We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Case Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Case Beach Club to your Saves list
Grand Case Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great beach, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved our recent stay here. The small beach is perfect. Wonderful lounge chairs overlooking the water. Nice, clean rooms. Easy walk into town with the best restaurants on the island!! Staff is very friendly and helpful. We'll definitely be back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    363
    68
    25
    19
See reviews for
236
770
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from four nights at GCBC where we had a wonderful stay. Our oceanfront studio apartment was very clean and well-provisioned, with a spectacular view over the calm bay from our balcony, and the sea just below. The room was simple, but not basic, with several nice touches (bottle of wine on arrival--we didn't drink it but still; flower cuttings laid out here and there). As others have said the grounds are impressive, and we especially liked the terrace around the rock with secluded loungers and really great views. The beaches were never crowded, and the watersports place loaned snorkeling equipment for free. The pool is small, but still nice after the beach and ocean. Grand Case is also a short car ride to Orient Bay and Friar's Bay.

Local restaurants were one reason we chose Grand Case, and they didn't disappoint. They can be expensive, but not outrageously so considering their quality, and there different places for different budgets. The walk to restaurant row is short, and despite other reviewers' experience we never felt unsafe. We didn't find the area "ghetto." It's not developed like some areas on the Dutch side (thankfully), but everyone we encountered seemed friendly.

If you are intent on the generic resort version of luxury you may be disappointed. GCBC seemed to us to be a beach club functioning very well as a hotel, not a hotel masquerading as a beach club, and was all the better for that. It's a shame if it has to apologize for not being what it doesn't try to be. With all that it offers we'd have to be persuaded very hard to choose anywhere else on our return to St. Martin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Some important info about Saint Martin: the french side is the ghetto, run down side with unsafe neighborhoods, hoodlums running around, graffiti and abandoned buildings. It is far away from all of the entertainment and activities in St. Martin. You will definitely need to rent a car to stay here and the only thing close by besides the ghetto is a few restaurants and the lolos which are local barbecue stands where you can get inexpensive, good food.

This hotel was nice. The staff here were very nice and the beach is ok. We took a ferry to Pinel Island which was close by and that was a really nice beach however, the best beaches are on the dutch side. If you are a man who likes to see boobs, there is Orient Beach which I have termed "booby beach" because no one wears tops there. This beach is on the french side.

As far as the hotel, you can walk to the restaurants from here although it is scary to do so at night. The room we had was a loft which was spacious and clean. If you want a relaxing vacation with not much to do, then this is a good place for you. No complaints about the hotel or there staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

There are more luxurious hotels on St. Martin, but this hotel is the one I'd recommend to my friends and family. We paid a little extra to have an oceanfront room and it was probably the most worthwhile vacation dollars I've ever spent. We had the most up close view of the Caribbean that I've ever had in a hotel (and I've stayed at some really nice hotels). We had a second floor studio in the building right across from the reception office. The ocean was about 15 feet from our balcony! Having a full kitchen in our room was a big plus too -- especially since St. Martin restaurants can be disgustingly expensive. Watch out for steep prices at the hotel's restaurant. The food is very good and non-guests come to the hotel just for the restaurant, but the prices are in euros and they won't do a 1 for 1 dollar to euro exchange like many places on the French side will. There's complimentary breakfast -- but they only give you a couple pieces of bread, a couple croissants, coffee/tea and juice. If you want anything else, you have to order it off the menu and pay those euros -- although the lox platter on the breakfast menu is a good value. The activities desk provides snorkel gear and kayak rentals free to guests -- that was a really nice feature, but we found the staff at the activities desk to be incredibly rude every time we talked to them. That attitude seemed to be limited to the activities staff because everyone else we encountered at the hotel was smiling and helpful. One of the guys on the maintenance staff even went and got a machete to help us husk a couple coconuts we picked up around the island. Another BIG plus to this hotel is that it is a short walk to all the restaurants and shopping at Grand Case. And since parking by the restaurants can be difficult, that was really nice. Overall, we loved this hotel!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for oceanfront. It's DEFINITELY worth it. We traveled in April, just as low s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our first trip to St. Martin and we loved it! The staff was very helpful and so friendly. We definitely want to come back. The views are wonderful and there are so many areas to take advantage of them on the property. The food at the Sunset Cafe was very good and we also enjoyed the food at Spiga, Skys The Limit and Zen It in town. Security guards were always visible and the property is gated, however, we never did feel unsafe there or in the village. We hope to come back next year and will stay at Grand Case Beach Club.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay one week mainly based on the comments on the GCBC om TA, and we were not disappointed. The hotel/resort is located at a privileged location in Grand Case, well away from all the hassle and bustle of other resort town on Sint-Maarten. The hotel itself has some colonial charm, with two lovely beaches right at the hotel, which duri g our stay were never overcrowded. We had a big room, duplex style, with a fully equipped kitchenette (European hotel owners, take note of this), which allowed you to have your own stock of food, beer, wine, bought at the local small Auchan supermarket some minutes away. As others mention, the hotel is some minutes walk from Grand Case with all its restaurants, and we felt safe every minute, day and night, so do not believe too much comments about insecurity on the island, common sense is all you need. We had breakfast at the sunset bar, which is indeed minimalistic (only weak point of the hotel in my opinion) Burt you can top-up and prices are reasonable. We had twice dinner at the Sunset Bar as well, a nd the food is really good, with very competitive prices compared to the more classic restaurants at Grand Case, I can only advice to have dinner there as well, on top of it the setting cannot be beaten. Staff both at the receptions and Sunset Bar is wonderful. We rented a car as well at the hotel, at very competitive prices, and it avoids you the hassle of having to pick it back or return it to some point at the island. All in all, you can trust the reviews mentioned in TA, we are seasoned travelers and would not hesitate to go back to GCBC, for the price it is good value for money, staff and ather residents (mainly US and Canadian, with a a minority European) all seemed relaxed enough to pass a good time and relaxing holiday. Sint-Maarten/Saint-Martin is what it is, pretty unpretentious with just about everything for everybody, regardless of taste and budget, but the sun and good weather is there for everyone.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our second visit to St. Maarteen/Martin but our first time at this resort. We fell in love with the town, Grand Case, on our first visit and knew we had to stay there the next time. The resort is off-the-beaten path in a gated area but within walking distance of the center of town. The staff was very helpful and the resort well maintained. The beach was beautiful and the sunset is to diel for!!! My only suggestion would be that the resort has a recreation/ club room with maybe a pool table, tv, video machines, or some live entertainment. Besides water sports, there is nothing to do at the resort. Had a great time!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
5.8 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.0 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
#4 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 5 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
6.3 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
4.6 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and relaxing, small but large enough to have just the right amount of service that brings back our guests year after year. We are constantly improving and have updated and upgraded nearly every aspect of our resort, and will continue to do so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Case Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.