We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get better than this on St Martin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Estaminet

L'Estaminet
139, Boulevard de Grand Case | across to La California, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 059-029-0025
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 56 restaurants in Grand Case
Price range: $30 - $70
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: L'ESTAMINET...A French ,innovative cuisine ,combining spices of the word and amazing flavors...And frienddly atmosphere.....
chevy chase, md
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better than this on St Martin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Wow! I don't know how we missed this fantastic restaurant since it opened 6 yrs ago but we tried to make up for that loss by visiting twice this past week (Jan 13 and 16). Who knew chicken could taste so good, with 6 accompanying vegetables each spiced differently and harmonizing perfectly with the chicken so it's as if you're getting 6 different entrees. Turbot, perfectly cooked and spiced, melting in your mouth. "Crusty escargot", that gave new life to an old-fashioned food, with a pastry crust around 7 individual pieces of escargot that deliciously absorbed the garlic butter sauce. And the chocolate dessert--7 or 8 individual concepts--that was different the second time we ate there, both times eaten in such a hurry because it was so good that I forgot to ask for details! Well chosen wine list, with many fairly priced bottles.

Ina, the chef, is exceptionally creative. Carole, handling the front, couldn't be more welcoming and wonderfully explanatory. Thoroughly delightful experience. A must place to eat if you like creative (but not way out) and beautifully prepared food, spiced to coordinate perfectly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    310
    47
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best kept secret on the Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Foodies and "gastronophiles", be advised, this is "Haute Nouvelle Cuisine" at his best! No need to go to NYC, Paris or some other food Mecca for such. The ingenuous Chef has taken advantage of the local flavors to create unusual combinations with amazing flavors and exciting aromas, for example a sous vide cooked to perfection sea bass to infuse with a syringe of chocolate, or a medley of local fish bathing in a broth perfumed with an unusual tea infusion.Not only delicious, those dishes are copious in size ( in contrast to typical Nouvelle cuisine pretentious restaurants) and guilt sparing as quite dietetic. The atmosphere is pleasant and peaceful, the service is impeccable and to crown it all, the Kir royal offered as an aperitif and the chocolate liquor concoction offered as a digestif are to die for.
Planning on going back tonight for more!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Creatively Appetizing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Sometimes "creative" is vernacular for "challenging" and sometimes it's a cover up for "over-spiced in the name of attention". L'Estaminet is creative in the sense of unusual foods and preparations that work.

Short form: we had pigeon that was reminiscent of a stronger duck, prepared as both a confit and in kebab/sausage style. In a long list of "creative" foods -- ostrich, kangaroo, alligator, antelope, bear -- it stands out as one of the best preparations in "creative" style anywhere. Filet with chevre was outstanding, the tangy chevre and olive tapenade on toast pulling your taste buds in competitive but friendly directions. Vegetable preparations included fennel with pineapple, and pumpkin spiced with cinnamon -- another melange of fruity, savory, sweet and crunchy -- more adjectives than you can find in Gourmet magazine on a good day, and you still don't come close to fully describing dinner.

Carol runs an excellent front of house, and ensures that all dishes are to the diner's satisfaction - a big plus. While time-wise is was one of our longest meals, value-wise it's one of the best in Grand Case.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best in Grand Case”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were in Grand Case over the Xmas holidays and this was our choice for our first night at the recommendation of our hotel. We had the early seating at 6:30 which we prefer if we are eating more than two courses. The food was wonderful and very creatively presented. One of the first courses was a parsnip soup over a ravioli, delicious. Both of us had fish and the server was very precise in her explanation about the fish (as it comes from the Brittany area it is sometimes considered a bit stronger than many diners in the tropics prefer.) We really appreciate when a server wants you to order with all the information, not just the obvious (which is tedious) but important characteristics of the food that you may not be aware of. One of us ordered the Brittany coast sea bass and the other a local, milder fish. Both dishes were wonderful, many interesting touches on the plate and not over-sauced. All the courses were excellent and this time we chose not to have a dessert. However we were presented (as were all other diners) a little chocolate treat (beautifully wrapped) to take with us.
The decor is of course charming (street view, wonderful for people watching, not on the water).
Service was perfect, although we did eat early and were one of the first patrons of the evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We ate at seven places on restaurant row in Grand Case and this one stood out. It's hard to rank them but this one comes out on top anyway. Excellent reception, friendly relaxed service and outstanding food - can't be beaten. It's tough to just walk in so get a reservation......

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Estaminet also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to L'Estaminet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Estaminet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.