We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Case Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Case Beach Club to your Saves list
Grand Case Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed with courteous staff, incredible views & a complimentary bottle of wine. The rooms are clean & spacious, the beach is perfect & any cuisine you'd want is either on the premises at the Sunset Cafe or a short, safe walk down the road. I cannot wait til we visit again. Amazing place!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    358
    66
    25
    19
See reviews for
225
760
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My husband and I just got back from a 10 night stay at GCBC. We read the amazing reviews about the hotel and decided to stay here - and they were all correct! We had the best time.

Saint Maarten is a gorgeous Island. We rented a car from Kenny's- I highly recommend renting a car (and Kenny was amazing - great car and great prices.) Saint maarten is a small island and very easy to figure out how to drive around - if we wouldn't have a car our vacation would have been much more expensive and probably more boring.

The hotel is really nice. They have an exclusive beach right next to Creole Rock - the snorkeling is amazing. There were always beach chairs available. The hotel has free kayaking, paddle boarding, snorkeling, and sailing. The beach towel situation was a little annoying (you have to pay to get more then one per person, and some days we had to wait for towels to be ready) but besides for that it was really nice. We went around the island to different beaches (Orient Bay, cupecoy, Sunset, Pinel Island) and we enjoyed the one by the hotel the most.

Every room in GCBC has a really nice kitchen that comes in handy for us Kosher eaters. We brought some cold cuts and cheese and pasta from home but we were able to find plenty of Kosher food products in Le Grand Marche. We brought some disposable pots and it worked out really well. We also were able to enjoy the free breakfast the hotel gives.

The bed is really comfortable and we had a gorgeous ocean front room.

I would highly recommend this hotel. It is on the french side near a lot of cool places.
We went to Anguilla for a day by the public boat ride in Marigot - highly recommended as well. If you have time to go to St Barts as well, then go.

Room Tip: I recommend getting a room on the second or third floor because the rooms on the first floor have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Our first trip back since 2011 and we didn't think Grand Case could be better than excellent but it continues to excel! First many of the rooms have been upgraded and are simply lovely to stay in...who would ever pay more to stay in a hotel room? And the service...awesome that the GM and his wife are still there keeping standards so high, and the staff are like family. Lynn who is still there as the executive always with a smile and fixing any issues, with Ruth (a favorite of mine) still there Christine, Jeanna (forgive the spelling), housekeeping, security...amazing staff amazing service. I could go on but it’s the staff that makes the stay as enjoyable as it was. The restaurant on premises is great...kudos to Sabrina and Lolo who are very friendly and the young lady that works at the sports desk who works tirelessly every morning to put the lounge chairs out was very helpful with directions. And the view!!!! To awake and go to sleep with the breeze, view of the water and sounds.....incredible. BTW Very secure location on the French side with lots of great restaurants. We hit the Dutch side every day for trips...and the number of additional restaurants that have opened serving Thai, Indian etc....tough for your diet.

All in all a wonderful trip made memorable with a fantastic stay with our family at the Grand Case.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view...worth the addl cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans-LA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Just returned from 5 days at GCBC and enjoyed every minute. The staff was courteous and accommodating. The property, although a bit dated was well maintained and provided everything we needed. Lots of parking available and a beautiful beach. Food at the Sunset Café was great and servers were warm and friendly. Just a short walk into town and more wonderful restaurants. We had a rental car and it was very easy to get around the island from this location. We would stay again. Thank you to all the staff at the hotel. Room 812 was great.

Room Tip: Spacious rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed at GCBC for 4 nights in August 2014.
While a little hard to locate (signs tend to point you in the direction, and then disappear), we ended up having a great stay and would recommend this hotel to others.
The reception area is underwhelming to say the least, but the room was modern, and spotless. Comfortable, cool, great bed and showers.
The beaches were pristine. The available activities convenient (snorkel, paddle boards, excursions), and the onsite restaurant better than average.
It is a friendly, unrushed and fairly quiet place...which is exactly what we wanted.
That fact that it was on the beach, and not halfway up a mountain (ie L'Esplanade nearby) made a huge difference in our picking GDBC and our enjoyment of the property.
Most nights we just walked the 5 min to town and ate at the great restaurants there.

It's not an all inclusive family-style resort a-la Sandals\Atlantis\ClubMed, but it is a perfectly lovely hotel on a quiet beach on a beautiful island.

Room Tip: Rm 120, faced the ocean, had full kitchen, king bed lower and full bed in loft. 2 full baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

After a pretty horrifying experience on the other side of the island, our stay at GCBC was pretty amazing. The property is secluded, peaceful, and beautifully maintained. A few thoughts:

BEACH: The beach is impeccably maintained and has plenty of chairs and umbrellas. We did not try out the "raise your flag for service" offering, but those around us who did seemed pretty pleased. The staff of the amenities desk handles beachfront service, and they're all very friendly people whose English is a lot better than my French. Water toys of various sorts (rafts, kayaks, Hobie cat, etc.) are included in the cost of your stay. The beach is technically public, but free access to chairs and umbrellas is limited to hotel guests. Members of the public can use chairs for a fee. All of the public beachgoers we saw kept to the other side of the beach and didn't bother anybody. There was some topless sunbathing on that side, and I noted one topless sunbather among the hotel guest section. Nobody cared, but I figured it was worth mentioning in case anyone has concerns about that.

