We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Case Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Grand Case Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Case Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5th Night Free is Back!
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Grand Case
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Quiet Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I went to Grand Case Beach Club for our 50th wedding anniversary at the recommendation of our travel agent. She thought we would love it. We had requested a room with a balcony, but we got a first floor patio room. This turned out to be o.k. The rooms were very nice and the staff did a great job of cleaning each day. We did have trouble with the toilet and had to call maintenance twice during the week we were there. Another thing we did not like was having to call the office to replenish a drink or a candy bar every time we took one.

We felt that the staff at the office were very friendly, nice, and helpful. My husband got sick while we were there and had to see a doctor. The young lady in the office called a cab for us and recommended a doctor.

We did use a cab for shopping and sightseeing -- 3 hours will cost you $90.

We felt that the resort was too secluded, especially since there was no shuttle into town. It is kind of hard for people in their 70s to walk the distance into town when there are no sidewalks. We had to ask the office to call a cab each time we wanted to go somewhere which was a pain.

We also would have liked more than one restaurant. The food was o.k., but not outstanding.

If you want to lay on the beach and relax or snorkel, this is the place for you. We are not interested in going here again.

Room Tip: A better view with a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    672
    293
    58
    21
    18
See reviews for
177
574
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
No. Va.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Grand Case Beach Club is a wonderful place to unwind with lovely accommodations and a gorgeous setting on the beach on St. Martin, though outwardly it appears to be very unpretentious. We were upgraded to a 3 bedroom, 2-bathroom condo (!) which we didn't require but it was a very nice space with a large, long balcony overlooking very nice landscaping and the beautiful beach. Staff was businesslike and professional in the reception area and efficiently made dinner reservations for us in Grand Case a few nights. The housekeeper assigned to our unit was lovely, friendly and thorough. We spoke with her every day (thank you, Sandra!). The water sports staff were all professional, busy and mostly friendly. Some of the equipment is free of charge, some requires a nominal fee. They can arrange for snorkeling trips, catamaran trips to Anguilla (we saw 6 humpback whales on our way over!), trips to St. Bart's, waterskiing lessons, etc. It was nice to have complimentary continental breakfast (juice, coffee, baguettes, croissants and chocolate croissants) at the Sunset Cafe each morning, overlooking the bay. There is a full breakfast, lunch, dinner and bar menu offered also. There are so many different secluded areas on various levels of the grounds at the Beach Club to sit, relax, and enjoy the scenery. All areas have very comfortable, sturdy outdoor furniture. The pool is small but very nice. There is free use of one tennis court but then there's a $5/day charge for use of the small fitness room. Their policy is to charge an increasing percentage for every extra hour for late checkout also. There is a $4/minute charge for phone calls made from the room back to the States, even if you have purchased an international phone calling card! Those things just make you feel like you're being nickel-and-dimed to death, and they should be a courtesy for guests.
The walk into Grand Case itself takes only about 8 minutes or so. There was never a question of safety on the road (other than cars close to walkers on a 1-lane road!), and it was adequately lighted. The restaurants in Grand Case are plentiful and wonderful - take your pick of many French restaurants or local Lolos, the food is terrific everywhere. People are friendly and speak English as well as French, the dollar and/or Euro is accepted everywhere, though not always at a 1:1 ratio.
We would love to return again and again - this was a perfect spot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington NJ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I knew I was going to have a great vacation before it started. A few days prior to its beginning I received and email from the manager asking about arrival times and if he could make any reservations for dinner. Nice touch!

We were 4 close friends traveling together and booked the 2 bedroom duplex. The unit is large by any standard and includes a kitchen with granite counter tops and all one would need to prepare simple meals. There is a living room and 2 bedrooms, one upper and one lower both with modern ensuite baths.

The upstairs bedroom is huge and includes a sitting area. There are 3 outdoor balconies with the usual tables and chairs.

The grounds are well kept and there are 2 beaches. yes, one does disappear with the tide, but the other is much larger and perfectly suited to sunning and swimming.

There is a "board walk" running around the property which provides lots of covered loungers to relax on.

