We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Case Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Case Beach Club to your Saves list
Grand Case Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5th Night Free is Back!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Grand Case
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place was a pleasant surprise. We stayed a week and I can't think of a thing that was a problem or a disappointment. We had a second floor room overlooking the bay. The room was clean and comfortable. Loved the king size bed and the balcony was roomy enough for a table, two chairs and a lounger. It was a real treat to sleep with the screen door open and fall asleep to the sounds of the water.

Rooms are quite soundproof. We never heard our neighbors. Kitchen was equipped enough to make breakfast and the coffee maker was used daily. Microwave was handy to warm up leftovers for lunch.

The beach next to the Sunset Cafe is small, but the sand is soft white. Never felt crowded. We took out the free kayak for a tour of the bay. Great way to check out the beach cafes and hotels. The pool is small, but with a beach and a warm sea, who needs a pool.

We had a lunch and two dinners at the Sunset and found the food to be ggod, not great, and reasonably priced. Wait staff was friendly and competent.

I guess I can find two faults: The TV was small, but we never watched it and one day they sprayed around our rooms. The price to be payed to be protected from bugs.

One last thing: the front desk staff are friendly and helpful and they will greet you with a smile when you get your FREE daily (not Sunday) newspaper. Yes, a real newspaper!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    303
    59
    21
    18
See reviews for
187
622
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jumpin' all over the world
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent a week at the Grand Case Beach Club in January -- it was our first time in St. Martin and we chose this hotel based on both Tripadvisor and personal recommendations.

I reviewed the Sunset Cafe and the Creole Rock Water Sports, both co-located at this hotel, separately.

The setting is gorgeous -- very well maintained gardens, a great boardwalk around the restaurant -- the outside of the property is pretty. The pool, unfortunately, was dirty and we never saw anyone use it.

Our room was fine -- not plush, but certainly clean and servicable. It included a full kitchen. It was useful when we realized how expensive most of the nearby restaurants were. The Grand Case strip is called the gastronomic capital of the Caribbean -- and the food was mostly very good, but also very expensive (we saw similar restaurants with significantly lower prices in Marigot). So we found a local little grocery store and self-catered for sandwiches at lunch, and brought home dinner leftovers to reheat in the microwave.

The included breakfast is just a small basket of breads, coffee and OJ -- so if you want more than that you have to pay for it.

But the thing that started to get to us more and more were the attitudes of the staff. You have to go in to the front desk area to exchange towels, so most people go in there daily. Saying good morning seemed like a chore to them. We didn't get many smiles, and when I asked a question about a nearby activity the response was clear annoyance that they needed to call over and ask for me. We definitely didn't feel like we got good value for the price of staying here.

While we enjoyed our time in St. Martin, if we go back again we'll find a different place to stay where the people enjoy working around tourists more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcbcmgr, General Manager at Grand Case Beach Club, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I am truly sorry that you felt less than warmly welcomed by our Front Office staff, we so often get warm and glowing reports of them, I and they are surprised and concerned an=bout your perception. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we will take it as constructive in our quest for improvements. We will pay closer attention to our small pool area, with the beautiful Caribbean at our doorstep, no man-made feature will ever compare to that, but better patrolling is already in place.
Even if your travels will not include a stay with us in the future, perhaps you will pay a passing visit…we will., and already have put forth efforts based on your observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed over one night before departing on our cruise for the maiden voyage of the Terre Moana with Paul Gauguin. That is another story... The Grand Case is nice, but if you are used to the luxury of Tahiti or other Caribbean hotels, this may seem a bit basic. The amenities in the room where just average at best. The bathroom was just so-so. The view from our room was nice looking out toward Anguilla. The beach area, if you call it that, was very small and I can see that it would get very crowded quickly. The continental breakfast that they offer is pretty slim and you will need to order a full breakfast to fill you up. (see review of Sunset Cafe). The up charges are pretty steep for a resort. Charging $5 for a small bottle of water from the mini-bar, fitness center is another $5 to sign up, if you wish to use the on-site barbecue grill there is a $10 cleaning fee, kitchen service to clean up dishes is another $15, a deposit posted daily to your room for beach towels. I understand the need for fees, but it seemed a bit excessive.

