We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem off the beaten path” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol e Luna Restaurant

Sol e Luna Restaurant
Mont Vernon | Sol è Luna Inn, Grand Case, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 059-029-0856
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 57 Restaurants in Grand Case
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Sol restaurant invites you to a unique dining experience in an elegant, intimate and romantic place in the Caribbean. Within this Creole house tastefully decorated and surrounded by a tropical garden, you will discover a delicate and refined cuisine. Chefs offer you imaginative and innovative dishes in respect of the French culinary tradition together with a selection of preferred wines
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A gem off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

With all the restaurants to chose from in Grand Case, I was a little apprehensive about going to Sol e Luna on our first night in St. Martin just because it's a little off the beaten path. I'm so glad we decided to have dinner here! I ended up comparing every restaurant we went to the entire vacation to Sol e Luna, and it seemed the most restaurants just didn't match up. Definitely make a reservation at Sol e Luna! You will not be let down! First of all the parking is super easy, and compared to other restaurants in the center of Grand Case, this is a huge bonus.
This restaurant was one of the more romantic dinners we had during our vacation, and some of the best service we received as well. I loved the eclectic vibe of the restaurant. It was so classy and elegant. When we arrived, we were seated by the owner, who also prepared our drinks. I ordered the special mojito topped off the champagne. I hope they add this to their regular drink menu, because it was one of the best mojitos I had on the trip. Everything we ordered was delicious, but the stand out dish for me was the filet off the special menu, which was a beef filet topped with foie gras. We ordered coffees to go with our dessert, and that ended up being the best coffee I had during the entire trip on the island. I would go back for sure! Definitely make a reservation here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    31
    19
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut-USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“"Most Romantic on the Island"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If its good food plus romance you are after, look no further...this restaurant wins for most romantic ambiance! The lighting is perfection....no picture could do it justice! The food was spectacular as was the friendly service. The interior design of this place left no detail too small to be attended to...just exceptional. This restaurant was my husband's favorite on St Martin because he not only loved the food but was so taken by the atmosphere. This is a not to be missed kind of place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gone Down Hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Sol e Luna was a fine restaurant four or five years ago but has been sliding down hill for a couple... now it's bottoming out. They no longer offer a first rate dining experience though they charge for it . To capsulize...the reserved table was not ready, the one provided was terrible with a view of the dish washing station to the left and the parking lot to the right, the bread was cold and hard due to being recycled from another table, the snapper was tough and dry from freezer burn, the filet mignon was tastey but embarrassingly diminutive and four of the six items on the $38 dessert sampler were disappointing. All in all ... $300 wasted on dinner for two. Skip this one ....there are many fine restaurants in Grand Case but I cannot count Sol e Luna among them any more.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disastrous meal after two great ones”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

past two years, we enjoyed super service, creative food, and a delightful atmosphere. this year, service was non-existent, a warm dish served cold dish, rather than being made anew, was nuked (even though no one would nuke shellfish). staff was completely indifferent. maybe they only want large groups and no couples as patrons.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Each time we visit this gorgeous restaurant in Mont Vernon it is absolutely divine - the food, service, ambiance are all perfect. I love the tuna tartar with seaweed salad and conchiglie with fresh shell fish are both heaven for any fish lover, but they also have wonderful meat dishes. Go early to have a cocktail in their beautiful lounge. It's also an inn with lovely ground. Check them out at http://www.solelunarestaurant.com/

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol e Luna Restaurant also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Sol e Luna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol e Luna Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.