We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't meet expectations or price point” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bistrot Caraibes

Bistrot Caraibes
81,boulevard de Grand Case, Grand Case, St Maarten-St Martin
590 29 08 29
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 58 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Doesn't meet expectations or price point”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

From the street this place really draws you in. It has the cute lobster tank and the menu has some great looking options. Our dining experience; however, just wasn't that good. There were 3 of us, and we tried the Snapper, the Sea-bass, and the Lamb. The snapper and the sea-bass came in the same sauce, and both were accompanied by a little bowl of some bland rice with carrots and peas in it. Both fish were decent, but the uninspiring sauce on both of them and the identical sides cheapened the meal. I would also say that while I'm not usually a person to complain about service, I did note that the service here was cold. I would suggest any other Grand Case restaurant that I have reviewed over this one. When you're spending this much on dinner, you expect more from this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,056
    165
    60
    19
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wonderful french fare in St. Martin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I visited this restaurant on a rainy evening in St. Martin. It was one of the few restaurants open on Sunday night and during low season. We were greeted warmly and sat immediately. The menu was traditional french - it was difficult to decide because everything looked delicious. We started with an escargot and mushroom appetizer special - the sauce was too delicious not to sop up with baguette. For our main meals, I had the bouillabaisse, while my husband hand-picked his Caribbean lobster to be grilled. Our entrees were perfectly cooked, seasoned well and just-right portion-wise. The atmosphere was nice, lots of smiling faces, tourists and regulars. For dessert, we shared the profiteroles with coffee and tea - the best we've ever had. The staff was wonderful - very attentive and informative throughout our meal. It made a dreary rainy night very enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Top Resturant... in Top Resturant Area... in All of Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The restaurants in Grand Case are worth the trip to Saint Martin, by themselves! We ate at several, including several great Lolos. Our favorite of them all was Bistrot Caraibes! We ate there 3 out of 7 nights! We had asked our hotel staff where the best restaurant in Grand Case was for lobster. They immediately said Bistrot Caraibes! We also saw Bistrot Caraibes was the top rated restaurant on Saint Martin according to Trip Advisor. They were all exactly right! The escargot, grilled lobster (that you hand pick from their store front fountain), French Sea Bass, French bread, and everything we tried were "world class"! The desserts were incredible! Their house-made ginger infused rum is a "must try"! You will want to carry a bottle home! The service was the very best we found! It was truly one of the highlights of our trip! Brothers (and French chefs) Amaury & Thibault Meziere are not only are the proprietors, but they wait on every table! They make this extraordinary culinary experience a lot of fun. You feel right at home the moment you walk in. The decor and atmosphere were superb! This was our first trip to Saint Martin, but we can't wait to go back! Bistrot Caraibes will be our first stop for dinner! You have to try this place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great way to celebrate our wedding anniversary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I visited St. Martin to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and have been making the rounds of the restaurants in Grand Case. Bistrot Caraibes is our favorite so far! The brother Thibauld and Amauray are incredibly cordial, friendly, and superb hosts, and the food was fantastic; we both had the fresh-caught sea bass with a leek puree and tomato confit, and it was wonderful. Save room for desert: the profiteroles are home-made and delightful. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lobster, Mussels, & Onion Soup I'm in heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our group had the pleasure of enjoying Bistrot Caraibes twice last week. On both occasions the food was absolutely amazing. In addition the service was simply magnificent. We enjoyed escargot, rack of lamb, grilled lobster, lobster thermidor, steamed mussels, french onion soup, and the caesar salad. All were fantastic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Caraibes also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Bistrot Caraibes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistrot Caraibes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.