We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just "Okay"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Case Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Case Beach Club to your Saves list
Grand Case Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Just "Okay"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed over one night before departing on our cruise for the maiden voyage of the Terre Moana with Paul Gauguin. That is another story... The Grand Case is nice, but if you are used to the luxury of Tahiti or other Caribbean hotels, this may seem a bit basic. The amenities in the room where just average at best. The bathroom was just so-so. The view from our room was nice looking out toward Anguilla. The beach area, if you call it that, was very small and I can see that it would get very crowded quickly. The continental breakfast that they offer is pretty slim and you will need to order a full breakfast to fill you up. (see review of Sunset Cafe). The up charges are pretty steep for a resort. Charging $5 for a small bottle of water from the mini-bar, fitness center is another $5 to sign up, if you wish to use the on-site barbecue grill there is a $10 cleaning fee, kitchen service to clean up dishes is another $15, a deposit posted daily to your room for beach towels. I understand the need for fees, but it seemed a bit excessive.

If I get the chance to return to St. Martin, I simply can't say that I would seek out the Grand Case. There are just better alternatives with nicer amenities. Again, the reviews here make it sound great, and that was what brought us to it to begin with. But it just wasn't up to our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcbcmgr, General Manager at Grand Case Beach Club, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
“Just OK” ! Ouch! Mediocrity is not what we strive for. But neither is luxury. We are a proud and strong 3 star property that does its best to over-perform at that level. We are casual to an extreme, and we generally succeed in making our guests feel warmly welcomed and casually comfortable. Our average stay at this time of year is approaching 12 nights, and we have a huge return factor. We welcome guests staying 1 night…or 100, though our little resort needs a bit more time to appreciate than a simple single night sleep-over. Like a red wine, which you open and allow to breath, the textures and subtlety just may not be immediately evident on opening… or arrival. The beach (which I would not call anything else,) is not a large one, and its name (Petite Plage) should be a hint about what to expect, is intimate and lovely. On the other side, we are on Grand Case Bay, and it too is not a deep strand of sand just now, but it affords wonderful swimming and a magnificent view into the village. Our beaches seldom get crowded,… nor does the resort itself, as so many of our guests have different places to go and enjoy, not necessarily planting themselves on our beaches…there are 37 to choose from on the island! Charges…while we certainly love what we do, we are also a business. We prefer to let our clients know of our fees rather than letting them discover them on check-out, and I think that it is that practice that has you rankled? We will take your observations and see if we can apply a friendlier approach to our “Welcome Letter”, but still inform our guests of fee areas that they MAY encounter. We want everyone to be aware that they have the option to avoid these charges if they so choose, and that is a choice that many hotels do not give. We offer free parking, free Wi-Fi, free beach towels and beach chairs, free (simple, granted) continental breakfast, free non-motorized water-sports, free introduction to waterskiing and wake-boarding, free use of tennis court and racquets. There is no additional “Resort Fee”. We spend a great deal of effort and large sums of money improving the property and it’s facilities each and every year, and we honestly live by our motto of “Better today than yesterday, better tomorrow than today”. Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your review, and I do hope that you may give us a second chance some time in the future? But please, make it for more than just a day, I think you will be pleased that you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    358
    66
    25
    19
See reviews for
226
762
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were floored by this beautiful hotel because it actually looks as good as the website pictures! It has its own private strip of beach and upon seeing it I exclaimed "they must clean this beach! there's no way it could be so spotless!" I loved the beautiful soft sand and areas to snorkel (you can rent gear from the hotel for a $5 one-time fee for a mouthpiece). We got a free upgrade from a studio into a one-bedroom and the room was huge with a kitchen complete with everything to call it home (coffee maker, wine glasses, toaster, etc), a living room, an ipod stereo, safe. Definitely ask for a ground floor room because when you walk right out your back door---boom! the beach! with your own beach chairs where you can spend the whole day. Close your screen doors though because there are mosquitos! There is a walkway that wraps around the cove that gives breathtaking views and perfect picture opportunities.

We almost felt no need to go to any other beach because we had one right there. There is parking available in the hotel and they even rent cars at the hotel if you feel like roaming. There is laundry ($3 for wash, $3 for dry) and there is free continental breakfast (coffee, tea, bread) at Sunset Cafe which is right on site. However, I would recommend spending all your meals down the road because within 5-10 min walk there are the best French restaurants I've ever eaten at and "Lolo's" (beach side barbecue) that we ate every day! This hotel is not a party place, it was mostly filled with older adults (and their cats) looking for a relaxing time. Overall it was a fabulous experience staying here but it should be given the price (~$460/day)!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Case Beach Club January 10-14, 2013. The purpose of our trip was to unwind and relax, and GCBC proved to be an excellent venue for that. Our room was spacious and clean. It included a kitchenette and a private patio. Electricity is 220v, and we came prepared with a transformer and adapter. Still, the outlets did not firmly hold a plug and we found it challenging to charge our iPads and phones.