The resort is "interestingly" placed. It is at the end of "Restaurant Row" which means the nearest restaurant outside of the resort is about a 5 minute walk. The farthest is about a 20 minute walk. I am a walker so I loved being able to dine at different restaurants without the trouble of using a car or taxi.

The walk to "Restaurant Row" can appear a bit seedy, but it is well lit, patrolled by security and at no time did I feel unsafe. Honestly, if I had stayed in a more secluded resort, I would not have enjoyed this trip half as much. There is plenty of local color and just about everyone greats you with a Bon Jour or Hello.

I have no complaints with the staff. Questions were politely answered, sometimes with a bit of whimsy. Our house keeper, Mayra, was exceptional. The rooms were spotless and she is a cheerful ray of sunshine.

The restaurant is not owned by the hotel and I found it to be just average. There are much better places in Grand Case. Do not miss Spiga!

I am not sure why this resort only receives 3 stars. I believe it should really be 4. I would love to return and spend another week in paradise.

Room Tip: We booked 809 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I have travelled the Caribean over the years and fully understand the difference between tourist's expectations and the reality of commercial presentations.

Grande Case Beach offers a simple, quiet, professional, unpretentious accommodation to those willing to accept the realities of a very competative commercial enterprise.

The place is very well maintained. The staff is gracious without being condescending, which is much appreciated by jaded travellers such as we.

We have stayed at this resort five times, and plan to stay five time more.

Room Tip: Relax, and enjoy. All rooms are sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just came back from a weeks stay at the Grand Case Beach Club, this was our second stay in two years and overall I have to say we had an enjoyable time. However, I will say that I did agree with some of the more resent reviews in regards to the staff at the main reception desk. The women working behind the counter almost seem bothered by your presents as if they seem to have far more important things to do. And there is a feeling of nickel and dimming you for the few amenities the club offers, like the fitness room, $5 per use ! Considering your charged 5 star rates for 3.5 star amenities. But that said, the rooms are very well kept, if not Luxurious. The staff, outside the reception, are very pleasant and friendly. The grounds are handsome and very lovely and the views are charming. The hotel is silently secluded from the rest of the town which keeps it quite and security is good.
The other issues I have are outside the control of the Grand Case Beach Club. It's unfortunate, but the French side of St. Martin is becoming more Americanized since the last time we were here. There aren't as many French visitors as before so the restaurants in Grand Case are Americanizing their menus and so they're less authentically French, which is a real shame. And as less French visitors come to the Island and are replaced with Americans, it will lose it 's European flavor, just look at the Dutch side to see what I mean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

GCBC has an ideal location the at the northern end of the legendary Grand Case Restaurant strip. They house on of the best restaurants in the area (Sunset Cafe), which also has possibly THE BEST sunset view on the island. Their private beaches are among the very best beaches on the island. The staff are very friendly, no matter what language you greet them in. After our secon visit, we are planning our third. Tons of great things to do on the island. Rent a car through GCBC, it is about one third as much as renting from the airport options.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The village of Grand Case is an unpaved half mile strip that faces the ocean. The buildings on both sides are colorful carribean colonials in need of paint jobs, and the experience of walking down the street is a little like navigating a red light district. The main strip is a collection of restaurants, t-shirt shops, and island craft boutiques set in Creole cottages that evoke a run-down version of NOLA's Bywater district, while the perpendicular streets jutting out from the main road are like little shanti towns where, driving in past the scowls and destitute poverty, you hope that it doesn't turn into that scene in Gandhi where the natives realize they outnumber their colonial oppressors a thousand fold.

Along the strip is a small pedestrian bridge and the rivulet beneath it is used as the village's semi-regular garbage dump. Charming. Most nights of the week the streets are filled with a hodgepodge of American and European tourists walking past barking, menu-waving maitre'd's. As you browse the restaurant menus you'll see every single place serves their own variation on the exact same meaty quartet - duck confit, chicken breast, flank steak, and roast lamb because, you'll find out, they all use the same single distributor of imported French food. Vegetarians should be prepared for a week of steamed vegetables with butter or brie in philo, though the desserts and booze selection are outstanding. There is a great beach bar in Grand Case and four massive outstanding open-air barbeque joints doing grilled chicken and ribs with decent dry rub.

