We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Case Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Grand Case Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Case Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5th Night Free is Back!
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Grand Case
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

For you Parrot Heads, Jimmy Buffett said it all:

"I know I don't get there often enough
But God knows I surely try
It's a magic kind of medicine
That no doctor could prescribe"

Great staff, great rooms and what a location! Walk to the best restaurants on the island. Beautiful beach and great view. If you are a scuba diver, walk down the beach 100 yards to Octopus Diving, best dive operation on the island.

The GCBC is a privately owned condo complex. Not time shares, you can buy one if you want. All units have full size refrigerators, stoves, microwaves, etc. Stock up and relax. This is not a five-star resort with room service and five restaurants. It is a very quiet complex and a great place to unwind. We've spent months at the property over the last 12+ years.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    685
    296
    59
    21
    19
See reviews for
181
583
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you want to have a truly relaxing and wonderful time, visit the Grand Case Beach Club in Grqand Case St. Martin. The resort is lovely; clean ,hospitable , friendly, accomodating and beautiful. What a beach!!! Do you need some RnR?This is the place. The peopkle couldn't have been better and the food, OO, La La!! Short trip will take you into the center of town where you can enjoy 5 star French lunch or dinners. Everyone is so friendly and the rooms are newly decorated, amazingly well maintained and many have the most gorgeous ocean views. Do your self a favor and book NOW!

Room Tip: Rooms over looking rthe water are spectacular. Sunsets are to die for. Each room has a kitchenette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Took a while to write this review, but we vacationed here in January 2013. My husband and I took our two grown children on a vacation and got a 2 bedroom overlooking the beach. We also had my husband's parents join us on this trip, and they had a studio on the beach. We all loved our trip so much, we have made reservations for January 2014 and my brother-in-law and his wife will also be joining us this year! This is the perfect place for a true, relaxing Carribean vacation!
Our two bedroom Oceanside condo was beautiful. We had private second floor balcony with an amazing view of the bay. You walk out of the 1st floor living room onto a private walk with lounge chairs to sit and enjoy your morning coffee or an evening glass of wine.
The location is perfect. You are on a private point with two small beaches. The restaurant at GCBC is one of the best on the island. Loved going there for our complementary breakfast of wonderful pastries and coffee. We also had a great dinner one night. The staff at the restaurant made it even better - we had so much fun with all of them, I wish I could remember the names of a couple of the waitresses to give them a special thank you in this review, but I hope we will see them again this January.
Location of GCBC is perfect. You can easity walk to a market to stock your well-appointed kitchen. But we really loved being able to walk to all of the great restaurants in town. We tried a different one each night during the week, and loved them all. Some reviews have talked about the expense of St Martin, but compared to some of the other Carribean islands we have been to, we actually found these restaurants quite reasonable (Grand Cayman, Turks and Caicos and Aruba are what we have to compare with). You can get a great bottle of wine with your dinner for much less than what we have seen in other locations.
First time we will do a repeat to a location - we like to try new places, but we enjoyed GCBC and St Martin so much, we had to go back! Perfect location if you like a relaxing time that includes beautiful views and great food!
If you want a really great day trip, try Random Wind for a real sailing trip that includes some time to snorkel and a great lunch included. Diane is the perfect host making the day great fun. You must try the Tarzan Swing, too!
We missed the Les Mardis de Grand Case (aka Harmony Night) which is a street fair where locals sell food and art/crafts. Occurs every Tuesday night (6:00 pm to 10:30 pm). We made sure our week will allow us to go this year! Looks like fun.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room. Soooo worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

The grande case beach club is a cozy retreat. Have spent at least three times there over the past few years and always had a great time. Lovely accommodations, friendly staff. The restaurant on the premises is excellent, be it breakfast or wonderful dinner (great mussels!). It's also near all the great Grand Case restaurants - Spiga being one of them. The outdoor grills known as the Lola's, have home cooked delicious ribs and within walking distance. On Tuesday nights there is a street fair.m you will love this place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We just spent 8 wonderful days in St Martin and I would highly recommend the Grand Case Beach Club. The location is perfect for walking to 'restaurant row' in the evening and the beach club itself if beautiful. The beach is small but very private and everything is there from a restaurant to water activities. We saw many of the big name resort properties and would easily chose the beach club over the big name resorts.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden view room but if you have the money to spend on an ocean view room we'd re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a nice quiet hotel on the beach , We have gone for years with our kids since they were toddlers and we love it. There are two beaches and a pool. A restaurant on the property which is convent for breakfast. Walking distance to the great restaurants and shops in Grand Case.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front sometimes the garden view can have more mosquito's during parts of the year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at GCBC the week of Oct 6-13 2013. This was our third stay there in the last 8 years. The same high quality that brought us back the second time, made it a no-brainer to come back there yet again for a quiet week in the sun.

For the first time, we stayed at an oceanside loft, and were very glad we did. The view from the room over the bay is extraordinary, especially the second floor balcony off of the bedroom. The room itself was very clean, as is usual there. The oceanfront rooms have there own lounge chairs on the grassy walk above the water. We used the kitchen a couple of times to cook meals. The kitchen is well appointed, though if you need a specific kitchen appliance or tool, just make sure they have it before you go to the supermarché. Closest market is the Simply Market located on the main road near L'Esperence aeroport road - 5 min. from the hotel and a well stocked, modern market.

The Sunset Café was, once again, a very good option for breakfast and lunch. Unfortunately, our stay was during the last week of the low season, and the Sunset Café was not open for dinner. It should be open as of Oct 14. Say hi to Philippe and crew. They are very friendly, as are all the other staff. (Everyone at the hotel appears to be bilingual - French and English, so go ahead and practice your Française!)

Near half of the superb restaurants in Grand Case were also in the process of opening up after the low season, but we still found a couple of excellent ones. Try Piazza Pascal and Le Tastevin. Both served excellent dinner menus. (We have never had a bad meal in the restaurants along the main drag in Grand Case.)

Security at GCBC is very good as usual. A roving guard 24h a day and heavy controlled-access gates. I even caught the guard watching the gate as we drove in and out to make sure no one else entered. Very attentive. That said, we never felt unsafe takng an evening walk through Grand Case itself. Lots of kids and tourists around.

Both sides of the island seem to be going through a flurry of roadworks improvements. The most anticipated is the new bridge from the Airport Rd across the bay to join the road to Marigot just south of the international border. It will shave a good 10-15 minutes off the trip from Princess Juliana Airport to the French side, bypassing the heavy traffic on the Dutch side. It should be open in December. There are also roadworks in Marigot presently that are slowing traffic in the whole area. Try to stick to the road along the water to avoid most of the congestion.

Back at GCBC, the resort remains very quiet. One building remains under renovation, meaning there may be less guests than usual. WiFi is free, but can remain spotty in areas. Try going outside for better reception. It seems that most hotels that we stay at still struggle with this service, something that is absolutely essential for most guests now.

We look forward to the weekly Manager's "mixer" to meet some of our fellow guests from Europe and N. America.

Again, this was an excellent trip to what has become our favourite get-away in the Caribbean.

Room Tip: Pick an Oceanfront room. Well worth the extra cost, with romantic views of sunsets from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Case Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.