The outdoor facilities include two beaches which disappeared with high tide and remained M.I.A. for our last two days there. Still, there are lounge chairs and hammocks overlooking the sea above the sea wall, as well as a boardwalk with some seating that wraps around from one beach to the other. We appreciated the posted signs asking guests not to reserve chairs, and we were always able to find a spot. The swimming pool looked small and sad, in need of attention, and we did not use it. The tennis courts also need work - the worn out astroturf looked like it hadn't seen action for a long time.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and a security guard is always visible on the gated property.

The American breakfast included with our stay was a carb lover's delight: coffee, OJ, two small pastries and a generous piece of French bread. For a more balanced meal, you can order off the menu, at a price.

We found the prices at the hotel's Sunset Café and in town on the high side, but the food was generally good. The hotel is a short walk from Restaurant Row in in "downtown" Grand Case, so there are loads of dining options nearby.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
179 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from a trip to St. Martin and a stay at the Grand Case Beach Club. We had a wonderful time. It's somewhat removed from all the action in Phillipsburg and Margot, but that's what made it terrific for us. If you want to visit those towns, they are about a half hour away by car or taxi. It's just a short walk to some of the best restaurants on the island in the village of Grand Case. But we found the restaurant on site, the Sunset, to be as good if not better than most of the "rated" restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only minor short coming is the beach is very small, expecially at high tide. But we never had any problem locating a place to sit. It's very secure with entrance and exit gates. This is our first visit to this hotel and we will return.

Room Tip: Stayed in both 2-bedroom and one-bedroom with loft units. All the two bedroom units are nice, exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent 1 week last December with our 5 years child in a double studio with sea view.

Hotel room has all needed facilities like full kitchen (with cutlery, oven, fridge, micro oven), Phone dock stereo, Cable TV etc. he hotel location is great - you can easily go around St. Marten by car trough quite nice roads but stay at the hotel is also a quite good program. TRy to get one room with sea view in the 2nd or 3rd floor.

About the place: There are exclusive 2 beaches inside the terrain and all the water sports activities are provide in the local center - even tours inside the island or to St. Barth for example (the one we had). Hotel has a old European style but everything is clean and well preserved.

Food is nice - hotel restaurant has fresh sea food and french cousine. They serve lunch and dinner with reasonable prices. Breakfast is quite simple and you should ask for everything extra from the include breakfast in the room price. Restaurant staff are very friendly and all of them make you feel comfortable at the table.

With many many options in St. Marten, I strong recommend the French side to avoid the hush of the big ships and american fast food in the Dutch side. Grand Case is truly a good option to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a wonderful place! We had 3 relaxing days here doing not very much. We stayed in a loft room and the view from the balcony was wonderful - and as it faced west, we sat and watched the sunset whilst sipping a glass of something cold and refreshing before getting showered and ready for dinner.

The sunset cafe was fine, but as there is so much choice in town, we only ate here on the first night. We hadn't read the info given to us by reception and didn't realise until the second morning that there was a complimentary continental breakfast in the cafe.

It was convenient to be able to buy beer from the small supermarkets in town, put them into the fridge and then be able to pop back to the room to get one during the day and return to the sunbed with it.

The internet connection was a bit hit and miss but was sufficient for our needs.

All in all we had a wonderful few days here and would recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We recently returned from our one-week visit to GCBC and we enjoyed it very much. The setting of this hotel is very beautiful. Make sure to get an ocean-view room because the sunsets are breathtaking. Our room was nice, though not any sort of luxury experience. We had the Studio type with a loft and the loft was nice and cozy.

The staff was remarkable. Very friendly and willing to engage.

The restaurant was excellent as well. The town of Grand Case offers a lot of competition but the best thing that I had to eat in St. Martin was the Fish Carpaccio at the Sunset Cafe - just perfect.

We also ate at Spiga which was excellent as well as at a couple of the Lolos. The Lolos were ok and much less expensive than the more formal restaurants.

Room Tip: Oceanview is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
5.8 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.0 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
#4 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 5 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,347 reviews
6.8 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
4.0 of 5 stars 798 reviews
4.6 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and relaxing, small but large enough to have just the right amount of service that brings back our guests year after year. We are constantly improving and have updated and upgraded nearly every aspect of our resort, and will continue to do so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Case Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.