RESTAURANT: The Sunset Cafe is on-premises but is separately managed. As such, you open a tab at the restaurant on your first day and close it on the last. Piece of cake. Every table looks out over the beach and/or the water, with absolutely spectacular views. The specials included tuna carpaccio both times we ate lunch there, and I ordered it both times. It was astonishingly good. I have to stop writing about it because it is making me hungry.

NEARBY DINING: Of course, there are a zillion amazing restaurants just a two-minute walk away in the heart of Grand Case. A few that we tried included Le Cottage (amazing), Tastevin (amazing), L'Auberge Gourmande (amazing), and Le Shambala (amazing). Dinner with wine and dessert at each of those four ran about $200-250 and was worth every penny. We ate dinner at Per Se a week before we went to St Martin, and agreed that the food in Grand Case rivaled it (some exceeded it. Walking back at night, the hotel has a security guard in the road outside the gate. We never felt uncomfortable walking anywhere in Grand Case, but the guard's presence was a nice touch.

ROOM: We had an oceanfront studio on the second floor of building 2 (just to the west of the little peninsular section that houses the Sunset Cafe). Our view of the ocean and of the ocean side of the restaurants in the heart of Grand Case was spectacular both day and night. The ocean in front of our building did not have a deep beach - it was primarily a roped-off swimming area with a small beach at the foot of the steps. It was absolutely beautiful and very peaceful.

AMENITIES: We made use of the floats and tried a tandem kayak, but a back injury sustained at a previous hotel on the Dutch side made kayaking all but impossible, unfortunately. It was too windy to try the Hobie cat, but its availability is a neat amenity. Snorkeling gear is also included. I think you have to buy your own $5 mouthpiece. We also booked a boat rental through the amenities desk. Boat rental is provided through a marina at nearby Anse Marcel (about a 10-minute drive, and a beautiful, mountainous drive at that). We rented the Ti Cano, from a gentleman named Arnaud. The total cost, with fuel, for a full day of boating was about $300. The boat in question wouldn't be terribly comfortable for a large group, but was perfect for two people and enabled us to explore Tintamarre and Pinel and to see parts of St Martin we otherwise never could have seen. It's a great excursion. We are avid boaters, but would advise those who aren't to consider a guided or captained boat tour, or at least to avoid the eastern side of Tintamarre and the eastern side of St Martin south of Pinel on days with high seas. We encountered waves at the northeastern point of Tintamarre that were about 8-9 feet.

We will undoubtedly return to GCBC. You should too.

Room Tip: We stayed in a second-floor room in the building with room numbers starting with 2. Views were exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Ten years ago, my girlfriend and I visited GCBC and absolutely loved it (see previous review). It was perfect for what we were looking for at the time as a young couple. Ever since, we've looked forward to returning. This year, now married, we returned with our three and a half year old daughter. This time, it was perfect for what we needed as a family.

Prior to our arrival we had a slight mix-up with the office over our booking. After sending a couple of emails to sort it out, we were pleasantly surprised that our room was more than perfect on our arrival. We had a recently renovated one bedroom junior suite with a great little kitchen. The new furnishings are very well done and tasteful. The rooms opened right onto the water. We could sit on our patio and eat our breakfast, and climb down onto La Petite Plage. It's the quieter beach under the rooms.

There is also the more traditional beach on the other side of the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed both beaches. There are free non-motorized water sports, beach chairs and umbrellas, waiter service, and all the other amenities you'd expect at a high end beach resort. The water itself is amazing, as Grand Case is in a little inlet, and there are no waves. It's like an enormous bathtub with warm, salty blue water. The only difference is fish swim right through your feet and you can snorkel right off the edge of the resort (equipment provided by the water sports desk).

The great thing to us about this amazing property and how well cared for it is and how low key everyone is. It's unassuming and casual luxury at its best. Whatever you need, it's there or the staff will help you find it, but don't expect people falling over themselves to kiss your butt. If you need that, don't come here. But if you want to just relax and be left alone, this is the place. The front desk even arranged for one of the wonderful staff members to babysit for our daughter one night.

It's all walking distance from Grand Case and the dozens of great restaurants. You can also take a short drive to Orient Bay or the other direction into Marigot. But especially with our daughter, we hardly left the hotel for more than a meal. All she wanted was to play on what she kept call "the perfect beach." She is is just three and a half and hasn't seen many beaches, but she may be right. We can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
5.8 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.0 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
#4 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 5 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,344 reviews
6.8 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
4.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
4.6 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and relaxing, small but large enough to have just the right amount of service that brings back our guests year after year. We are constantly improving and have updated and upgraded nearly every aspect of our resort, and will continue to do so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Case Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.