We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place. Great, creative food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Estaminet

L'Estaminet
139, Boulevard de Grand Case | Grand-Case 139, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 059-029-0025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 58 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $75
Cuisines: French, Caribbean, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: L'ESTAMINET...A French ,innovative cuisine ,combining spices of the word and amazing flavors...And frienddly atmosphere.....
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Loved this place. Great, creative food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had several excellent meals in Grand Case, but this was by far the most fun, creative, well-presented and delicious food we had. Appetizers and desserts in particular were delightful and unique. The service is excellent and the attention to detail great. We felt welcome and well looked after. Thoroughly enjoyed this wonderful experience. Highly recommend L'Estaminet if you are a foodie.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    54
    23
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best dinner in St. Martin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I had our best meal of the week, and ate at all of the "top rated" venues. The food was out of this world, and the owner was extremely attentive. The young wait staff was also superb, never letting my water glass get less than half full! We ate on the night when live music was playing next door ( Tues) which made it all the more enjoyable! Wish we had time to go back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We visited L'Estaminet as part of a group and had a set menu. The food was excellent, the french onion soup was very good, and the mains were Snapper, which was beautiful and Steak, which was cooked to perfection. The deserts were outstanding.

As good as the food was the atmosphere was spectacular. Our table was right above the water and the sound of the waves with great food and excellent wine made it truly a night to remember.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Very nice French Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I were at Orient Beach, talking to the couple next to us. They told us that they ate at the best French Restaurant on St. Martin the night before. It was called L'Estaminet and was in Grand Case. They raved about the creative genius of the two women who run the place. The next day, the manager at the Sol Hotel, where we were staying, asked us where we were going for dinner. We said "L'Estimanet". She knows both the Chef and the Manager, and she said that it is an excellent place to eat. So we went to L'Estaminet with high expectations, and our high expectations were fully met. We believe it is the best French Restaurant on the island.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Vibe & tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My friend and i went to L'Estaminet and it was great!!!
''Chic'' french restaurant
The food was simple and tasty
(not expensive)
The waiter could communicate in english which was refreshing!!!

And when you get out, you are surrounded by Clubs and Pubs.

Stronglly recommended!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Estaminet also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to L'Estaminet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Estaminet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.