We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Quiet beach, friendly staff"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Case Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Grand Case Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Case Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5th Night Free is Back!
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Grand Case
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Quiet beach, friendly staff"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We came here for our honeymoon hoping for some peace and quiet, white sands and blue water. We were not disappointed. GCBC club is located on the less busy French side of SXM. If you're looking for more of a party atmosphere, the Dutch side is more suitable. The hotel is a short walk to many great French and Italian restaurants. While many of the streets are very dark at night, I never felt unsafe. Many of the locals that we encountered were quite friendly and eager to help with directions or suggestions of places to eat or things to do.

We stayed in a spacious one bedroom with a loft. While it was very clean upon our arrival, we did notice tiny spiders on the kitchen counter top from time to time. The cleaning staff was always friendly, however we wish that they had done a more thorough job with our room. They never cleaned the loft portion and our beach towels were not cleaned or replaced.

The room was in an excellent location, we could hear the waves and watch the sunset everyday. We could literally be on the beach in 5 minutes or less. Our honeymoon package included, one day free car rental, complementary bottle of champagne , $30 coupon for the hotel boutique, celebratory cocktail at the Sunset Cafe and a picnic basket.

Carlos at the Sunset Cafe, which is located on the grounds of the GCBC, makes the best Mojitos ever. The whole staff was excellent and very attentive. It's also a great place to just relax with a great view of beach and ocean.

GCBC and the town of Grand Case is a wonderful place to go if you want to get away from the rat race. Tasty drinks and even tastier food!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a beach side room for spectacular sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    633
    284
    57
    21
    18
See reviews for
170
534
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved our recent stay here. The small beach is perfect. Wonderful lounge chairs overlooking the water. Nice, clean rooms. Easy walk into town with the best restaurants on the island!! Staff is very friendly and helpful. We'll definitely be back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from four nights at GCBC where we had a wonderful stay. Our oceanfront studio apartment was very clean and well-provisioned, with a spectacular view over the calm bay from our balcony, and the sea just below. The room was simple, but not basic, with several nice touches (bottle of wine on arrival--we didn't drink it but still; flower cuttings laid out here and there). As others have said the grounds are impressive, and we especially liked the terrace around the rock with secluded loungers and really great views. The beaches were never crowded, and the watersports place loaned snorkeling equipment for free. The pool is small, but still nice after the beach and ocean. Grand Case is also a short car ride to Orient Bay and Friar's Bay.

Local restaurants were one reason we chose Grand Case, and they didn't disappoint. They can be expensive, but not outrageously so considering their quality, and there different places for different budgets. The walk to restaurant row is short, and despite other reviewers' experience we never felt unsafe. We didn't find the area "ghetto." It's not developed like some areas on the Dutch side (thankfully), but everyone we encountered seemed friendly.

If you are intent on the generic resort version of luxury you may be disappointed. GCBC seemed to us to be a beach club functioning very well as a hotel, not a hotel masquerading as a beach club, and was all the better for that. It's a shame if it has to apologize for not being what it doesn't try to be. With all that it offers we'd have to be persuaded very hard to choose anywhere else on our return to St. Martin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Some important info about Saint Martin: the french side is the ghetto, run down side with unsafe neighborhoods, hoodlums running around, graffiti and abandoned buildings. It is far away from all of the entertainment and activities in St. Martin. You will definitely need to rent a car to stay here and the only thing close by besides the ghetto is a few restaurants and the lolos which are local barbecue stands where you can get inexpensive, good food.

This hotel was nice. The staff here were very nice and the beach is ok. We took a ferry to Pinel Island which was close by and that was a really nice beach however, the best beaches are on the dutch side. If you are a man who likes to see boobs, there is Orient Beach which I have termed "booby beach" because no one wears tops there. This beach is on the french side.

As far as the hotel, you can walk to the restaurants from here although it is scary to do so at night. The room we had was a loft which was spacious and clean. If you want a relaxing vacation with not much to do, then this is a good place for you. No complaints about the hotel or there staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

There are more luxurious hotels on St. Martin, but this hotel is the one I'd recommend to my friends and family. We paid a little extra to have an oceanfront room and it was probably the most worthwhile vacation dollars I've ever spent. We had the most up close view of the Caribbean that I've ever had in a hotel (and I've stayed at some really nice hotels). We had a second floor studio in the building right across from the reception office. The ocean was about 15 feet from our balcony! Having a full kitchen in our room was a big plus too -- especially since St. Martin restaurants can be disgustingly expensive. Watch out for steep prices at the hotel's restaurant. The food is very good and non-guests come to the hotel just for the restaurant, but the prices are in euros and they won't do a 1 for 1 dollar to euro exchange like many places on the French side will. There's complimentary breakfast -- but they only give you a couple pieces of bread, a couple croissants, coffee/tea and juice. If you want anything else, you have to order it off the menu and pay those euros -- although the lox platter on the breakfast menu is a good value. The activities desk provides snorkel gear and kayak rentals free to guests -- that was a really nice feature, but we found the staff at the activities desk to be incredibly rude every time we talked to them. That attitude seemed to be limited to the activities staff because everyone else we encountered at the hotel was smiling and helpful. One of the guys on the maintenance staff even went and got a machete to help us husk a couple coconuts we picked up around the island. Another BIG plus to this hotel is that it is a short walk to all the restaurants and shopping at Grand Case. And since parking by the restaurants can be difficult, that was really nice. Overall, we loved this hotel!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for oceanfront. It's DEFINITELY worth it. We traveled in April, just as low s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our first trip to St. Martin and we loved it! The staff was very helpful and so friendly. We definitely want to come back. The views are wonderful and there are so many areas to take advantage of them on the property. The food at the Sunset Cafe was very good and we also enjoyed the food at Spiga, Skys The Limit and Zen It in town. Security guards were always visible and the property is gated, however, we never did feel unsafe there or in the village. We hope to come back next year and will stay at Grand Case Beach Club.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay one week mainly based on the comments on the GCBC om TA, and we were not disappointed. The hotel/resort is located at a privileged location in Grand Case, well away from all the hassle and bustle of other resort town on Sint-Maarten. The hotel itself has some colonial charm, with two lovely beaches right at the hotel, which duri g our stay were never overcrowded. We had a big room, duplex style, with a fully equipped kitchenette (European hotel owners, take note of this), which allowed you to have your own stock of food, beer, wine, bought at the local small Auchan supermarket some minutes away. As others mention, the hotel is some minutes walk from Grand Case with all its restaurants, and we felt safe every minute, day and night, so do not believe too much comments about insecurity on the island, common sense is all you need. We had breakfast at the sunset bar, which is indeed minimalistic (only weak point of the hotel in my opinion) Burt you can top-up and prices are reasonable. We had twice dinner at the Sunset Bar as well, a nd the food is really good, with very competitive prices compared to the more classic restaurants at Grand Case, I can only advice to have dinner there as well, on top of it the setting cannot be beaten. Staff both at the receptions and Sunset Bar is wonderful. We rented a car as well at the hotel, at very competitive prices, and it avoids you the hassle of having to pick it back or return it to some point at the island. All in all, you can trust the reviews mentioned in TA, we are seasoned travelers and would not hesitate to go back to GCBC, for the price it is good value for money, staff and ather residents (mainly US and Canadian, with a a minority European) all seemed relaxed enough to pass a good time and relaxing holiday. Sint-Maarten/Saint-Martin is what it is, pretty unpretentious with just about everything for everybody, regardless of taste and budget, but the sun and good weather is there for everyone.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel
Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Amex, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Case Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.