We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pressoir

Le Pressoir
30 bd. de Grand-Case, Grand Case, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 059-087-7662
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $78
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Le Pressoir.... Simply a must!!! Some words to describe this incredible restaurant: - a positive energy - A chef owner, very demanding on the quality and freshness of products - Family busisness with complicity and passion - Loyal, welcoming and professional staff - Sophisticated gastronomy with exceptional products Here Seaview is on the plate
Hilton Head, SC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Given that St. Maarten is supposedly the food capital of the Caribbean and that Grand Case is the food capital of St. Maarten, I was not sure what to expect. I also have not eaten at any other restaurants in Grand Case. Having said that I must say that the meal at Le Pressoir was everything I had hoped it would be.
We were two couples and our friends truly love things like pate, escargot, caviar, good French cheeses, etc. They were happy. From the outside you would never guess the quality of the interior. White tablecloths and linens, good crystal and silverware, etc. In other words, a high quality, intimate setting. This is French food and the chef(s) know what they are about. Everything was superbly prepared.
My wife had the 50 euro fixed price menu. Expensive, but we had expected that given that this was Grand Case. Well, the menu delivered. She was in heaven. So were our friends. And the portions, while not large, certainly were not small.
This was dining, not eating. If that is what you are looking for (and we were) then you will not be disappointed. The experience is not inexpensive, but if you are looking for inexpensive then you probably should not be in Grand Case to start with.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    72
    30
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ny
Level Contributor
101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a lovingly restored house across the street from the old press. We started with a macaroon foie gras sandwich. Normally I would have had sweet wine with the foie gras, but the macaroon and the bit of fruit chutney added enough sweetness to make a stunning start to our dinner.It went well with Jadot's 2004 Beaune Bressandes, a premier cru Burgundy. For the next course I chose the snails wrapped in a crispy shell with bleu cheese. Most restaurants in town have snails and most of them do the usual snails in butter with parsley and garlic. There was parsley and garlic, but there was a lot more, including a crispy shell that added a satisfying crunch. For the main course Martha had a veal trilogy from the specials of the evening: a crisped veal trotter with a horseradish sauce, a veal roast, and a blanquette of veal accompanied by smoked mashed potatoes. I had a sweetbread and shrimp plate with a bit of bacon, a potato muffin, and a chopped melange of onions and peppers in a phyllo shell. This is Franck (owner and chef) demonstrating why this restaurant is one of the best on the island. Not only are there several tastes, but each plate had something extra in texture. Our wine for this course was Joseph Drouhin's Beaune Premier Cru Clos des Mouches. It was even better and worked well with the food. We passed on desserts and were offered La Maury old rum from Martinique to end the wonderful meal. The wonderful meal cost about 115€, about $150, without wine. There were cheaper wines available, but Franck's cuisine deserves some of the best from Mélanie's cellar. Service was superb, even though the dining room was almost full as we sat down.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easygoin15
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“impeccable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We visited Le Pressoir on our last night in St Martin and it was fantastic. We were there last year and loved it so we saved it for our last night this trip. The whole staff was so friendly and engaging you do not find that very often that the person serving your water and rolls will engage you in sincere conversation smiling and so nice. Then the owner came over and shook our hands and thanked us for our business.All very real!
The dinner is expensive but the food was exceptional,the ambiance romantic and very worth the price. I would recommend Le Pressoir for anyone at least 1x during your vacation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Didn't want it to end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Everyone in our group agreed this was one of the best dining experiences of all time. Everything from the cozy island decor, to the impeccable service and heavenly food was perfect. We all ordered something different and were sharing it with everyone else, raving how "delicious," "outstanding," and "amazing" it all tasted. I think the most surprising item on the menu was the smoked mashed potatoes. I never knew one of my favorite side dishes could be smoked! Lucky for us, the chef, Franck, visited our table halfway through our meal to find out how we were enjoying everything and was more than happy to explain, in detail, how he makes the potatoes. He stayed at our table for about ten minutes as we grilled him (no pun intended) on the different entrees we had ordered and the ingredients he had used. Our waiter, Chris, was also very attentive, from the moment we walked in to the time we left. Although we weren't really hungry after our entrees we ordered dessert, just so we could savor the evening a little bit longer. After dessert, we ordered cappuccinos and lingered a little longer. Fortunately, the restaurant was only half full and no one was in the section were in (in the back on the left) so we felt like we were having a private meal. In the end, we had a real hard time pulling ourselves away from the table. What an evening! It was worth every euro.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner at Le Pressoir, Grand Case, St. Martin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just got back from St. Martin. We ate at Le Pressoir, located in Grand Case, on the French side of St. Martin. We've eaten there numerous times, several times each time we visit. We've traveled and eaten in Paris at L'Arpege and Lucas-Carton (1995). We've also eaten at Comme Chez Soi in Brussels and numerous exceptional restaurants in NYC. Le Pressoir is as exceptional as any of them. The service is world class; knowledgeable and attentive without being overbearing; they are well trained, gracious and respectful. They're also exceedingly kind. The food is great year over year over year. The rolls are made in the restaurant on a real time basis; the appetizers and great, especially the smoked salmon with blinis and crème fraiche; the Caesar salad is wonderful and the fish and meat are great. The sauces are always perfect and warmed just so. The potatoes au gratin are singular and heavenly. The wine list is world class. The host is the co-owner and wife of the chef; she personally checks in at each and every table during the meal. The desserts are out of this world; stop eating your main course half way through to ensure you have enough room and then order two desserts so each of you can share. The attention to detail is second to none; the table setting; the delivery of the food, and, of course, the food itself, in every course. The drive for excellence in this restaurant is rarely seen; trust me, not only am I a serious diner, but I've also worked in quality restaurants on and off for over 25 years. Bon Appétit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pressoir also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Pressoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pressoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.