At the end of this little block you'll find a collection of buildings that calls itself The Grand Case Beach Club. It makes a decent first impression with a massive security gate and a well-maintained, lit tennis court. Once past the gate there's a large parking lot with a collection of three story buildings in front of it. The reception is a tiny room, and the girl at the desk seems annoyed to have to get up to speak to you. You're handed a key and she grunts in the general direction of your room, and it's then you realize there's not that much staff around and you'll be carrying your own massive luggage up those flights of stairs. The room, in our case a Studio with Loft, is clean and charming in a wicker chair, spinning fan, coil stove top sort of way. There is a full kitchen and everything is very clean and very basic, though the linens and towels have seen better days. You can see Anguilla across the bay and the ocean view, cherry-red sunset, and sparkling village at night are all amazing.

Breakfast is at their outdoor cafeteria on a deck -- it's beautifully set on the water but the furniture is cheap and the thick plastic transparent shutters that need to be pulled down when the wind is whipping, coupled with the HoJo's quality bland croissants, coffee, and jam (imported) make you start to regret not listening to the "Average" reviews. The beach is so small it literally comes and goes, and there may be weeks where the tide is so high there is no beach at all, and the pool is unheated. The property is generally pretty tidy and it's clear they spend money on landscaping, but it becomes apparent after a day or two that this place really is on the lower end of three star, and not in an underselling and over-delivering sort of way, but more like an airport Ramada with a nice view.

Where it crosses the line, however, is with the annoying penny-pinching. It's $3 for laundry, $5 to use the beach club. Want to snorkel? That's free but guess who's going to pay for that mouthpiece? Of course beach towels are free, but, ahem, there's a small deposit, and you have to return them daily or we'll charge you. Want to use the gym? Great. That'll cost extra., and sign this waiver. It's as if Master of the House was their template for how to run a hotel ("Charge 'em for the lice, extra for the mice, two percent for looking in the mirror twice.")

Though, I admit, I like the fact that the manager takes the time to write back and scold his reviewers ("What! We do not scold, we simply inform!") while sometimes taking the high road ("We will incorporate your suggestions at once!) but generally standing firm on all of the stupid little annoyances ("If you had carefully read the fine print on page 38 of your welcome manual…") that place this "Beach Club" squarely between my Uncle Morty's retirement home in Boca and a 1950's motel in the Valley. They have a motto. Mottos are cool, whatever it is though, it should be changed to "we'll nickel and dime you today because you're probably leaving tomorrow."

Who it's for: 60 year old euro-smokers with really good tans, Ramada loyalty club members, people named Barb and Doug.
Who it's not for: picky eaters, the cost-conscious, honeymooners.

Room Tip: Go to L'Esplanade or Le Petit Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcbcmgr, General Manager at Grand Case Beach Club, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your most interesting and illuminating review! Your vast and varied knowledge, ranges from slums to red light districts,Ghandi, HoJos, Ramadas, and even theatre and provisioning! As you said, you carry massive baggage! Most of our guests come with simpler intentions, to comfortably enjoy pleasant company, good food, safe and comfortable accommodation and welcoming staff in a beautiful location. We, and they, are unpretentious, open and inviting, whether from Boca or Park Avenue. Your sharp cynicism, though interestingly presented, seems to have excluded you from a great deal that makes this Club as successful and as special as it is. You see, we are not fake, what you see is what you get, and thankfully, we are certainly not for everyone. We are a project in motion, constantly improving, but keeping to the theme of comfortably relaxed, safe and welcoming hospitality. We are not, nor never will be a cookie cutter kind of place, and most of our clients seem to embrace that. Our guests are a varied lot, with a seasonal mix of retirees, families, couples and honeymooners…perhaps even your Uncle Morty (who by the way, is a 1st class chap)! I do hope that on your next trip to St Martin, or wherever you may choose, you find a place that better fits your acerbic wit.
Signed fondly by the Master of the House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Case Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.