If I get the chance to return to St. Martin, I simply can't say that I would seek out the Grand Case. There are just better alternatives with nicer amenities. Again, the reviews here make it sound great, and that was what brought us to it to begin with. But it just wasn't up to our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcbcmgr, General Manager at Grand Case Beach Club, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
“Just OK” ! Ouch! Mediocrity is not what we strive for. But neither is luxury. We are a proud and strong 3 star property that does its best to over-perform at that level. We are casual to an extreme, and we generally succeed in making our guests feel warmly welcomed and casually comfortable. Our average stay at this time of year is approaching 12 nights, and we have a huge return factor. We welcome guests staying 1 night…or 100, though our little resort needs a bit more time to appreciate than a simple single night sleep-over. Like a red wine, which you open and allow to breath, the textures and subtlety just may not be immediately evident on opening… or arrival. The beach (which I would not call anything else,) is not a large one, and its name (Petite Plage) should be a hint about what to expect, is intimate and lovely. On the other side, we are on Grand Case Bay, and it too is not a deep strand of sand just now, but it affords wonderful swimming and a magnificent view into the village. Our beaches seldom get crowded,… nor does the resort itself, as so many of our guests have different places to go and enjoy, not necessarily planting themselves on our beaches…there are 37 to choose from on the island! Charges…while we certainly love what we do, we are also a business. We prefer to let our clients know of our fees rather than letting them discover them on check-out, and I think that it is that practice that has you rankled? We will take your observations and see if we can apply a friendlier approach to our “Welcome Letter”, but still inform our guests of fee areas that they MAY encounter. We want everyone to be aware that they have the option to avoid these charges if they so choose, and that is a choice that many hotels do not give. We offer free parking, free Wi-Fi, free beach towels and beach chairs, free (simple, granted) continental breakfast, free non-motorized water-sports, free introduction to waterskiing and wake-boarding, free use of tennis court and racquets. There is no additional “Resort Fee”. We spend a great deal of effort and large sums of money improving the property and it’s facilities each and every year, and we honestly live by our motto of “Better today than yesterday, better tomorrow than today”. Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your review, and I do hope that you may give us a second chance some time in the future? But please, make it for more than just a day, I think you will be pleased that you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were floored by this beautiful hotel because it actually looks as good as the website pictures! It has its own private strip of beach and upon seeing it I exclaimed "they must clean this beach! there's no way it could be so spotless!" I loved the beautiful soft sand and areas to snorkel (you can rent gear from the hotel for a $5 one-time fee for a mouthpiece). We got a free upgrade from a studio into a one-bedroom and the room was huge with a kitchen complete with everything to call it home (coffee maker, wine glasses, toaster, etc), a living room, an ipod stereo, safe. Definitely ask for a ground floor room because when you walk right out your back door---boom! the beach! with your own beach chairs where you can spend the whole day. Close your screen doors though because there are mosquitos! There is a walkway that wraps around the cove that gives breathtaking views and perfect picture opportunities.

We almost felt no need to go to any other beach because we had one right there. There is parking available in the hotel and they even rent cars at the hotel if you feel like roaming. There is laundry ($3 for wash, $3 for dry) and there is free continental breakfast (coffee, tea, bread) at Sunset Cafe which is right on site. However, I would recommend spending all your meals down the road because within 5-10 min walk there are the best French restaurants I've ever eaten at and "Lolo's" (beach side barbecue) that we ate every day! This hotel is not a party place, it was mostly filled with older adults (and their cats) looking for a relaxing time. Overall it was a fabulous experience staying here but it should be given the price (~$460/day)!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Case Beach Club January 10-14, 2013. The purpose of our trip was to unwind and relax, and GCBC proved to be an excellent venue for that. Our room was spacious and clean. It included a kitchenette and a private patio. Electricity is 220v, and we came prepared with a transformer and adapter. Still, the outlets did not firmly hold a plug and we found it challenging to charge our iPads and phones.

The outdoor facilities include two beaches which disappeared with high tide and remained M.I.A. for our last two days there. Still, there are lounge chairs and hammocks overlooking the sea above the sea wall, as well as a boardwalk with some seating that wraps around from one beach to the other. We appreciated the posted signs asking guests not to reserve chairs, and we were always able to find a spot. The swimming pool looked small and sad, in need of attention, and we did not use it. The tennis courts also need work - the worn out astroturf looked like it hadn't seen action for a long time.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and a security guard is always visible on the gated property.

The American breakfast included with our stay was a carb lover's delight: coffee, OJ, two small pastries and a generous piece of French bread. For a more balanced meal, you can order off the menu, at a price.

We found the prices at the hotel's Sunset Café and in town on the high side, but the food was generally good. The hotel is a short walk from Restaurant Row in in "downtown" Grand Case, so there are loads of dining options nearby.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from a trip to St. Martin and a stay at the Grand Case Beach Club. We had a wonderful time. It's somewhat removed from all the action in Phillipsburg and Margot, but that's what made it terrific for us. If you want to visit those towns, they are about a half hour away by car or taxi. It's just a short walk to some of the best restaurants on the island in the village of Grand Case. But we found the restaurant on site, the Sunset, to be as good if not better than most of the "rated" restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only minor short coming is the beach is very small, expecially at high tide. But we never had any problem locating a place to sit. It's very secure with entrance and exit gates. This is our first visit to this hotel and we will return.

Room Tip: Stayed in both 2-bedroom and one-bedroom with loft units. All the two bedroom units are nice, exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent 1 week last December with our 5 years child in a double studio with sea view.

Hotel room has all needed facilities like full kitchen (with cutlery, oven, fridge, micro oven), Phone dock stereo, Cable TV etc. he hotel location is great - you can easily go around St. Marten by car trough quite nice roads but stay at the hotel is also a quite good program. TRy to get one room with sea view in the 2nd or 3rd floor.

About the place: There are exclusive 2 beaches inside the terrain and all the water sports activities are provide in the local center - even tours inside the island or to St. Barth for example (the one we had). Hotel has a old European style but everything is clean and well preserved.

Food is nice - hotel restaurant has fresh sea food and french cousine. They serve lunch and dinner with reasonable prices. Breakfast is quite simple and you should ask for everything extra from the include breakfast in the room price. Restaurant staff are very friendly and all of them make you feel comfortable at the table.

With many many options in St. Marten, I strong recommend the French side to avoid the hush of the big ships and american fast food in the Dutch side. Grand Case is truly a good option to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Case Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.