the food and service here. Highly recommend their Home brew rum and Ginger. My husband and I are going back for another meal before we leave.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An Annual Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I recently spent the Christmas Holidays in St. Maarten with friends who visit the island every year. They insisted we visit the Bistrot for the Lobster Therimidor, among other wonderful dishes. One of the best restaurants in the "Culinary Capitol" of the Caribbean.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The place is not bad but the food was pretty average to be honest. Service was average but not bad. Prices were standard for the high end restaurants in the area. There is a live lobster pool in the front of the restaurant that we sat next to. I thought it would be ok but it was honestly just sad to see the lobsters fight because of the cramped quarters and pile into corners when passerby tourists scared them by sticking their fingers into the water. We were all set after the mains and left to have dessert elsewhere. Just our experience but I'd take La Villa or L'Auberge over this restaurant any

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meal we had in St. Martin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Went there Dec 23rd, the night we got in. Food and service were excellent, ambiance just as good. Best meal we had in St. Martin. I recommend making a reservation ahead of time if you going doing a busy season.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Caraibes also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Bistrot Caraibes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistrot Caraibes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.