We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner in St. Martin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Estaminet

L'Estaminet
139, Boulevard de Grand Case | Grand-Case 139, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 059-029-0025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 57 Restaurants in Grand Case
Price range: $40 - $75
Cuisines: Caribbean, European, French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: L'ESTAMINET...A French ,innovative cuisine ,combining spices of the word and amazing flavors...And frienddly atmosphere.....
Southbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best dinner in St. Martin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I had our best meal of the week, and ate at all of the "top rated" venues. The food was out of this world, and the owner was extremely attentive. The young wait staff was also superb, never letting my water glass get less than half full! We ate on the night when live music was playing next door ( Tues) which made it all the more enjoyable! Wish we had time to go back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    49
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We visited L'Estaminet as part of a group and had a set menu. The food was excellent, the french onion soup was very good, and the mains were Snapper, which was beautiful and Steak, which was cooked to perfection. The deserts were outstanding.

As good as the food was the atmosphere was spectacular. Our table was right above the water and the sound of the waves with great food and excellent wine made it truly a night to remember.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Very nice French Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I were at Orient Beach, talking to the couple next to us. They told us that they ate at the best French Restaurant on St. Martin the night before. It was called L'Estaminet and was in Grand Case. They raved about the creative genius of the two women who run the place. The next day, the manager at the Sol Hotel, where we were staying, asked us where we were going for dinner. We said "L'Estimanet". She knows both the Chef and the Manager, and she said that it is an excellent place to eat. So we went to L'Estaminet with high expectations, and our high expectations were fully met. We believe it is the best French Restaurant on the island.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Vibe & tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

My friend and i went to L'Estaminet and it was great!!!
''Chic'' french restaurant
The food was simple and tasty
(not expensive)
The waiter could communicate in english which was refreshing!!!

And when you get out, you are surrounded by Clubs and Pubs.

Stronglly recommended!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

As a company of 9 we had on 4th of january a perfect diner at l'Estaminet. Correct service with dishes well balanced in taste and appearance. Perfectly prepared and made with a lot of fantasy and attention. Especially dessert are well designed (daughter had dessert with cigar shaped cream form with a taste and smell of a cigar !), very creative. All at normal (european !) price level. Choise of wine wasn't very extensive yet large enough to have a choice with every dish.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Estaminet also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to L'Estaminet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Estaminet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.