We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really relaxing place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Case Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Case Beach Club to your Saves list
Grand Case Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
$30 Certificate!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Grand Case
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“really relaxing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Well we spent one week there, early November, in an ocean view studio with loft. It was a perfectly fine room with a great view of ocean , and sunset everyday. The service was good to very good. We had to change rooms the last day. We knew this when we booked through liberty travel agency. That happened because we booked late and went Monday to Monday with airport transfers. It was handle with great ease by the staff.
The beaches were small but perfect for the two days we spent on property for swim. Most days we went to Orient beach. Took a snorkeling trip through the hotel, which was fabulous.
The sunset cafe was terrific. Breakfast with an ocean view count be better.The two lunches we had were world class . The one dinner we had was just ok , did not understand why they used canned mushroom?
We rented a car for 5 days from company . The car was beat up overpriced, but I guess we blended in with the rest of island cars. Kind of forced to get all insurance coverage. Next trip to St Martin will rent at airport and save quite a bit of money.
Can not give this place 5 stars but would certainly visit again. I did a lot of reading about GCBC on trip advisor so we understood the few short comings.
Btw ... It was a short safe walk to Grande Case, with a security guard by our exit and one about 1/2 way to town. We ate in town every night . Why would you go anywhere else to eat.?

Room Tip: Best to get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    314
    62
    21
    18
See reviews for
189
640
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I went with a group of 4 women for my birthday. We are all between the age of 29 and 35, a very mature age group, looking to relax on a beach for 3 nights. As soon as we got there, we went for a brief swim, leaving our balcony door slightly open. As we got back to our room to get ready for dinner, we all realized we were missing at least $100 from our wallets. We went to the front desk to report this incident. Then an hour later, we got a call from the GM, Steve. Throughout the conversation, he was defensive, dismissive, and said "if we are not happy, then we should leave", not providing at the very least any ease to the matter. After a displeasing, and combative conversation, the next morning, we went to see Lynn Taylor, the manager to get our money back so we can check out, she showed us the entrance log for our room to show us how many times our room has been entered in, and in this entrance log, the person that sent her to details, called us derogatory names and making assumptions about us, practically stating our loss was our fault! We felt completely violated and disheartened by what we read. Lynn was embarrassed and we were reimbursed for the remaining nights, checked out, and stayed on the Dutch side of the island. To make matters worse, we heard someone complain about their stay while we were checking out! Beautiful rooms, but NOT AT ALL a honest and customer service environment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcbcmgr, General Manager at Grand Case Beach Club, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
On arrival, we thought that your party would be more comfortable in a larger unit, so we upgraded you at no charge. We have a state of the art lock system, we have in room safes that are free of charge, we have a gated property, a video surveillance system and 24 hour security patrolling ( who you complained about). We take the safety of our guests very seriously, and on close inspection, no indication of a theft from your room was apparent. All of these measures are negated if they are by-passed or ignored and that can be as simple as not using a safe or leaving a door open.
You chose to leave, and we assisted you to that end, waiving policy, because we honestly wanted you to enjoy your vacation.
I apologize on behalf of my staff for any disrespect that you may have encountered or perceived, as it is not what we are about or wish to be known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here five nights and had a wonderful time. When we felt lazy, we could just say within the beach club all day, enjoying the sun, the swimming, and the food at the on-premise restaurant. Sunsets are AMAZING. We had a beach-facing room and the view every night was out of this world.

As everyone mentions, this is within walking distance of a great restaurant district. It doesn't feel nearly as touristy as some of the other resort districts on the island, and the food is very good.

When we felt like exploring, we got great advice from the hotel staff about how to get to some of the more hidden sights on the island. Driving in St. Martin was a bit of an experience, but after the first couple days on little roads it became more comfortable. We were very glad to have the freedom of a rental car, though it does seem you can get around fine by cab.

Highly recommended, and enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at GCBC four times now, and I think I have a pretty good idea of its strengths and weaknesses.
First of all - if you are looking for a casino, night club, Four Seasons or Viceroy kind of place, this is not it. If, on the other hand, you like to swim, walk on the beach, observe beautiful tropical landscapes, birds, iguanas (yes, really) in relative seclusion, and also like to have access to the best, most responsive water sport services (e.g. ranging from a catamaran cruise to St.Barths to snorkeling on the property), a shop that rivals any high priced boutique in the Caribbean, a restaurant that holds its own with the best that Grand Case has to offer, and a general atmosphere that is always helpful but will leave you to your own devices if you prefer - this is the place! There are two beaches, both very enjoyable for swimming/snorkeling - the Grand Case beach is generally calm enough for small children. The kitchen facilities are very good, though the kitchens could be better equipped (e.g. no blenders). The rooms are spacious and clean and every effort is made to keep them in good repair - one whole section was under renovation when we were there. You can walk to all the restaurants in Grand Case - which are outstanding - and the US supermarket has wonderful European (mainly French) cheeses, charcuterie and wines, which are very reasonably priced. The staff will make reservations for you, and assist in any way. I strongly recommend this resort - it is sophisticated without being stuffy, and a great place to kick back and rejuvenate. The Boardwalk - from which you can watch the sunset, sunbathe, or simply contemplate the natural beauty of the setting - is outstanding.

Room Tip: An oceanview room is best - those in "Frangipani" (700 #s) overlook La Petite Plage; other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel offers a perfect beachfront location within easy walking distance of the village of Grand Case with its many good eateries. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
The adjacent Sunset Cafe has a great seafront location but the food is not all that great. Better value is to be found in the village.
Hotel rooms are very well equipped and right on the beach.
Avoid Phillipsburg unless you want to join the throngs of cruiseship day trippers.

Room Tip: Ask for beach front. Townhouse/loft rooms are excellent but stairs are difficult to negotiate with h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this resort for a week for our Honeymoon and it was breathtaking. Starting with the room itself: In one word; Awesome. We were upgraded to a loft unit that had a nice kitchen, living room, full bath and a balcony on the first floor plus a the master suite upstairs in the loft portion with its own master bathroom and balcony! The beautiful room was great, but then the property itself is even better. The whole property is over looking the lush green hills of Saint Martin and Anguilla in the distance. The pool and the beaches are both great; very relaxing and private. The breakfast is included and is very good. The Sunset Cafe offers great food, but if you are visiting from the US be aware that there is a premium for Euro (as is much of the French side of Saint Martin). The service is great, everyone was very friendly and happy to be working there. The water sport offerings are fun too. We used the float rafts, and kayaks. The snorkeling trip to Crowl Rock (5 minute boat ride) is not free but was reasonable and very cool. Overall a great trip and would definitely recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this lovely hotel right on the beach. Our unit was attractively furnished, spacious, modern and very clean. Spectacular view from the balcony overlooking the Bay. The king size beds with their many pillows were so comfortable. A bottle of wine and fresh flowers tucked all over welcomed us when we arrived. The staff at the reception, housekeeping and security were all friendly and professional. We were also invited to a free sunset reception with drinks and hors d'oeuvres. The food at the Sunset Cafe was excellent and the setting just what you want in a low key Caribbean vacation. The charming little town of Grand Case and many good restaurants were in walking distance.

Room Tip: Select a oceanview room. One building is currently being renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Case Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.